The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)

Tour Length
21 days
From
US$2974
Overview Reviews

The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Wicked

03 Feb 2015 - 21 Feb 2015

The Big Tiki was my first ever contiki, first time traveling (initially) alone and the first time I've visited New Zealand. I'm so glad I did it because it proved to entirely worth it and was so much fun. We got to see essentially all of NZ and see everything it has to offer; culture, adventure, astounding landscapes and seas, really good food and utterly friendly people no matter where you go. I don’t think anyone would regret ever going on this trip.

Firstly, if you’re a fellow Aussie and think you know anything about our little neighbor... you’re wrong. There is so much to NZ and it’s culture we don’t know and for me it was really amazing to see and learn about all its history and see the all the familiarities it does share with Australia but also all the small differences that make it its own place. Go visit NZ now!

I shared the same trip with Elise below and I utterly agree that Josh & Nick were the coolest guys to have guiding our tour. The bus always had awesome music playing, they always found great places to eat and they worked so hard to make sure we all had the best time and knew which optionals were really worth our time.

The trip is made up of urban and rural landscapes so it covers all bases for any kind of crowd. Chill or party hard in Auckland, Queenstown or Wellington. Adventure and do insane things everywhere else (Paihia, Rotoura, Lake Taupo, Frans Josef and Queentown again!). For any Tolkien fan Hobbiton will also prove to be so awesome. The more you watch friends do crazy things the more you want to as well. No matter where we all found ourselves, we were all constantly in awe of the landscapes. There is so much you can pack into doing when you visit this country.

I came home and literally just wanted to turn around and drag all my friends back to see more of New Zealand. So really just go and know if you do it via contiki, especially on this trip, that you will just have a blast.

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: endless wanderlust, beautiful, entirely worth it

event 0.3
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Sweet as bro!

03 Feb 2015 - 21 Feb 2015

If you want an adventure, here ya go.
If you want to choose how you experience NZ, here ya go.
If you want to make friends from all over the world, here ya go!
From watching dolphin watching in Paihia to walking to the bottom of a glacier in Franz Josef . This Big Tiki does it all. Our tour manager Josh and driver Nick were awesome and made the trip so much fun & special (I highly recommend getting them!)
The accommodation varies, some places you got tv's. Others had no wifi...at all. The Rotorua hotel is... definitely.. something.
When in Queenstown is it a must to try their Ferg Burger (only $11, and is epic!) and to also try the Money shot- only a few bars do it. So get exploring and you'll have a blast in NZ

Honestly it is the best way to see what Kiwi land has to offer :D

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Adventurous , Friends 4 Life, Kiwi experience

event 0.3
  • Anthony
  • Anthony
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An incredible life changing event with friends.

06 Jan 2015 - 24 Jan 2015

Hey everyone,

Thanks for a truly amazing, life changing experience.

Just wanted to give 5 big golden stars to you for such an incredible trip.

It was a great mix of partying, sight seeing, culture, friendship and experiences.

I have to say, I don't think I could have possibly seen so many things in so little time on any other tour... just incredible. I true life changer!

Thanks,

Anthony

#NoRegretsAtAll

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Best, Decision, Ever

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 20 nights multi-share accommodation: 16 nights in hotels, 4 nights in lodges
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • Experienced & Professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities

Food

  • 26 meals:
  • 20 breakfasts
  • 6 dinners

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • See the 'City of Sails' harbour made famous by the America's Cup
  • Cross Auckland's Harbour Bridge
See More

Me Time

  • Kiwi Parasail
  • Explore NZ Combo
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$141
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.