The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)

Tour Length
21 days
From
US$3694
Overview Reviews

  • Kat15
  • Kat15
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Life Changing!!!

05 Sep 2013 - 23 Sep 2013

Don't hesitate for a second and book this tour ASAP!!

This was the first tour I have ever done. I traveled by myself, which was nerve racking, but my tour manager Saul, bus driver Aaron and the rest of my other Contiki travelers made me feel like I was part of a big family.

But that wasn't all. Saul and Aaron were always making sure everyone was having a good time and going out of their way to look after us. The jokes they cracked, made the tour even more hilarious and fun than it already was.

Paihia was beautiful, Hobbiton was very interesting and fun, Ohinemutu Village and Ogo in Rotorua was awesome, Skydiving over Queenstown was incredible and seeing Milford Sound was breathtaking. I participated in as many ME Options as possible, especially the 'world record' ones. So many ME Options to recommend, so I recommend do as many as you can. The people who run the activities and the places you go to are all amazing.

Made some great international friends, who I still keep in contact with and plan to visit.
Highly recommend this tour!!!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, The Best, Enlightening

event 0.3
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Wild Adrenaline Rush!!

02 Sep 2013 - 24 Sep 2013

I took this tour last September and everyday I wish I could go back and do it all over again, which I may do sometime in the next few years! The people, the sights and activities are simply amazing! One of the biggest reasons I enjoyed this tour so much is the fact that I am a big adrenaline junkie! I did all of the optional activities I had time for, especially all of the bungy jumps and giant swings! I had an extra couple days in Auckland by myself before the tour so I did the Sky Tower jump and Auckland bridge bungy while also exploring downtown Auckland! I could write pages about this trip, but I will just give the advice to do as many of the optionals as you can afford especially in Queenstown! Even if bungy jumping and skydiving scare you, do it and you won't regret it! Also, the group of people you are with make your trip that much more memorable and I was traveling with a great group of people from different parts of the world! This trip had a lot to match up to with the trip I took to Australia two years ago, but this trip was by far the best vacation I have ever taken and only makes me more excited about my next trip to either Asia or South America!! If you are even slightly thinking about going to New Zealand, do it and it will be one of the best experiences of your life!!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Adrenaline, Adventure, Lifetime memories

event 0.3
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Big Tiki is a winner!

30 Dec 2013 - 17 Jan 2014

Such a great experience! This tour covered so much of NZ, the views are so picturesque and there is so much to do! There are quite a lot of optional activities so save your pennies! I ticked off most of them and have no regrets apart from not tackling the Nevis bungy!! Amazing seafood mmm...
To top it off my tour leader Sarah was brilliant! So much knowledge of her country and she was so helpful. Ricky our bus driver was great too :)
Perfect way to see NZ and meet some great people! #wannacupofteanz14

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: adventurous, beautiful, thrilling

event 0.3
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great experience

23 Dec 2012 - 10 Jan 2013

Really great trip! The whole of New Zealand in just three weeks! Aaron Green was a fantastic guide and Cam was a friendly driver. Had a great time with these guys. And meet some fantastic people. Friends for life. Highly recommend this trip. But the weather was not favourable i missed out of the glazier but that just means I need to come back.

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Fun , Beautiful , Value

event 0.3
  • Karlee
  • Karlee
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter New Zealand Big Tiki

15 Dec 2012 - 02 Jan 2013

Words can't even explain how much fun I had in New Zealand in December 2012.
First, our bus driver and tour manager, Adam and Sarah, were aaaamazing! Everything was well-organized throughout the entire tour in terms of where you needed to be and when. Another nice thing was that we had alot of free time to ourselves and you could sign up for what activities you wanted to do and no matter how many you had, Sarah worked her magic and made sure you got to do everything you wanted to!
Top must do things would be parasailing in pahia, bungy jumping since it was founded in New Zealand, the Canyon Swing because meeting the workers there are an experience themselves, glow worm tubing, and white water rafting in rotorua.
I also would recommend the wine tour in wellington and the yacht/dolphin swim in pahia!
After 22 days it's ubelievable to think of all of the things that we did! If you get sea-sick, make sure you bring alot of meds for it because they really come in handy in the North Island to keep you from missing out.
We lucked out and didn't get rained on during our trip. We did have quite a few cloudy days due to the cyclone that hit Fiji blowing in. The clouds didn't really effect our tour though except for the people that were skydiving.
Unfortunately we weren't able to do the Heli-hike due to cloud cover at the glacier but we did do the Fox Trail hike. Personally, I wouldn't recommend wasting your money on the hike. That is only my opinion though because I have walked on glaciers (being from Canada). If you have never though, it is still an amazing must-do experience and it is neat to do it there because you're on a glacier in the middle of a rainforest.

If you're looking to book a tour to New Zealand, I STRONGLY recommend this tour since it covers the entire country. I couldn't imagine only getting the chance to experience half of New Zealand. The South Island is beautiful and alot like a "wine-country" atmosphere in the mountains while mixing in a whole-lot of adrenaline. The North Island was like a "spring-break get-away" atmosphere with beaches and water sports. New Zealand definitely satisfies whichever vacation you are looking for and more.

Review written Apr 2013

My Contiki was: New Zealand, winter, awesome

event 0.3
  • Angela
  • Angela
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Epic Adventure of a Lifetime!

12 Dec 2012 - 03 Jan 2013

I had the best time on this tour, it was the longest vacation I have ever been on (which I am not sure is a sad thing) so I was a little worried about the duration and if it would wear on me but I was not disappointed.

I had a great tour director who is now retired but Sarah Carter you were amazing!

All of the hotels we stayed at were acceptable, even if the tripadvisor reviews say otherwise...I was pretty happy with all of my accomodations, but I did do the single room so if you are willing to sacrifice some privacy and space and share a quad room then the tour becomes even more attractive with it's lower price tag.

There is not a shortage of activities to do as well, the tour starts off mellow in Auckland (which is a pretty big city but I am from a bit city so not my thing, there are great restaurants and bars in the area of the hotel though) Once you get up to Bay of Islands the fun starts. There are swimming with the dolphins, catamaran or visiting the northern most tip of the country while getting in some sand dune boogie boarding and driving on a beach highway. I loved this little beach town, it was relaxed and everyone was super friendly. The bars had live music and some people ended up dancing on the tables.

Once you head back down to Auckland you embark on your journey south, the time will fly by with all of the activities. I did the underwater cave tubing in Waitomo which was amazing, saw some glow worms...but I got a little sick from it...so stock up on your Vitamin C and take care of yourself! Then off to Rotorua where we had some stinky hot springs to soak in, I did zorbing here which was lots of fun as well. I also got to drink vodka out of a tea kettle so that was different. Lake Taupo was our next spot, the lodge here is very strict with not being loud so be respectful because it was a nice place. This is a small sleepy town, so we went on a boat and dressed up in costume for a dinner party followed by some bar hopping.

Spent two days in Wellington, where I was pretty sick and didn't get to explore as much of the city I wanted but it is a artsy town with lots of coffee shops and restaurants and bars to check out. There is a free museum Te Papo which was pretty interesting.

The ferry across the north and south island was a great trip as well, apparently if you want to spend $35 you can get access to their VIP lounge with free wi-fi and bigger lounging couches. The trip is a few hours so I would have done this had I known about it. We also saw some baby orcas on the trip across which was a very cool experience.

So now onto the South Island, which was my favorite part of the trip because of less people and more dramatic landscapes. There are more hot springs to be had in Hamner Springs and this hotel was one of my favorite. Another must do is the fox glacier hike, but only if you have never been on or probably won't be hiking on a glacier...otherwise don't bother. The rain forest lodge where we stayed two nights was a bit smaller and cramped so you might be spending more time outside and hanging out in the bar when staying here. We spent christmas here so we had a great christmas feast and christmas gift exchange which was a very nice touch.

In between Hamner and Fox Glacier we drove through Christchurch which is still devastated from the earthquake a few years ago...it was powerful to visit the city center and see how people are trying to persevere still. So support the local businesses as much as possible and visit the container shop mall. (you will know what it is when you see it, pretty hard to miss)

Now onto Queenstown, four whole nights here...and not a shortage of things to do! I wish I left myself a free day to breathe but I did whitewater rafting, the shotover canyon swing, the Nevis Bungy, Milford Sound Discovery (warning this was an *all day* tour so unless you are committed to spending 10-12 hours where most of it is on the tour bus then don't do it), Minus 5 ice bar. I kind of wish I did something besides the Milford tour since it rained when we went on it but you can't control the weather...only note if it is supposed to rain do something else, it's not like you have a hard time finding an alternative. This is still a pretty small town so you run into many of the tour guides at the bars, fun times though and lots of good eats.

Next to the tiny town of Dunedin, we ended up here on New Years Eve so mostly everything was closed but we still got the Speights Ale factory tour. We ended up doing a bbq in the hotel which has a full kitchen before hitting the bars and bringing in the new year in the town square which had a band and fireworks.

Then off to Lake Oahu, which is in the middle of nowhere and if you have ever seen the movie the Shining has rooms similar to that. I thought it was awesome, much more character...the moose head hanging up in the great room would agree. We had a decent sit down dinner, later that night it was time for a toga party and the bartender was mixing up some fabulous drinks with some stuff he made himself like chai vodka, YUM.

Journey finished up in Christchurch, I was ready for it to be over by then...my poor liver needed a break and I needed some sleep! But it was a great trip with lots to do and being that I went there by myself, I left with about 40 new friends since many people came and went as the shorter tours are part of this big tour so I loved having a mix of new faces from all over the world. If you are going to do this, go big or go home...unless you can come back here easily to see more of this wonderful country but I probably won't for a little while so I wanted to experience as much as I could this one time, and I was not disappointed.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Epic, Amazing, Once-in-a-lifetime

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Daryl
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)

The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)

12 Jan 2013 - 30 Jan 2013

The trip around New Zealand is amazing. From bushwalks to hikes around the glaciers. I get to see the natural beauty of the hilly landscapes. It was also tons of fun as well; not only I met other like-minded travellers, and made good friends with some of them, also get to see their wild side in parties, pubs and adventure activities (canyon swings, bungee jumping).

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: awesome, fun, adventurous

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Josie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)

BEST TIME OF YOUR LIFE

12 Jan 2013 - 30 Jan 2013

Well where do I start, pretty much best 3 weeks of my life, you do so much in such a short time, you experience everything NZ has to offer, from traditional Maori concerts to bungy jumping and canyon swinging. Our tour guide and driver were the best, they were so helpful and kind, and if you wanted to do anything they would do everything in their power to make sure you got what you wanted. You make great friends from all over the world, and you become a big family. Your never bored, although their are alot of late nights and early mornings but thats what a holidays is all about, getting the most for your money.

There are so many optionals its hard to decide, whether your an adrenaline junkie or just want to relax its there, and all you have to do is circle it and its done, no fuss. But personally whether jumping off things is your thing or not, I would highly recommend the Shotover Canyon Swing, its the most fun you'll ever have. The accomodation was amazing and so was the food.

Our tour group was amazing and I hope that we are friends for life, and I now have free accomodation in Canada, UK, Ireland and all around Australia. The best moments would have to be in Queenstown, it was 3 full days of action packed, thrill seeking, watching everyone face their fears including myself. But it was even better watching everyones videos on the way out of Queenstown and reliving everyones terror as they jumped off bridges and out of planes.

The New Zealand people are so friendly, and I wouldn't take back any part of this experience, and whether or 18 like I was or 35, travelling alone or with a friend, you will have a awesome time.

My only advice for this trip is if you want to do something, do it. Go there like your never going back, and you'll come home with no regrets, cause I know I didnt.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: scary, fun, amazing

event 0.3
  • Natty
  • Natty
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Just one drink ;)

16 Oct 2012 - 03 Nov 2012

Had such an amazing time. Great people, great tour manager.
The hotels were comfortable, and the optional activities were fun and adventurous. I went Zorbing, sky diving, bungy jumping, and black water rafting through the glow worm caves.
The night life was fun, with lots of dancing, drinks/tea pots (shots) and making close friendships
New Zealand is amazing, everyone is kind, and the place is so beautiful, especially the mountains and the snow. I can defiantly see myself living there too.

Review written Dec 2012

event 0.3
  • Nicky
  • Nicky
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Outstanding experience!!

24 Oct 2012 - 11 Nov 2012

This trip was absolutely incredible!! A great way to see New Zealand. Our group was exceptionally lucky getting Saul & Pumbaa as tour manager and bus driver they were helpful, informative and so much fun, without them the tour would not have been the same! Accommodation varied from good to great depending on what town/city we were in. The included activities were awesome but I definitely recommend doing the optional extras to make sure you experience everything the country has to offer! Take advantage of the included dinners and breakfasts it's a good way to save money and bond with everyone on the tour. The people I met on tour were amazing, forming friendships with these people and exploring a new country together was a definite highlight of the trip. I definitely recommend this trip - you'll come away with no regrets!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Breathtaking, Outstanding

event 0.3
  • Scottie
  • Scottie
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Simply amazing

16 Oct 2012 - 03 Nov 2012

Couldnt have imagined a better way to spend my holiday, great people, great country, great party's. Sweet as!!!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Great, Excelent

event 0.3
  • Amy
  • Amy
  • Level 7 Traveler
  • 7 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch - Until October 2014)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

The Big Tiki (Auckland to Christchurch)

04 Oct 2012 - 22 Oct 2012

first contiki first trip alone was amazing loved it great bunch off people optional activities were the best lots great memories great tour highly recommend but one thing get along with staff might ruin your trip

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 20 nights multi-share accommodation: 16 nights in hotels, 4 nights in lodges
  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

Experienced & Professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 26 meals:
  • 20 breakfasts
  • 6 dinners

Inclusions

  • See the 'City of Sails' harbour made famous by the America's Cup
  • Cross Auckland's Harbour Bridge
See More

Me Time

  • Kiwi Parasail
  • Explore NZ Combo
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$175
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
12 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.