Grand Northern

Tour Length
26 days
From
US$3889
Overview Reviews

Grand Northern

Grand Northern Jul-Aug 2012

20 Jul 2012 - 14 Aug 2012

Fantastic tour, highly recommended

Review written Jan 2013

event 0.3
  • Alannasch
  • Alannasch
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Grand Northern 05 - 30 Oct 2012

05 Oct 2012 - 30 Oct 2012

I would like to start off by saying, that a few of the people on my tour had previously already done the Grand Southern and said that they preferred the Grand Southern over this tour- so if you're trying to choose between the two- hope that helps!

But anyway here is my experience on the Grand Northern..

Highlights-
-NEW YORK - absolutely incredible- read my review on the New York Uncovered which I did as an add on tour before the Grand Northern
-BOSTON - went to a hilarious restaurant called Dicks Last Resort which was extremely crude food wasnt great but drinks were strong and a good night was had by all
- EVERYTHING IN CANADA - candian landscape was beautiful especially in French Canada around Quebec! Fantastic city great places to go out, Niagara Falls was definitely one of the highlights
-CHICAGO! We were very fortunate to get to see the Chicago Bulls NBA game while we were there
- Mt Rushmore
- Snow in Wyoming and Yellowstone
- Grand Canyon- most humbling and beautiful place
- VEGAS! Unlike the Grand Southern this tour has 3 nights in Vegas and every second is a fantastic blur

Lowlights
- Tour gets really quiet between Chicago and Vegas... We stayed in lots of smaller towns and a lot of places were closed for the season as it was the last tour of the season before Winter .. also not many activities or places to go out
- Some of the accommodation was a little dodgy especially Cleveland and Kanab
- Kanab in general is a pretty dodgy little town and the included dinner was awful!

Tips
- Budget for tipping! And plenty of spending money (I took around $4000 AUD for the whole tour and that worked out about right! And I did almost all of the optionals)
- Make sure you are 21 before you book! A few underagers on the tour had to miss out on nights out which was a little disappointing for them :(
- Do the FULL tour (some of our group were only doing parts of the tour like North by North East etc.) rather than the full 26 days and they were very disappointed to have to leave us :(
- Go mid season as opposed to end of the season (October) a lot of activities (included and optionals) were unavailable and some days we had to make detours to our destinations because of the snow
-Pack for every season! Some places are incredibly hot and others incredibly cold, so pack a variety of warm and cool clothes because the weather changes in every city
- Talk to everyone on the bus! One of the best things about travel is the people you get to meet along the way.. Don't judge people before you get to know them and put yourself out there to make friends with everyone. You will be suprised at who you're doing Tequila shots with at the bar at the end of the night..

Overall, had an amazing time, made the best new friends I could possibly ask for and currently saving up to do the Grand Southern in 2013!

For anyone who hasn't done Contiki before, the experience is what YOU make of it and it will be different for everyone. Some people on my tour hated it and were very anti-social... needless to say they didn't have much fun. It is really about putting yourself out there, putting in the effort to make new friends, try things you wouldn't normally do and overall get out of your comfort zone!

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Fun, Hilarious, Fast Paced

event 0.3
  • JillYGoaT
  • JillYGoaT
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Grand effin Northern!

03 Aug 2012 - 28 Aug 2012

Grand Northern was AMAZING! The hotels we stayed at were good, most of the optionals were great. Our tour mates were killer and I would totally reccomend it! Its a good party / sight seeing ratio.
We have got the best photos and even better memories ;)

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: Whirlwind, Hilarious, FUN!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Johnel
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Grand Northern

grand northern

09 Sep 2011 - 03 Oct 2011

Unreal.. definately want to get in on the Grand southern now!

Review written Apr 2012

event 0.3
  • Morgan
  • Morgan
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 23 Countries
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Grand Northern (New York Start)

17 Jun 2011 - 11 Jul 2011

What an amazing tour! This tour was one of the best ways to see all that northern U.S.A and Canada has to offer. Keep in mind that it is go, go, go like all Contiki tours but one of the best ways to see a lot of the northern part of North America in a short amount of time. When you go to Canada, you HAVE to go on the Jet Boating tour. BEST MONEY SPENT ON TOUR! Not to give too much away but you won't walk away from the experience disappointed. There is a little bit of a lull between Chicago and Salt Lake City, but you will need it to get your energy back for LAS VEGAS!

My top three places (in no particular order);
- Chicago (pizza is awesome and so is the music. An architecturally beautiful city. Definate wow factor)
- Québec City (in fact all of Canada - it's like it stepped out of a postcard. Culture is fantastic and the people are super nice!)
- Las Vegas (need I say more?)

If you are thinking about seeing a lot of the north, then do this tour!

Review written Nov 2011

My Contiki was: Variety, Exciting, Action-packed

event 0.3
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

grand northern

03 Jun 2011 - 27 Jun 2011

was a good time
good people
great places
wish it went for longer

Review written Nov 2011

My Contiki was: fun, quick, good value

event 0.3
  • GemInOz
  • GemInOz
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

17 Sep 2010 - 11 Oct 2010

This was an AMAZING trip!
Our guide Kris was great fun & organised a lot of extra activities for us to do, like seeing a baseball game in Chicago, and a hockey game in Montreal, going to a jazz club, cocktails at the top of towers, pub crawls, beer pong, karaoke.... he even managed to get the AFL grand final on the big screen for us in the middle of a busy Toronto night club!
Kris knew an awful lot about the history of each town too, so while we were driving around in the bus he'd give a run down of how each town came to life and point out all the great place to eat, drink, take great photos and the sights to see.
Our driver, Jerry, was such a laugh and always making jokes and the people feel at home. A great driver too, so you always felt safe when he was behind the wheel.
I met a lot a great people on the trip and quite a few I still catch up with and keep in contact with...and not only people that were on the bus, but people we met in the towns we visited. Facebook does make this very easy.
If you're thinking about doing this trip I'd highly recommend it! You get a bit of everything. The big cities, the bright lights, the cowboy towns, the national parks, the mountains... It really is a great way to see a LOT of the USA in a short amount of time.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: FUN, Eye-opening, Unforgetable

event 0.3
  • Jemma
  • Jemma
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

30 May 2008 - 22 Jun 2008

Grand Norther was awsome!! I travelled solo and had a fantastic time!! I made heaps of friends which I still catch up with 3 years on from the tour!! I would highly recommed everyone to do this tour who wants a good taste of what America has to offer!!

Review written May 2011

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • steve
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Grand Northern
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

30 Apr 2010 - 24 May 2010

this was an awesome trip very well worth it everything was great,i want to go back to North America and see more in the future!!!

Review written Jul 2010

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 25 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • 31 meals: 19 breakfasts & 12 dinners
  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Visit Providence, the capital of Rhode Island
  • See Boston Common, Quincy Marketplace, Faneuil Hall & the original 'Cheers' Bar
See More

Me Time

  • Codzilla Speed Boat
  • Trolley Tour
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$149
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway

Similar Tours

9 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.