Sun & Steam

Tour Length
9 days
Overview Reviews

  • alyvioleta
  • alyvioleta
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Sun & Steam
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New Zealand

01 Feb 2013 - 07 Feb 2013

I loved everything about this trip, my main purpose was to visit Hobbiton from lord of the rings, and i sure did. it was amazing! but everything else on the trip was equally amazing, our tour guide was the best, she organized everything and made sure we having the best time of our lives! I also got to make new friends from all over the world. highlight of this trip was Hobbiton and black water rafting in Waitomo! next time i would probably pick a longer trip as 7 days is not enough.

Review written Mar 2015


event 0.3
  • Zephia
  • Zephia
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Sun & Steam
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Travel Bug Caught

06 Jan 2015 - 12 Jan 2015

Couldn't have asked for a better first time OS! Somehow this week packed everything and more into the North Island I could have ever expected. From adventurous White Water Rafting even the experts had never experienced to captivating culture in Rotorua, I got the full experience. Taz (tour manager) and everyone on the tour were the nicest people I've ever met and although I travelled by myself, I never once felt alone. Already planning my next trip for the South Island and the rest of the world. Contiki gave me the travel bug and I couldn't be any happier!!

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, Captivating, Thrilling

event 0.3
Sun & Steam

Changed my life!!

30 Dec 2013 - 05 Jan 2014


This trip for me is what urged me to want to travel more. It was my first ever overseas trip. And to say it was amazing would be an understatement. This trip has it all. Whether your a party animal, culture seeker, adrenaline junkie or there to meet new people.

From the day my tour started the people were wonderful. From all around the world friendships were formed. The entire energy throughout the whole trip was awesome.

Id say the two greatest things I enjoyed most was the Waitomo caves and OGO Ranges. And most definitely cram as much of the optional activities in. You will not be disappointed.

It was also so great to have a really great tour guide and driver. Sarah, our tour guide and Ricky, our driver. We're so full of life, great humor and knowledge. They really made the trip.

All in all, I had a wonderful time. And am now eager to follow my contiki adventures. Next stop Asia !!

Review written Nov 2014

event 0.3
  • Alexandra
  • Alexandra
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Sun & Steam
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New Zealand 2013

21 Sep 2013 - 27 Sep 2013

Coming to explore New Zealand was the best decision I made in 2013. Our tour guides made us feel so relaxed and comfortable as we got to meet everyone on the trip. A minute did not go by without feeling truly lucky to be there and having something awesome to look at.

I learnt so much about the culture and made new friends from other cultures at the same time.

Definitely worth visiting, ewe'd be sheepish if you missed out.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Crisp, Comfortable, Companionship

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.


  • 8 nights multi-share accommodation: 7 nights in hotels, 1 nights in a lodge
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges


  • Experienced & Professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities


  • 11 meals:
  • 8 breakfasts
  • 3 dinners


  • See the 'City of Sails' harbour made famous by the America's Cup
  • Cross Auckland's Harbour Bridge
See More

Me Time

  • Kiwi Parasail
  • Explore NZ Combo
  • Horse Trek'n
  • Coastal Kayaks
  • Carino Day Sailing
  • Cape Brett Cruise
  • Awesome Adventures
  • Fish Spot X
  • Dolphin Encounter
  • Dolphin Cruise
  • Island Adventurer
  • Day in the Bay Cruise
  • Auckland Bungy
  • Auckland Bridge Climb
  • America’s Cup Sailing
  • Kelly Tarlton’s Sealife Aquarium
  • Ruakuri Caves Tour
  • Black Water Rafting
  • Waitomo Caves Tour
  • Ogo
  • Skyline Gondola and Luge Rides
  • Rainbow Springs
  • Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
  • Whakarewarewa Thermal Village
  • Te Puia (Maori Arts & Crafts Institute)
  • Kaitiaki Rafting
  • NZone Skydiving
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$120
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
4 Results



Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.