Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)

Tour Length
26 days
From
US$3651
Overview Reviews

  • kelsey.j
  • kelsey.j
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)

Best Holiday Ever!

13 Dec 2012 - 07 Jan 2013

This was the best trip we've ever been on! We made so many good friends and are still feeling post-holiday blues 5 months after our trip ended - wish we still on the bus! It is a fast-paced trip, sometimes covering two states in one day - but this is what you must do to see more in the time-frame (and to get more for your money) - I wouldn't change any of it. We had plenty of time at the main locations (my highlight was the Grand Canyon with it's first snowfall for the year).

The optional extras were great - especially snowmobiling, some optionals are dependent on month and/or daily weather. Accommodation was great in most places, all were hotel rooms. Our bus driver and tour guide absolutely rocked and made our trip.

This was our first organised trip where we let someone else take charge and it was worth it. We are now looking at Contiki again to do Europe in 2014. P.S. If you're feeling extra adventurous, get hitched in Las Vegas like we did on Day 2!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, once-in-a-lifetime, life-changing

event 0.3
  • Matt984
  • Matt984
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Experience of a Lifetime!!!

19 Jul 2012 - 13 Aug 2012

Dear Contikians, this tour was so awesome that i made an Epic Tour Montage Video - Check it out if you have the time and want to see what its all about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=_i82dq4r0CA&list=PL21916E13765DAF35

Now planning my next Contiki Holiday!

Review written Jan 2013

My Contiki was: Life-changing, Epic, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • RosieP
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Take me back!

05 Jul 2012 - 30 Jul 2012

This tour was the trip of a lifetime! Every day was exciting and I had the time of my life. I travelled by myself, which I was worried about to begin with, but from the first day I met such amazing friends from all around the world and who i still keep in touch with. The accomodation was absolutely amazing, very comfortable and we always had a double bed each - bonus! The optionals were spectacular and definitely worth the money - isn't often where you'll hear someone hot air ballooned over Alburquerque or did a tour of Dallas Cowboys Stadium! The tour guides are so informative and the bus driver was keen to get to know everyone. The worst day of the tour was saying goodbye and knowing it was finished! I want to go back ASAP and am planning on doing the Grand Northern. My advice for anyone even considering it - JUST DO IT! You will have no regrets and will find that 26 days isn't even long enough, so take the risk, and travelling alone was the best decision i have ever made :)

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, FUN!, time of my life

event 0.3
  • Hayley
  • Hayley
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my Life!

04 Oct 2012 - 29 Oct 2012

Truly had the time of my life!! i have already suggested this tour to so many friends and a few have now booked. Our Tour guide and bus driver were brilliant funniest blokes around the Accommodation was fantastic but what really made the trip were the people and the new found friends i've made! I'm so thankful i did this trip alone and recommend it to anyone :)

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: memories, friends, experiences

event 0.3
  • Erin
  • Erin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!!!! Time of my life

09 Aug 2012 - 03 Sep 2012

Contiki Grand Southern was INCREDIBLE! Can't believe how much I got to see and do in just 26 days! Vegas was sensational, the night life in New Orleans is like nothing I've ever experienced - you must go to Bourbon St! Even some of the smaller towns along the way, like Savannah, were some of the best nights on the trip! The bus trip was fun, as there were always people to chat to or games going on, or you could just sleep after the big nights out! Personally, my favourite optionals were the helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon (amazing experience!), white water rafting in Durango, the rodeo and Cowboy Stadium tour in Dallas, riverboat dinner cruise in New Orleans, Universal Studios in Orlando and the Miami party booze cruise. And of course, the people that I travelled with were incredible. By the end of the trip I had made so many amazing new friends! The people you meet and experience everything with on the trip is what makes it so great, I am really happy that I decided to go on my own too! I also highly recommend staying in New York after the Contiki, its an incredible place and there's heaps to see and do there! Everyone who is thinking about doing this tour, you definitely won't regret it!!! I had the time of my life.

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: 24/7 Fun, Non-stop, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Emily
  • Emily
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)

August 21st 2012

23 Aug 2012 - 17 Sep 2012

It was the best thing i have ever done in my life, i travelled with my sister but yet made sooo many friends from around australia. We both had the time of our lives, our whole crew drank every night and was up bright and early for the bus the next day. Travelling on the busy across the country made it sooo much more fun, we played games and caught up on sleep. I would love to do it again, but worried that it would not come close to the adventure i have recently experienced. Must say though i am considering doing the Grand Northern next year!!!!! It is definately something that everyone under 35 should do in their life :)

Review written Sep 2012

event 0.3
  • Irishsal
  • Irishsal
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Incredible - the time of my life.

05 Jul 2012 - 30 Jul 2012

This tour was amazing and quite honestly the best month of my life. I met so many new friends. From LA to New York, so much was crammed in. Highlights were definitely Vegas, Dallas, Memphis and New Orleans but everything was incredible. Every place we went was better than the last and I'm only sorry that it's over. Our tour manager Tony was so knowledgeable and helpful and our driver Ray was a real gentleman, always willing to accommodate 53 passengers everyday on long journeys. I think they made the tour for me! Both were great fun and made a real effort with all of us. The coach was actually quite comfortable and I really enjoyed our journey times because it was a chance to chill out and chat with my new friends. The included meals were always of very good quality (I never went hungry!) and there were plenty of optionals to enjoy - some top ones included the Haunted House in Dallas, Hot Air Balloon ride in Albuquerque, the dinner cruise in New Orleans and the Miami cruise. The quality of the hotels was quite good as well. I couldn't recommend this tour more. I'd do it all again in a heartbeat.

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Unforgettable, Friendships, Craziness

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)

BEST HOLIDAY EVER !

16 Jul 2012 - 10 Aug 2012

If you want a trip of a lifetime... book the grand southern. Dont be scared by the 26 days as i could have done double the amount. There were so many amazing optionals do to along the way, helicopter rides over the grand canyon,dallas cowboys stadium tour,limo rides in vegas and thats just to name a few.All of the accommodation was great, heaps of room and always central with plenty to do in your free time.We always had good food to eat and there were always plenty of options and all of the included meals in the tour never dissapointed. I was lucky that i made some of the most amazing friends and by 1/2 way through the trip our contiki group turned into family.My favourite places were vegas,miami,cocoa beach and dallas,taxas and of course NEW ORLEANS!.Be prepared tho... depending on your group will depend on the state of your liver. We literally drank 23/26 nights !! Adri was my TM, if you get her, goodluck..you will fall in love with her.She is amazing, super helpful and knows EVERYTHING about USA. You do spend a lot of time on the bus getting to your next stop, but a ipad and ipod keep you occupied and movies are played and sometimes games too. This isnt a beach holiday, you will feel for a good 40% of the trip you are in the wild west, at first i was thinking i wasnt going to like it, but texas,memphis etc was where i had some of my funnest nights out and memories.All in all i would say dont wait, just book it. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: AMAZING, FUN, HUNGOVER

event 0.3
  • MitchellR
  • MitchellR
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Absolutely amazing

05 Apr 2012 - 30 Apr 2012

This was my first time ever out of Australia and I was also travelling for the first time on my own and I must say I had the best time of my life so far. I met so many new friends as it ended up being 3 different contiki's in one with Grand Southern, Southern Adventure (LA to New Orleans) & Eastern Discovery (New Orleans to New York). My tour manager & driver were awesome the tour manager had so much knowledge of all the places we went to and set up awesome night life for everyone. My highlights were definitely Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Dallas, Memphis, Miami, Washington DC then New York after the tour finished. And going to see Gracelands, Kennedy space center, Arlington National Cemetery & all the memorials as well as museums in DC. I already miss it all and everyone I met and I only been home for a week.

Review written May 2012

event 0.3
  • Gree
  • Gree
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Grand Southern!

08 Dec 2011 - 02 Jan 2012

One word... AMAZING!
I had THE best month of my life! My only regret was not doing this sooner! Contiki was great! We had an awesome tour guide and driver that really went above and beyond. The 26 days went so fast, that I think we all would have stayed on the bus for another 26 days, if we had the chance. America is an awesome country and this tour definately did not disappoint. Loads of shopping, drinking, partying and sights. Best moments on the tour would have to be... Partying in Vegas (although that did hurt a little the next day :P ... ) Helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon, Bourban Street in New Orleans (earn your beads girls! hehe) spending Christmas in Miami and exploring New York! The other people on tour were so much fun and you definately make friends for life!! The food was also a highlight! :P I wish I was back on tour now!! Do this tour if you .... NO, just do this tour!!

Review written Feb 2012

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • ShaunM
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

08 Dec 2011 - 02 Jan 2012

Best 26 Days of my life! Did so much and saw so much of America from Vegas to the Grand Canyon, Memphis to New Orleans plus so much more!! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to really get a taste of America. Accommodation was comfortable nothing to fancy which is all you really need. Most hotels have free Wi-Fi and at least one laundromat. Lots of optional activities to choose from plus a wide range of food options as well. Tour group was incredible best people to travel with. Even if you are under 21 you will still have the time of your life (speaking for myself as i am under 21). You do spend a lot of time on the bus so for some that might be a downside but its a great way to see the country. Some highlights included a helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon, snowmobiling in the Rockies, a river boat dinner in New Orleans and a night tour of Washington DC.

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Fun, Busy, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Julia
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)

A-MAZING!!!!

03 Nov 2011 - 28 Nov 2011

Had the best time of my life. managed to fit so much in to such a short time. stayed in really nice places, saw everything from drag shows to gators (alligators) did everything from helicoptering over the grand canyon to karaoke to air boating to ghost hunting. would totally recommend this to anyone who want to see america. we meet some awesome locals, some crazy locals. Our tour manager and bus driver were awesome. fun, interesting and just down right cool!! made some amazing friends who i will be friends with forever! thank you contiki!!

Review written Dec 2011

My Contiki was: jam packed, fun , the best

event 0.3
  • Courts
  • Courts
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime

18 Aug 2011 - 12 Sep 2011

This trip was amazing, I met so many amazing people and we saw heaps of awesome places. You literally see every different facade of American culture. The optionals were all super fun and the crew we super helpful and tonnes of fun to be around. They went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable.

I would recommend this trip to everyone. If you have ever wanted to see America do it. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and knew everything about everywhere we went. You learn alot about the culture but you also have loads of fun while doing it.

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Awesome people, Tonnes of fun

event 0.3
  • katie
  • katie
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

02 Jun 2011 - 27 Jun 2011

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, fun, breathtaking

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

23 Sep 2010 - 18 Oct 2010

Review written Oct 2010

My Contiki was: jagerbombs, gratuity, taxi!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Jelly_Bean
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

22 Jul 2010 - 16 Aug 2010

The most fun I have ever had. Justin Camarda was an excellent tour manager, so relaxed. The best way to see so much in so little time!

Review written Oct 2010

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

22 Jul 2010 - 16 Aug 2010

A-MAZING!
I would recommend this tour, and Contiki in general to anyone thinking of doing it. Even the things I was a little apprehensive or unsure about turned out to be a fantastic time; most enjoyable!

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: Thrilling, Amazing, Worth doing

event 0.3
  • Lotte
  • Lotte
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

27 May 2010 - 21 Jun 2010

I had the time of my life!!!! Met new people and tried new things! If i could do it all again i would no question about it!

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: Fun, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 25 nights twin-share accommodation: 23 nights in hotels & 2 nights in a cabin
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 34 meals: 20 breakfasts & 14 dinners

Inclusions

  • 2 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the famous Joshua Trees
  • Visit Fremont Street & see the light-and-laser show
See More

Me Time

  • Cirque du Soliel *December departures onwards
  • Grand Canyon Biking (seasonal)
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$140
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
38 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.