Mexico Grande

Tour Length
13 days
From
n/a
Overview Reviews

Mexico Grande
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

The mexico way

12 Jan 2013 - 24 Jan 2013

Awesome tour, so much fun. We saw a lot during the day and partied through the night. Mexico is a great place to party because its so cheap too! The beaches are beautiful and the food was amazing got to try lots of local places. Highlights were definitely aculpulco( the hotel has the best view and pool) and Cancun. Cancun was crazy, the clubs go off and I went in the low season. Was a bit nervous about going to Mexico because of the drug war problems but didn't feel unsafe at all. Our tour guide was great. Definitely recomend.

Review written Jan 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Tarryn20
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Mexico Grande
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Mexico Grande!!

30 Jun 2012 - 12 Jul 2012

This trip was my first contiki, and definitely set a high standard! I had a great group of people to travel with which made the holiday much better. Mexico was an vibrant and exciting country and there were so many different sights to see. Alcapulco and Cancun were great for relaxing on the beach and the beautiful carrabiean water was hard to leave. Taxco and Morelia were lovely old towns to explore and climbing the pyramid of the sun was something i can talk about for many years to come. I would reccomend the full Mexico Grande tour to anybody, because you will want to see both sides of Mexico, not just one!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Explore, Exciting, Vibrancy

event 0.3
  • Connie
  • Connie
  • Level 7 Traveler
  • 7 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Mexico Grande
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Grande Good Times

03 Mar 2012 - 15 Mar 2012

I just did Mexico Grande in March 2012 and totally recommend it. It was a terrific balance of culture, partying, relaxing and (of course) beach time! I chose this tour because being stranded at an all-inclusive didn't appeal to me: i wanted to see more than just baste on a beach at a resort in Mexico. Mexico is pretty safe, yes there's news about bad things happening to tourists, but its no different than at home: if you look for trouble, it shall find you! I was safe, everyone on the tour was safe and no one got food poisoning! Mexicans are super nice, everything is super cheap ($1USD for a can of Margarita) and the weather is fantastic! The hotels were good too and in great locations: Holiday Inns in Acapulco & Ixtapa and a quaint monastery-turned-hotel in Taxco. And the food on this tour was some of the best I've ever had (goat tacos on the side of the highway stole the show!!)

Although operating in Mexico, the tour was just like other Contiki's - great tour manager, night life (five nights of clubbing), activities (optionals are only a few since activities are included: beach sports, horseback riding in Ixtapa, a night of Lucha Libre in Mexico City and an eco-park in Cancun) and free time to shop, tan etc. Mexico is one of those places where its difficult to get around and see everything so joining a tour is the best way to see Pyramids (Teotihuacan, Chichen Itza), sites (a Cenote, a carriage ride through colonial Merida, the cobblestone roads of Taxco) and beaches (Zihuatanejo, Playa del Carmen). If you have time, add on a few days in Cancun to really relax and take in the night life: its a crazy place! Consider a hotel closer to the night life with a real beach (the Contiki hotel is on the bus route but there's better beaches elsewhere). Our TM arranged for entry to Dady'O and Coco Bongo tickets: not to be missed in Cancun!

I'm so glad i did this tour: Mexico is a great mix of old colonial, modern metropolis and beach bummin' good times. Happy travels!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Food, Partying, Beach

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • e-mac
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Mexico Grande
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Viva Mexico

15 Jan 2011 - 27 Jan 2011

Mexico isn't what you see in the movies. It is so much more spectacular. It isn't a bare landscape with cactus and dirt, it's a vibrant country with so much to show. From the white sand beachside to the towns in the hills, mexico has so much to discover. The history is so rich and misunderstood, the real Mexican people can tell you what it all means -- its not all about the end of the world and human sacrifice.
Mexicans sure know how to party and their idea of fun will agree with all. The food is a must, and a taco is not what we call a taco. Do yourself a favour and let yourself live a little, visit Mexico. You will be speechless, and never want to leave.

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Interesting, Crazy fun, Unforgetable

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Walking tour of the colonial city of Morelia
  • Visit the Mercado de Dulces y Artesanías (Sweets & Handicrafts Market)
See More

Me Time

  • ATVs
  • Dolphin Encounter
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is n/a
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.