The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)

Tour Length
21 days
Overview Reviews

The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I finally went "There and Back Again"... and it was awesome!

08 Jul 2015 - 28 Jul 2015

This was my first Contiki tour. I had never heard of the company until my travel agent had suggested it to me. I was a little nervous at first because I am not the biggest partier and I am kind of a nerd for culture, history, and anything Tolkien. I decided to take the plunge and book my New Zealand adventure with Contiki. IT WAS THE BEST DECISION I COULD HAVE MADE! New Zealand is the most beautiful place I have ever had the pleasure of touring and it was made even better by travelling with other like minded adventure seekers in my own age bracket who also came to New Zealand to bungy jump and sky dive for the first time; to dance like a Hobbit at the site of Bilbo's 111th bday party in Hobbiton; to learn more about the Maori culture; and to live it up in the Minus 5 Ice Bar in Queenstown just like me. I could not have imagined comfortably doing all of this with a group of older adults in their 50's or 60's.

My tour manager, Soap, was extremely knowledgeable about everything New Zealand and I feel that by the time we reached our destination for the day everyone on the bus was more than prepared to explore the wonders New Zealand had to offer because of all the history and tips that he gave to us before we got there. He also organized everything flawlessly and the only thing I ever had to think about was making sure I was back to the bus on time.

Personal trip highlights in a nutshell... Milford Sound, Bungy jumping, sky diving, and horseback riding in Queenstown, traditional Hangi and Haka dance in Rotoura, OGO Balls, Hobbition/Weta Workshop, Mt. Doom, helicopter ride over Franz Joseph and Fox glaciers, riding through the southern Alps, Ice Bar, kayaking in the Bay of Islands, and Waitangi Treaty grounds (lots of highlights!)

Do the Big Tiki as opposed to the other New Zealand options if you have the time and money. This tour showcases everything New Zealand has to offer and is a combination of all the other Kiwi tours combined. This means that travelers on the tour are always coming and going. The friendships formed on Contiki are strong and seeing people leave mid tour because they didn't sign up for the whole thing is hard.

Do as many of the Me Time optionals as you can... most of them are once I'm a lifetime opportunities: Hobbiton, helicopter over glaciers, Bungy jumping off the original bridge where the sport started, OGO ball ride, and cruising the stunning oasis that is the Milford Sound. If you think you want to try something but are hesitant throw your caution out the window... I mean when are you ever going to get this chance again.

Enjoy your adventure :)

Review written Sep 2015

My Contiki was: Maori Adventure, Adrenaline Adventure, Middle Earth Adventure

event 0.3
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★


03 Feb 2015 - 21 Feb 2015

The Big Tiki was my first ever contiki, first time traveling (initially) alone and the first time I've visited New Zealand. I'm so glad I did it because it proved to entirely worth it and was so much fun. We got to see essentially all of NZ and see everything it has to offer; culture, adventure, astounding landscapes and seas, really good food and utterly friendly people no matter where you go. I don’t think anyone would regret ever going on this trip.

Firstly, if you’re a fellow Aussie and think you know anything about our little neighbor... you’re wrong. There is so much to NZ and it’s culture we don’t know and for me it was really amazing to see and learn about all its history and see the all the familiarities it does share with Australia but also all the small differences that make it its own place. Go visit NZ now!

I shared the same trip with Elise below and I utterly agree that Josh & Nick were the coolest guys to have guiding our tour. The bus always had awesome music playing, they always found great places to eat and they worked so hard to make sure we all had the best time and knew which optionals were really worth our time.

The trip is made up of urban and rural landscapes so it covers all bases for any kind of crowd. Chill or party hard in Auckland, Queenstown or Wellington. Adventure and do insane things everywhere else (Paihia, Rotoura, Lake Taupo, Frans Josef and Queentown again!). For any Tolkien fan Hobbiton will also prove to be so awesome. The more you watch friends do crazy things the more you want to as well. No matter where we all found ourselves, we were all constantly in awe of the landscapes. There is so much you can pack into doing when you visit this country.

I came home and literally just wanted to turn around and drag all my friends back to see more of New Zealand. So really just go and know if you do it via contiki, especially on this trip, that you will just have a blast.

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: endless wanderlust, beautiful, entirely worth it

event 0.3
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Sweet as bro!

03 Feb 2015 - 21 Feb 2015

If you want an adventure, here ya go.
If you want to choose how you experience NZ, here ya go.
If you want to make friends from all over the world, here ya go!
From watching dolphin watching in Paihia to walking to the bottom of a glacier in Franz Josef . This Big Tiki does it all. Our tour manager Josh and driver Nick were awesome and made the trip so much fun & special (I highly recommend getting them!)
The accommodation varies, some places you got tv's. Others had no all. The Rotorua hotel is... definitely.. something.
When in Queenstown is it a must to try their Ferg Burger (only $11, and is epic!) and to also try the Money shot- only a few bars do it. So get exploring and you'll have a blast in NZ

Honestly it is the best way to see what Kiwi land has to offer :D

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Adventurous , Friends 4 Life, Kiwi experience

event 0.3
  • Anthony
  • Anthony
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An incredible life changing event with friends.

06 Jan 2015 - 24 Jan 2015

Hey everyone,

Thanks for a truly amazing, life changing experience.

Just wanted to give 5 big golden stars to you for such an incredible trip.

It was a great mix of partying, sight seeing, culture, friendship and experiences.

I have to say, I don't think I could have possibly seen so many things in so little time on any other tour... just incredible. I true life changer!




Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Best, Decision, Ever

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.


  • 20 nights multi-share accommodation: 16 nights in hotels, 4 nights in lodges
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges


  • Experienced & Professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities


  • 26 meals:
  • 20 breakfasts
  • 6 dinners


  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • See the 'City of Sails' harbour made famous by the America's Cup
  • Cross Auckland's Harbour Bridge
See More

Me Time

  • Kiwi Parasail
  • Explore NZ Combo
  • Horse Trek'n
  • Coastal Kayaks
  • Carino Day Sailing
  • Cape Brett Cruise
  • Awesome Adventures
  • Fish Spot X
  • Dolphin Encounter
  • Dolphin Cruise
  • Island Adventurer
  • Day in the Bay Cruise
  • Auckland Bungy
  • Auckland Bridge Climb
  • America’s Cup Sailing
  • Kelly Tarlton’s Sealife Aquarium
  • Ruakuri Caves Tour
  • Black Water Rafting
  • Waitomo Caves Tour
  • Ogo
  • Skyline Gondola and Luge Rides
  • Rainbow Springs
  • Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
  • Whakarewarewa Thermal Village
  • Te Puia (Maori Arts & Crafts Institute)
  • Kaitiaki Rafting
  • NZone Skydiving
  • Rotorua Canopy Tours
  • Mt. Tarawera Trek
  • Dinner / Party Cruise
  • Hukafalls Jet
  • Rock'n Ropes Adventure Course
  • Taupo Bungy
  • Taupo Tandem Skydiving
  • Optional Dinner
  • Kapiti Quad Bikes
  • Seal Coast Safaris
  • Wairarapa Wine Escape
  • Lord of the Rings Tour(s)
  • Helihike
  • Valley Walk
  • Franz Josef Glacier Heli
  • Franz Josef / Fox Glacier Heli
  • Mt. Cook / Franz / Fox Heli - Grand Tour
  • Mt. Cook (western face) / Fox and Franz Heli
  • Ice Explorer
  • Across Country Quad Bikes
  • Glacier Country Kayaks
  • Group Photograph
  • NZone Skydiving
  • Milford Sound
  • AJ Hackett Bungy - Thrillogy
  • AJ Hackett Bungy - Nevis
  • AJ Hackett Bungy - The Ledge
  • AJ Hackett Skyswing - Nevis Arc
  • AJ Hackett Skyswing - The Ledge
  • Kawarau or Shotover Rafting
  • Heliraft
  • Walter Peak Horse Riding
  • Dart River Wilderness Safari
  • Paradise Safari Scenic Adventure
  • Routeburn Trail Hike
  • Skippers Gold 4WD & Jetboat
  • Minus 5 Ice Bar
  • Funyaks
  • Skyline Restaurant
  • Nomad Safaris: Safari of the Scenes
  • Canyon Swing
  • Ziptrek Ecotours
  • Queenstown Wine Trail
  • AJ Hackett Bungy - Kawarau Bridge
  • Speight's Ale House Dinner
  • Death Rattle Ghost Walk
  • Air Safaris
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$127
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
4 Results



Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.