Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)

Tour Length
13 days
From
N/A
Overview Reviews

  • JC
  • JC
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

0 to 100!!!

25 Jun 2016 - 07 Jul 2016

Exploring and relaxing by day, partying by night! A spur of the moment decision to visit a friend in Mexico and then do this contiki is one of the best decisions I've made. As long as you stay alert (as you would anywhere in the world when you travel) safety is not an issue. On the whole, Mexican people are incredibly friendly and hospitable!

One of the things I enjoyed the most about spending time in Mexico was having to use my fledgling second language, and my Spanish certainly improved after using it every day for 2 weeks. Even if you only know a few words, the locals will appreciate that you're immersing yourself in their culture and will be all too happy to converse with you.

My highlights were:

- Guanajuato - The narrow, colourful streets and cool architecture is postcard stuff!

- Puerto Vallarta - Relax by the beach, relax by the pool, party by night. Make sure you do the optional cruise out to the Marietas Islands where you can snorkel, paddleboard and kayak in pristine waters. On board is a musical performance, all you can eat and all you can drink!

- Mexico City - A really interesting city with lots of history. Make sure you check out the Zocalo (Central Square) , El Angel de la Independencia (The Angel of Independence), El Castillo de Chapultepec (The Chapultepec Castle) and El Museo Nacional de Antropologia (The National Museum of Anthropology). Take care crossing the roads here!

- Teotihuacan - An incredible historical site where you can still climb to the top of the pyramids and get an awesome view of the surroundings.

- Chichen Itza - Probably my favourite thing on the entire trip. A stunning site of Mayan ruins.

- Cancun, of course! - Coco Bongo in particular. Unlike anything I've ever experienced before. It's like a mix of a nightclub, Moulin Rouge and Cirque du Soleil all rolled into one, with a crowd of thousands with balloons and confetti everywhere. You must also visit the beautiful Playa Delfines (Dolphin Beach) and get a photo with the colourful 'Cancun' sign.

Ish was my TM and did a fantastic job! Easy going, helpful and approachable, his travellers were always his first priority.

A safe, fun and incredible cultural experience. If you have any questions, feel free to hit me up here, on instagram or on facebook. I'll be happy to answer any questions you've got about anything! If you want to check out some photos of my trip and get an idea of what you're in for, I have many up on my instagram (@jonty_cabral).

VIVA MEXICO!

Review written Sep 2016

My Contiki was: Safe, Tequila, Español

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • VVhitney
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 15 Countries
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!

27 Feb 2016 - 10 Mar 2016

Contiki takes you to the places away from the negative stuff heard on the news. Mexico is not a bad place(unsafe) as what people make it out to be. I didn't feel unsafe at all in Mexico, and I was comfortable with travelling with Contiki and walking around Mexico as a female. The Mexican locals had a good nature and were polite, they may greet you and try talk to you but they were not intimidating or creepy as compared many other countries I have visited.

I had a fantastic time exploring the Mexico's world wonders, trying new food and experiencing the Mexican culture. It was well paced, we didn't feel rushed to seeing the sights and had enough time. We had a fantastic tour guild, Ish. Ish was very down to earth and friendly, he is a Mexican local too, so he knew all the good places to go too and shared a lot of his knowledge to us. I did the added activities except the extreme zipline and surfing, I recommend you doing them if you can afford.

Try to brush up on a little Spanish before going, it will be helpful to know because some places some people will not know English at all (outside of main attractions and shopping on the street). We all managed OK though!

All the accommodation was satisfactory, we had no issues. We stayed in groups of 2, and no yucky dorms or hostels on this trip. All the accommodation we stayed at had WIFI, but I found it useful to buy a simcard too.

Highlight visits: Chichen Itza, Pyramids of Teotihuacan, Ik kil Cenote (Sinkhole), Tulum beach (Top beaches of the world) and Cancun parties!

*Aussies: To go to Mexico for this trip you don't need a visa, but you need an ESTA.

I loved our trip, had many great memories and left with many new friends I met on Contiki, we plan on doing more travels together. 100% Well worth the trip!

Review written Jun 2016

My Contiki was: fun, food, culture

event 0.3
  • Sickers
  • Sickers
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Experience!

27 Feb 2016 - 10 Mar 2016

Mexico Grande is a fantastic tour. This was my first contiki and I had no idea what I was getting myself into, but I loved every second of it!

Saw so many beautiful places from the colored buildings and churches to Chichen Itza and gorgeous beaches.

The optional tours were great, I highly recommend going on the Eco Discover and Pirate Boat in Puerto Vallarta. Every place we ate at the food was fantastic and we got to try a huge variety of traditional Mexican dishes.

The tour guide "Ish" is one of the greatest blokes I've ever met, he's so knowledgeable. Not only with the culture and the history of the places we visited but he knows all the little sweet spots to go for something to eat or visit. If you had any sort of problem Ish would sort it out for you straight away. Fantastic guy.

I highly recommend this tour and the rest of Mexico.

Review written Apr 2016

My Contiki was: Culture, Friendship, Beautiful

event 0.3
  • Barcs
  • Barcs
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Contitty Committee

22 Aug 2015 - 03 Sep 2015

10/10

Both the best tour and tour managers Contiki have to offer. Abe's is a legend and this tour is legendary.

Review written Sep 2015

My Contiki was: Premium, Greatest, Legendary

event 0.3
  • Anastasia
  • Anastasia
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Me Gusta

17 Jan 2015 - 29 Jan 2015

Mexico Grande was amazing, I didn't really know what to expect from Mexico but it was the food, the people and the beautiful cities and culture that made it so memorable. Along with that we had an awesome tour guide!

There is now a special place in my heart for Mexico and I definitely want to get back there ASAP!

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: cultural, delicious, beautiful

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • alycia
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

So so so good!!

17 May 2014 - 29 May 2014

Great value for money. Tour guide ish is amazing, so knowledgeable, fun, easy going!!!
Great food great hotels great parties!!!
Overall excellent tour would recommend to anyone!!

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, Spectacular

event 0.3
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing 2 weeks!

15 Feb 2014 - 27 Feb 2014

Mexico was so much better than I even imagined. I felt safe the entire time and we stayed in really nice hotels. The food was different to westernised Mexican food but still good! The atmosphere in Cancun is crazy, I've never been anywhere like it. I enjoyed everyday in Mexico with a great combination of culture and night life. Also it was SO cheap (except for Cancun) for food and drinks. Highly recommend doing this tour :D

Review written Mar 2014

My Contiki was: Party, Exploring, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Nikki
  • Nikki
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time ever

27 Jul 2013 - 08 Aug 2013

I am recommending this tour to everyone I know!! It was the best two weeks of my life!! There was heaps of spare time but also so much to do. Ish the tour guide was great fun!! Mexico is definitely worth seeing, and not once did I feel unsafe in Mexico.

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, fun, epic

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Erica
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Mexico Grande (Until December 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Mexico one and done!

03 Nov 2012 - 15 Nov 2012

I was a bit scared about going to Mexico because I've heard of the violence that happens there, but do not worry! We are far south and cops/soldiers are everywhere so you feel safe. As for the trip...it was AWESOME! Everything included and everywhere they brought you, you could not have done it on your own. Its fast paced but now I know the places I would like to revisit. Some places could have had better food, but you dont have to go where the meal is included. My boyfriend and I would try to find the little shops and they had the best food. The best part is Chichen Itza. You get a lot of free time and they crammed a lot of tours and sightseeing. If you are going to do Mexico, just get it all done in 2 weeks. I'd say stay for a little bit if you can after its over and your in Cancun. There was always something to look forward to everyday, even if its a 5 hour drive to the next destination (still sightseeing the country!) Many optional too, but we only did the underwater river/coba ruins in Cancun. When your in Morilla...got to Shokolate! amazing gourmet chocolate store a block from the hotel.

Review written Mar 2013

My Contiki was: fast paced, muy bien

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Inclusions

  • 4 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Walking tour of Guanajuato
  • Visit the Hidalgo Market
See More

Me Time

  • Extreme Zipline Adventure
  • Surfing Safari
  • Marietas Eco Discovery
  • Pirate of the Bay
  • Jungle Maya Expedition & Zipline
  • Maya Encounter
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is n/a
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
9 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.