New York Uncovered

Tour Length
4 days
From
US$584
Overview Reviews

  • Briana
  • Briana
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New York, New York, It's A Hell of a Town

16 Aug 2016 - 19 Aug 2016

New York is an absolute crazy awesome place and I wish I could have spent more time there for sure! But luckily on the New York Uncovered tour you get to see a whole bunch of awesome things with lots of included activities, heaps of optionals and plenty of free time.

I had just finished the Grand Southern tour so this was perfect timing to start some NY exploring. We were taken on a city tour and were shown around some cool spots and were taken up the Empire State Building at night which was amazing to see the city from up high glowing down below in the dark - especially Times Square! We also went out to see the Statue of Liberty and learn how she was built which was really interesting.

I did most of the optionals and they were all great. The helicopter ride is pricey but it was an amazing way to see the city and the surrounding areas. The food cart tour is really cool as you get to experience lots of other cultures cuisines (so not just typical hotdogs and pretzels) and going up the One World Trade Centre Tour had the best views of the city by far. It also was amazing to see the city come back and rebuild itself with this amazing building and beautiful memorial down below. The TV and Movie tour was also good and our guide was great, but if you're not really into that stuff then your Contiki guide will point out enough on the city tour to get you by.

There is heaps of free time to explore as well. I was lucky enough to be able to see my favourite band Blink-182 play on our free night which was so amazing. So look out for gigs or sports events around the time you go as it definitely adds to the fun. I also spent the day roaming around parts of the city either walking or using the subway (which was quite daunting at first but gets much easier as you go - and Google Maps will tell you where to walk and which train to get on so you'll be fine!) I had lunch at an Italian market area called Eataly in Chelsea which would have been one of the best meals I had in my time in America. I also checked out the HBO and NBC stores (unfortunately I was there when the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon wasnt filming but that would have been cool to see). Another place that lots of people recommended when we were there was the Highline. It's an historic freight railway line up above and in between the buildings that has been converted into a walkway and park. I thought I wouldnt have time to go but the amount of people that told me about it meant it must of been cool so I'm really glad I took the time to take a look around and walk on part of the area.

And also - definitely DEFINITELY see a Broadway show. I know it's obvious but I almost didn't think I'd have time, but just drop something and make it work because I'm so glad I did! I saw Aladdin and it was spectacular and brought tears to my eyes (bias cause fave Disney movie) but heard lots of other people have great times at other Broadway shows. There are booths and apps and websites that will let you know what's running and will also give you discounts etc.

Our guide Dan was also super great, he's from the area and would tell us heaps of stories and info/history about the city and would join us on quite a lot of the included or optional activities too.

I would definitely loved to have spent more time there as there is so much to see in New York City, but on the NY Uncovered tour you see heaps so it's definitely a good way to start or end a trip after doing something like the Grand Southern.

Review written Sep 2016

My Contiki was: Amazing, So Much to See, Fun

event 0.3
  • Mitchell
  • Mitchell
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 1 Country
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Easy & cheap way to see New York

23 Jun 2015 - 26 Jun 2015

Easy way to see the city that never sleeps!
So many inclusions & the optionals are worth it as well.
The tour manager (Stephanie) went out her way to organise baseball tickets for us which was awesome!!

Review written Jul 2015

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • RayChild
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
New York Uncovered

Best Way to See New York

20 Jan 2015 - 23 Jan 2015

I think for the young traveller who has never travelled alone/without parents. The tour was well structured with a good mix of organised and free time. Our tour manager Matt was excellent. He has a huge knowledge and interest of New York which I really appreciated and helped me to also become really interested. He also had an awesome sense of humor. Absolutely fantastic. Couldn't have thought of a better way to see New York for the first time. Thanks so much!
Rachel

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: Inspiring, Informative, Perfect

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great for a time budget

09 Sep 2008 - 12 Sep 2008

Pack in as much as you can into 3/4ays.

Look at the optionals and what you want to do (free time is also a good option).

Review written Mar 2013

event 0.3
  • Brian!
  • Brian!
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New York, New York!

14 Aug 2012 - 17 Aug 2012

This tour gives you great access to all the main highlights New York has! It's a quick tour that can join onto another tour on the 4th day. I stayed another few days after the tour to do some of the added extras I had purchased from my tour guide. Highlights were the NY Yankees game, Empire State building, bike ride in Central Park. And a foodies cart tour around Wall Street was awesome! The hotel we stayed at was great! Nice and modern and the breakfast was pretty good too! The tour guide was a great guy and took us out to a few night spots with drink specials. You also get a weekly train ticket which makes it really easy to get around. When in NYC on your own. It's a must!

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Epic , Crackerjacks, Awesome

event 0.3
  • Alannasch
  • Alannasch
  • Level 14 Traveler
  • 14 Contikis
  • 18 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A great way to see New York in a very short time!

02 Oct 2012 - 05 Oct 2012

There is so much to do and see in New York you'd need years to see it all! This tour was great because it covered off all of the major sightseeing destinations in a very short time but also with free time to explore ourselves! Our tour guide, Matt, was a NY local and he gave us heaps of great advice for places to eat, shopping, things to see and do. which was really really helpful! He also organised other stuff for us to do depending on what was happening in New York i.e. he got us Yankees tickets at a great price and we had awesome seats which was really awesome! he also recommended other events that were on in NY like Broadway shows and a Jay Z concert just around the corner from the hotel! Great value for money and a great way to experience the best New York has to offer in a short time! Loved every second of it!

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New York New York really is a wonderful town!

14 Feb 2012 - 17 Feb 2012

This Tour and this City exceeded my expectations!! I was a bit dubious to start with based on the price for 4 days but I'd say that it was well worth the money and a great first Contiki tour.
Our Tour Guide was extremely enthusiastic about everything and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The hotel was out of the bustling Times Square but not too far away that you felt away from the excitement. The food on the tour was ok but nothing to write home about.
I didn't go for many optional extras apart from the Helicopter ride and group photo - both of which I'd highly recommend. I did the TV and Movie Tour after the Contiki Tour finished and although I really enjoyed it, it tended to take us to places we'd already been on the Contiki coach tour.
The coach tour of the city on the first day was a great way to get a flavour of the place, the 9/11 Memorial was humbling, the Statue of Liberty excursion was really good (apart from the rain!!) and the Empire State Building was also great (apart from the fog!!)
I haven't been able to stop speaking about my trip yet and can't wait to book another Contiki tour! I highly recommend this tour as a great way to experience Contiki and the great city that is New York!

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Memorable, Awesome, Brilliant

event 0.3
  • Gree
  • Gree
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

New York Explorer

03 Jan 2012 - 06 Jan 2012

New York Explorer was a great tour. I'd just come off a 26 day tour so it was nice to have a few extra days in this awesome city! This tour was relaxed as you weren't changing hotels every day or two. I loved this tour as I got to see all the big New York sites, but I also had quite a bit of free time to do what I wanted to.

Review written Feb 2012

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New York York

03 May 2011 - 06 May 2011

Had the best time I love New York!!!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: awesome, exciting, fun!!

event 0.3
  • Ashlee
  • Ashlee
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
New York Uncovered

Tour Review

17 May 2011 - 20 May 2011

This tour was a little under whelming and not what I had in mind after spending almost two weeks on the West coast doing LA to the Bay and having the time of my life. The tour itself had optiomals that constantly clashed, and the organization of the tour guide left a lot to be desired. The concept of this tour is amazing, but I think that Contiki needs to do something to make it more inclusive, because at the moment there is no way I would be recommending this tour to anyone. It may have simply been the tour guide we were given, and I hope this is the case because as I said, it was a disappointment as Contiki are normally awesome.

Review written May 2011

My Contiki was: Underwhelming, Average, Unorganized

event 0.3
New York Uncovered
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Taking a bite out of the Big Apple

01 Sep 2009 - 04 Sep 2009

The only complaint I have it that there's so much to see in NYC and so little time to see it all in only 4 days! lol. There are enough optional activities to allow for group fun, but also enough free time for the more independent travellers.

Review written Mar 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Independent, Quirky

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 3 nights accommodation: 3 nights in twin-share hotels
  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager

Food

  • 4 meals: 3 breakfasts & 1 dinner

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
See More

Me Time

See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$146
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
11 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.