New York Uncovered

Tour Length
4 days
From
US$889
Overview Reviews

New York Uncovered

Great for a time budget

09 Sep 2008 - 12 Sep 2008

Pack in as much as you can into 3/4ays.

Look at the optionals and what you want to do (free time is also a good option).

Review written Mar 2013

event 0.3
  • Brian!
  • Brian!
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New York, New York!

14 Aug 2012 - 17 Aug 2012

This tour gives you great access to all the main highlights New York has! It's a quick tour that can join onto another tour on the 4th day. I stayed another few days after the tour to do some of the added extras I had purchased from my tour guide. Highlights were the NY Yankees game, Empire State building, bike ride in Central Park. And a foodies cart tour around Wall Street was awesome! The hotel we stayed at was great! Nice and modern and the breakfast was pretty good too! The tour guide was a great guy and took us out to a few night spots with drink specials. You also get a weekly train ticket which makes it really easy to get around. When in NYC on your own. It's a must!

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Epic , Crackerjacks, Awesome

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Trudi1301
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great way to end a USA tour

03 Jul 2012 - 06 Jul 2012

It was great to experience all the famous landmarks in NYC. A great way to finish off a month in the USA. The accommodation was good at the shereton brooklyn. It was very handy to be given a prepaid subway pass lasting 7days. I would recommend the statue of liberty and times square. These were both equally a stand out for me in NYC and of course being there for 4 July fireworks.

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Nightlife, Fun, 4 July

event 0.3
  • Alannasch
  • Alannasch
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A great way to see New York in a very short time!

02 Oct 2012 - 05 Oct 2012

There is so much to do and see in New York you'd need years to see it all! This tour was great because it covered off all of the major sightseeing destinations in a very short time but also with free time to explore ourselves! Our tour guide, Matt, was a NY local and he gave us heaps of great advice for places to eat, shopping, things to see and do. which was really really helpful! He also organised other stuff for us to do depending on what was happening in New York i.e. he got us Yankees tickets at a great price and we had awesome seats which was really awesome! he also recommended other events that were on in NY like Broadway shows and a Jay Z concert just around the corner from the hotel! Great value for money and a great way to experience the best New York has to offer in a short time! Loved every second of it!

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New York New York really is a wonderful town!

14 Feb 2012 - 17 Feb 2012

This Tour and this City exceeded my expectations!! I was a bit dubious to start with based on the price for 4 days but I'd say that it was well worth the money and a great first Contiki tour.
Our Tour Guide was extremely enthusiastic about everything and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The hotel was out of the bustling Times Square but not too far away that you felt away from the excitement. The food on the tour was ok but nothing to write home about.
I didn't go for many optional extras apart from the Helicopter ride and group photo - both of which I'd highly recommend. I did the TV and Movie Tour after the Contiki Tour finished and although I really enjoyed it, it tended to take us to places we'd already been on the Contiki coach tour.
The coach tour of the city on the first day was a great way to get a flavour of the place, the 9/11 Memorial was humbling, the Statue of Liberty excursion was really good (apart from the rain!!) and the Empire State Building was also great (apart from the fog!!)
I haven't been able to stop speaking about my trip yet and can't wait to book another Contiki tour! I highly recommend this tour as a great way to experience Contiki and the great city that is New York!

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Memorable, Awesome, Brilliant

event 0.3
  • Gree
  • Gree
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New York Explorer

03 Jan 2012 - 06 Jan 2012

New York Explorer was a great tour. I'd just come off a 26 day tour so it was nice to have a few extra days in this awesome city! This tour was relaxed as you weren't changing hotels every day or two. I loved this tour as I got to see all the big New York sites, but I also had quite a bit of free time to do what I wanted to.

Review written Feb 2012

event 0.3
  • Morgan
  • Morgan
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 23 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New York Explorer

14 Jun 2011 - 17 Jun 2011

This tour is a short and sweet way to see all the iconic images of New York, New York. Times Square, the Statue of Liberty, the Empire State Building, the new World Trade Centers, Central Park, Wall Street, you name it and you'll probably see it. It is really fast but with enough spare time that you can catch a Broadway show or go out on the town. Definately a tour to choose if you want to see a lot in a short timeframe.

Review written Nov 2011

My Contiki was: Energetic, Intense, Non-stop

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New York York

03 May 2011 - 06 May 2011

Had the best time I love New York!!!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: awesome, exciting, fun!!

event 0.3
  • Ashlee
  • Ashlee
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
New York Uncovered

Tour Review

17 May 2011 - 20 May 2011

This tour was a little under whelming and not what I had in mind after spending almost two weeks on the West coast doing LA to the Bay and having the time of my life. The tour itself had optiomals that constantly clashed, and the organization of the tour guide left a lot to be desired. The concept of this tour is amazing, but I think that Contiki needs to do something to make it more inclusive, because at the moment there is no way I would be recommending this tour to anyone. It may have simply been the tour guide we were given, and I hope this is the case because as I said, it was a disappointment as Contiki are normally awesome.

Review written May 2011

My Contiki was: Underwhelming, Average, Unorganized

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Taking a bite out of the Big Apple

01 Sep 2009 - 04 Sep 2009

The only complaint I have it that there's so much to see in NYC and so little time to see it all in only 4 days! lol. There are enough optional activities to allow for group fun, but also enough free time for the more independent travellers.

Review written Mar 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Independent, Quirky

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 3 nights twin-share accommodation
  • 7 day travel pass
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager

Exclusive Food

  • 3 meals: 2 breakfasts & 1 dinner

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See Wall Street and the NYSE
  • See Harlem's Apollo Theatre
See More

Me Time

  • Group Photo
  • Helicopter - Big Apple
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$222
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
10 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.