Grand Southern (Start New York City)

Tour Length
26 days
From
US$3740
Overview Reviews

  • Dom
  • Dom
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 26 days of my life

18 Oct 2013 - 12 Nov 2013

The US has got the goods and the grand southern tour highlights all the amazing things about this country. From the big cities of NYC and Las Vegas to the quiet and natural beauty of the Grand Canyon and Durango. Experience the little kid inside in Orlando and the party loving adult in New Orleans. This was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. You see and experience so much. You make friends for life and make unforgettable memories. Book this tour today, you will not regret it.

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: crazy, unforgettable, amazing

event 0.3
  • Bryden
  • Bryden
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 15 Countries
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Grand Southern USA

23 Nov 2012 - 18 Dec 2012

The only way to see the USA. I saved thousands due to the included activities and there is just no way to know all the cool local spots they take you along with the local knowledge from your guide. A really good part was getting free entry into the most exclusive night clubs in the US.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Authentic, Fastfood, Historical

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • amy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The most incredible experience ever!

19 Oct 2012 - 13 Nov 2012

This was my first travelling experience by myself and I can honestly say it was the best decision ive made.. I saw some amazing things and visited some beautiful places in america (grand canyon wow!) and I'm already looking into my next trip to Australia! The tour manager - Tyson - was fantastic with great knowledge and insights to every place we went to.. Not only that but ive made some life long friends and treasured memories that I will never forget! Book with contiki.. an awesome company!

Review written Dec 2012

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Purdie22
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

WOW!

02 Mar 2012 - 27 Mar 2012

By far the best thing I've ever experienced! Covered all the places I've dreamt of going and partied like no tommorow! Would do it again anytime.

Highlights would definatly be the helicopter ride over the grand canyon, everyone on tour and Vegas Baby!!

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Party, Drinking, More Drinking

event 0.3
  • Bonnie85
  • Bonnie85
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start New York City)

Grand Southern

10 Feb 2012 - 06 Mar 2012

This was THE most amazing thing ive done!!! I was really worried about going solo, but i made insto friends and everyone became one big family. Our tour guide was amazeballs! She went above & beyond. The places you get to visit over a short period of time is mind blowing, especially going from sunshine in Miami across to freezing temps & snow. Highlights of the trip for me were Florida; Miami was my fav spot def do the bike ride, Universal Studios was a blast, Vegas on top of the palms roodtop dancing was insane!!! four hours of sleep for both days there ;) and Colorado; snow mobiling awesome fun could not wipe the grin off my face! America is gorgeous but nothing will beat the memories on that bus made with friends for life! Contiki is awesome :D highly recommend.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: life changing, amazing, fun

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Don't hesitate! Just book it!!

07 Oct 2011 - 01 Nov 2011

The Grand Southern has it all: from the thriving cultural metropolises of New York and Washington D.C. to the Southern charm of the Deep South, the plains of Texas to the awe-inspiring Rockies, Monument Valley and Grand Canyon; finishing with a bang in Vegas! 26 fun filled days that ended with great mates and fantastic memories!

You will be travelling with plenty of likeminded people, who all have a desire to travel. Some of whom may never have travelled alone before at all, or never with Contiki. Some will be repeat offenders that may be on their fourth or fifth trip. Quite a lot of people travel alone and share a room with someone of the same sex. There are always some couples or friends travelling together. Whatever the mix, guaranteed you will find some friends! There are always people who are out late a crawl on the bus the next morning and those who go to bed early.

There are plenty of opportunities to party on this tour. From Georgetown in D.C. to Wet Willies frozen Daiquiri’s and karaoke in Savannah- try ‘attitude improvement’ or ‘call-a-cab’; Mojito’s & booze cruise in Miami; live Jazz & Hand grenades on Bourbon Street in New Orleans- earn some beads ladies! Hurricane’s & Beale St with live Blues bands in Memphis; Gator Haters, Margaritas and Beergarita in the Southwest not to be outdone by life size footballs, guitars and giant yard glasses that can be filled with anything and taken anywhere on the strip!

There are plenty of opportunities to try different types of local cuisine from New York hot dogs at a ball game; Latin American Churrasco Steak in Miami; Mango’s Tropical Café is a must! TexMex in the South West; Blue corn fajita’s in Santa Fe; Creole cooking in New Orleans not to be out done by Southern Fried Chicken and Rendezvous Ribs in Memphis, which are fantastic!!

Optionals: Miami party (booze) cruise all you can drink for 2 hours- plus the harbour is pretty. Mango’s Tropical Café in Miami is like no other, staff dance on the bar, live Latin music, great drinks and food, great atmosphere- a must! New Orleans Airboat Swamp tour is great, see Alligators, the swaps are quite pretty. Riverboat cruise with live Jazz band and Creole cooking was a nice way to spend the evening before heading out to Bourbon St. Orlando- Universal Studios- much better than it’s Hollywood counterpart- Harry Potter World is great! Albuquerque- hot air ballooning capital of the word, enough said. Durango jeep tour was fantastic, beautiful way to see the Rockies and snow. Highly recommend: Helicopter over Grand Canyon, save your money and do the 45min flight! Fantastic views, the shorter flight goes over the same route, the longer flight does a loop- far better. V Theater in Las Vegas is a lot of fun, a good, cheap, fun show.

The accommodation in general was great and central. Never more than a few blocks walk. Amarillo, TX with their quirky salon style rooms was great. Included meals were good, with a diverse range of meals. The staff were faultless. Our Tour Manager was always bright, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable; our driver polite. The Contiki Coaches are modern and nice, they tend to run on the cold side, so buy a pillow and blanket for the bus and you’re set! Bring an iPod and earplugs for the bus on your hangover mornings when you really need to catch up on sleep- they are a saving grace! There are plenty of rest stops and opportunities to stretch your legs.

I opted to do the Grand Southern in reverse starting from New York to Los Angles for a few reasons. Firstly, chose to go in October, autumn is a beautiful time of year in America, plus as the month went on the colder it got the further South, (warmer) it was. Florida was perfect, not too hot and humid, and there was snow on the Rockies. Also I wanted to finish the tour in Las Vegas for Halloween and stay there for an extra few days; half the bus stayed in Vegas!

I would recommend doing the New York Explorer before this tour. It gives you a great overview of the city in a short time. Many people on our tour that tried to do the sights of New York by themselves did not achieve half as much in twice the amount of time.

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Fantastic fun, Unforgettable memories, Just book it!!!

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Don't hesitate! Just book it!!

07 Oct 2011 - 01 Nov 2011

The Grand Southern has it all: from the thriving cultural metropolises of New York and Washington D.C. to the Southern charm of the Deep South, the plains of Texas to the awe-inspiring Rockies, Monument Valley and Grand Canyon; finishing with a bang in Vegas! 26 fun filled days that ended with great mates and fantastic memories!

You will be travelling with plenty of likeminded people, who all have a desire to travel. Some of whom may never have travelled alone before at all, or never with Contiki. Some will be repeat offenders that may be on their fourth or fifth trip. Quite a lot of people travel alone and share a room with someone of the same sex. There are always some couples or friends travelling together. Whatever the mix, guaranteed you will find some friends! There are always people who are out late a crawl on the bus the next morning and those who go to bed early.

There are plenty of opportunities to party on this tour. From Georgetown in D.C. to Wet Willies frozen Daiquiri’s and karaoke in Savannah- try ‘attitude improvement’ or ‘call-a-cab’; Mojito’s & booze cruise in Miami; live Jazz & Hand grenades on Bourbon Street in New Orleans- earn some beads ladies! Hurricane’s & Beale St with live Blues bands in Memphis; Gator Haters, Margaritas and Beergarita in the Southwest not to be outdone by life size footballs, guitars and giant yard glasses that can be filled with anything and taken anywhere on the strip!

There are plenty of opportunities to try different types of local cuisine from New York hot dogs at a ball game; Latin American Churrasco Steak in Miami; Mango’s Tropical Café is a must! TexMex in the South West; Blue corn fajita’s in Santa Fe; Creole cooking in New Orleans not to be out done by Southern Fried Chicken and Rendezvous Ribs in Memphis, which are fantastic!!

Optionals: Miami party (booze) cruise all you can drink for 2 hours- plus the harbour is pretty. Mango’s Tropical Café in Miami is like no other, staff dance on the bar, live Latin music, great drinks and food, great atmosphere- a must! New Orleans Airboat Swamp tour is great, see Alligators, the swaps are quite pretty. Riverboat cruise with live Jazz band and Creole cooking was a nice way to spend the evening before heading out to Bourbon St. Orlando- Universal Studios- much better than it’s Hollywood counterpart- Harry Potter World is great! Albuquerque- hot air ballooning capital of the word, enough said. Durango jeep tour was fantastic, beautiful way to see the Rockies and snow. Highly recommend: Helicopter over Grand Canyon, save your money and do the 45min flight! Fantastic views, the shorter flight goes over the same route, the longer flight does a loop- far better. V Theater in Las Vegas is a lot of fun, a good, cheap, fun show.

The accommodation in general was great and central. Never more than a few blocks walk. Amarillo, TX with their quirky salon style rooms was great. Included meals were good, with a diverse range of meals. The staff were faultless. Our Tour Manager was always bright, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable; our driver polite. The Contiki Coaches are modern and nice, they tend to run on the cold side, so buy a pillow and blanket for the bus and you’re set! Bring an iPod and earplugs for the bus on your hangover mornings when you really need to catch up on sleep- they are a saving grace! There are plenty of rest stops and opportunities to stretch your legs.

I opted to do the Grand Southern in reverse starting from New York to Los Angles for a few reasons. Firstly, chose to go in October, autumn is a beautiful time of year in America, plus as the month went on the colder it got the further South, (warmer) it was. Florida was perfect, not too hot and humid, and there was snow on the Rockies. Also I wanted to finish the tour in Las Vegas for Halloween and stay there for an extra few days; half the bus stayed in Vegas!

I would recommend doing the New York Explorer before this tour. It gives you a great overview of the city in a short time. Many people on our tour that tried to do the sights of New York by themselves did not achieve half as much in twice the amount of time.

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Fantastic fun, Unforgettable memories, Just book it!!!

event 0.3
  • tahnzzz
  • tahnzzz
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I would recommend this tour to anyone!

14 Jan 2011 - 08 Feb 2011

This tour ecompases the best of the southern states of the USA. It took me to the places I have always wanted to go (Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, New York, Miami) and other places I hadn't really thought a lot about but fell in love with (New Orleans, Memphis & Savannah).
The optionals were mostly great and good value for money, the only two I wouldn't recommend would be the cooking class in new orleans (too much else to see) & the dinner cruise in New Orleans also, we were the only people on there under the age of 40 and too expensive for what it was.
All the hotels were impecible, our tour manager Camille was hilarious, approachable and full of information. She always seemed to lift the mood no matter how sick and hungover we all were! & the food was what you would expect from the USA but better!
I had the trip of a life time on this tour and would do it all over again if I could!
If you're considering booking this tour, just do it now!

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Excellent, Amazing, Fun

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

14 Jan 2011 - 08 Feb 2011

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life Changing, Best Month of my Life

event 0.3
Grand Southern (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

20 Feb 2009 - 15 Mar 2009

It was a really good trip, nice and long.. Going in the winter was really nice because it wasn't warm or really cold, just nice.. The bus was really nice, heaps of leg room at the rear of the bus but nothing from the centre forward.. Other than that it was a really good tour, the driver and the manager was really good at their jobs.. Next long USA tour will be the Grand Northern, propably around September because i want to be in NY for the 10th anniversary of 9/11..

Review written May 2010

My Contiki was: Fun, Long, Drinking

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 25 nights twin-share accommodation: 23 nights in hotels & 2 nights in a cabin
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team

Exclusive Food

  • 34 meals: 20 breakfasts & 14 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Evening Illuminations Tour
  • See the Lincoln, Jefferson, Vietnam, FDR & Korean Memorials
See More

Me Time

  • Visit the Newseum
  • Trolley Tour
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$143
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
10 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.