Peru Uncovered

Tour Length
14 days
From
US$3032
Overview Reviews

  • balgej
  • balgej
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Peru Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Peru Uncovered (May 25, 2013 - June 07, 2013)

25 May 2013 - 07 Jun 2013

This trip is amazing and well worth the money. Our guide Roland was very knowledgeable and able to answer almost all of the questions we had and showed us the best places to visit in every city we went. There are a couple longer bus rides (6ish hours) but they are broken up well and the stops along the way, as well as the destinations, make the rides worth while.

There is plenty of free time to explore the larger cities you go through. The optionals are also a lot of fun (except for the "Mountain Biking" is Cusco, not worth the money). You get to check out many nice restaurants, eat local foods (alpaca, guinea pig, ceviche), and explore the nightlife in the different cities. The hotels on the trip are quite nice, especially at the Jungle Lodge. The ruins we explored were very interesting with incredible views and Machu Picchu alone makes the trip worth while.

If you have time in Lima try and go surfing. Its a short walk from the hotel and super cheap (Lessons, wet suit, and board for about $20 USD)

I highly recommend going on this trip.

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Machu Picchu, Ollantaytambo, Cuzco

event 0.3
  • Lian
  • Lian
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Peru Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Beautiful Country

05 Jan 2013 - 18 Jan 2013

What a great tour. Despite it being the rainy season our groups "positive energy" kept the clouds away and we had a great time. The Inca trail is a must, so many stairs but so worth it when you get to the top. The altitude sickness got to quite a few of us, but most of us acclimatized quickly. The tour was good value for everything that was included, I was surprised at how many great meals were included. Peruvian cuisine is amazing, We ate alpaca, guinea pig, and pirahna. The amazon jungle lodge was such a cool experience, bring mosquito repellant though!

Review written Apr 2013

My Contiki was: Just do it!, Beautiful, Adventure

event 0.3
  • Marc.L
  • Marc.L
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Peru Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Peru Uncovered

19 May 2012 - 01 Jun 2012

This was the most amazing trip i have ever done thus far. Everything about it spectacular! I would highly recommend it!

Review written Dec 2012

event 0.3
  • BenH
  • BenH
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Peru Uncovered

Incredible Time

28 Apr 2012 - 11 May 2012

Peru as a country is absolutely stunning, the tour was well organised, Gaby is an amazing guide and there are plenty of opportunities for fun socialising.

The accommodation may vary in quality, they were all consistently comfortable and safe. The food was great with a variety of things to try for those of a more adventurous culinary attitude, while you can be just as happy if you are of a less experimental disposition.

Highlights include visiting an alpaca farm, salsa lessons, piranha fishing and Machu Picchu, one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to.

Tips - remember to take plenty of hand sanitizer and headache pills for the high altitudes of Puno.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: fun, beautiful, colourful

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 13 nights accommodation: 11 nights twin-share hotels, 2 nights Contiki Special Stay experiences
  • 3 flights & transfers
  • Transport in a private air-conditioned coach, mini-coach or van
  • Sightseeing tours of all major areas
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager
  • English speaking local guides

Exclusive Food

  • 22 meals: 13 breakfasts, 3 lunches (or 4 for Machu Picchu Trekking option) & 6 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the Historic Centre, Barranco & Miraflores
  • City tour of Arequipa visiting the Santa Catalina Convent
See More

Me Time

  • Mountain biking adventure
  • Horse riding through the Sacred Valley (Full day)
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$216
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Tours

4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.