Argentina & Brazil Experience (Start Buenos Aires)

Tour Length
10 days
From
US$2722
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • alycia
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Argentina & Brazil Experience (Start Buenos Aires)
★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Not the best.

04 May 2014 - 13 May 2014

This contiki wasn't the best there are others that are so much better ie south east Asia or Mexico.
It was very pricey and you don't get a lot for what you paid.
It doesn't help that my tour guide I got the feeling didn't want to be there.
The food wasn't all that great and our tour guide kept taking us to the most pricey places, which is ok if your loaded but I was just your general mid twenties traveller.

Review written Jun 2014

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Dora
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Argentina & Brazil Experience (Start Buenos Aires)
★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Tour is work in progress, Horrible Tour tour guide & horrible customer service

02 Feb 2014 - 11 Feb 2014

I am a 24 year old female who loves to take trips on group tours, such like contiki. I love the people on the trips, I love the itineraries, and I love the experience of them. I recently went on a trip in February to do the Argentina and Brazilian Experience. I was really disappointed with the guide. The trip itself was good, but the guide was not great. This was the first time I had experienced this with Contiki. She was biased towards liking the men on the trip more then the woman. I once asked her a question and she told me I should've been listening and I asked one of the guys to ask her the same question and she responded right away while flirting with him. She didn't know any information that every question we asked her she didn't know the answer-and that's ok because I don't expect tour guides to know everything, but she didn't even go out of her way to find out the answer. Most of the time we were doing our own research and asking other people for information. She didn't seem interested in even being on the trip. One of the girls on the trip felt like she was going to faint because we hadn't stopped for food and the tour guide made a huge deal about having to stop for food and that it was really inconvenient. The girl who was ready to faint said "that's ok I'm just going to faint then don't worry about me" and the guide was like "ok lets keep going then." Thank goodness for great people on the trip otherwise it would've been a really unpleasant experience. I know there are quite a few people who are still writing their complaints about her. I am already looking at new Contiki trips, but I don't think I got my moneys worth by having her as a guide. We did have some trip delays. It was a 10 day trip and we spent one day in the airport and spent 2 extra nights in Argentina which set back everything else on the tour and minimized our time everywhere therein after. It is understandable and I don't hold her accountable, but having a bad guide on top made the situation rough.

When i got home i wrote contiki a complaint and it took them about 1 month to respond. They defended to tour guide and only offered 5% off my next tour. Very in sincere and does not help the waisted money and energy that i spent going on that tour. Next time i recommend EF COLLEGE BREAK TOUR COMPANY!!!!!

Review written Apr 2014

My Contiki was: uneducated tour guide, unorganized tour, multiple flight delays, always running late for things and waiting, TOO MANY canceled optionals!

event 0.3
  • Aaron
  • Aaron
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Argentina & Brazil Experience (Start Buenos Aires)
★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Argentina & Brazil Experience

02 Feb 2014 - 11 Feb 2014

Overall the tour was good. We saw many sites and had fun doing it. The biggest problem encountered was the flights booked by Contiki. The airline booked our flight on a Wednesday morning from Buenos Aires to Iguassu Falls instead of Tuesday morning when it was supposed to be. Contiki should have confirmed the correct departure date and time well enough in advance to avoid this situation. As a result we had to change our departure flight from Iguassu Falls to Rio de Janeiro. That flight had to be changed to the following morning due to technical problems with the jet. It is not Contiki's fault for the technical airline problems but if Contiki had us on the proper flight the first time, we would not of encountered the delay in our flight from Iguassu to Rio. This resulted in condensed time in both Buzios and Rio de Janeiro. The tour manager did her best under the circumstances and did well to ensure we did everything we planned on doing during the tour however we were very rushed in Brazil with no downtime. I only hope that Contiki has learned from this mistake and doesn't let it happen again.

Review written Feb 2014

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 9 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • 2 flights & transfers
  • Transport in a private air-conditioned coach, mini-coach or van
  • Sightseeing tours of all major areas
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager
  • English speaking local guides

Exclusive Food

  • 13 meals: 9 breakfasts & 4 dinners (*Departures before October 2014 will have 3 dinners)

Exclusive Inclusions

  • City cycling tour
  • Visit the neighbourhoods of San Telmo, La Boca & Puerto Madero
See More

Me Time

  • Argentinan culinary experience
  • Polo Experience
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$272
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.