Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2069
Overview Reviews

  • Todd
  • Todd
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Contiki You've done it again!!

08 Jun 2015 - 20 Jun 2015

I am officially obsessed with Contiki! I was so nervous about doing another Contiki as my first one was just unbelievable & i thought nothing could possible top it. But i went in with an open mind & told myself it is a complete different experience & just take it as it comes and that i did.

The tour its self was so much fun and definitely value for money, the accommodation was great! I was so blown away after doing the hostel style tour in Europe. The rooms & beds were amazing and you were always in the centre of the towns.
The sites the towns where do i start, they were all so cool & so much fun, biggest highlight would of been the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon. This is a must DO! and do the more expensive one worth every penny. All the optionals are great, bedsides the white water rafting in Durango, it was more like cruising down the river in a blow up boat id recommend doing the horse riding or just exploring the town. All the included & paid meals were great! The coach was super comfy & the drives weren't too long & Rachel would put on a movie that would relate to our next stop so that was a good way to past time if you weren't catching up on sleep.
What really makes Contiki are the people & the tour manager, the bus was full of different personalities but i loved them all! Once again i gained a bunch of new friends & even some new best friends. Rachel was our tour manager and i really don't think there is a word to describe her! She is honestly one of the most AMAZING humans i have ever come across, she is unbelievably awesome at her job. Everything was so organized and she ran the the tour so smoothly & any unexpected hiccups she was straight on to it, but at the same time she was able to be a great friend to us all, she knew how to get us all together and have a good time. I definitely think she was everyones favourite person.
**PLEASE READ BEFORE BOOKING** Sadly i had 1 #Regret & before i even started the trip i knew it would be a regret. Anyone looking to book this trip it is a split trip, its a mix of 3 tours, so there is the Grand Southern which starts in LA & finishes in New York, the Southern Adventure which is the this tour which goes from LA to New Orleans & the Eastern Discovery which starts in New Orleans & finishes in New York. When you start the tour it is a mix of The S.A tour & the G.S, In New Orleans the S.A tour sadly says goodbye & the new E.D people join the tour. This is the hardest thing to do & sucks & you will definitely regret not choosing to do the Grand Southern. I had already booked part of my trip & chose to throw in a short Contiki before the rest of the trip. So i knew i'd prob regret it & if i had nothing booked after i would of 100% paid to continue. So before booking try save up any $$ you can and try do the Grand, either way you'll have a blast but that is my biggest recommendation.
Check out my Instagram - "" toddy "" for pics of the trip =D

Review written Aug 2015

My Contiki was: CRAZY FUN, BLOWN AWAY, PURE HAPPINESS

event 0.3
  • Ashlea
  • Ashlea
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The best way to explore the United States

20 Nov 2014 - 02 Dec 2014

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: amazing, memorable, full of adventure

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Anushka
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)

Discovering the deep South and finding adventures in unknown back country.

14 Aug 2014 - 26 Aug 2014

This trip is ideal for those seeking a great mix of history, adventure, exciting back country authenticity and seeing the beautiful South. Loved the pace, friends and great food along the way!!!

Review written Aug 2014

event 0.3
  • Carla
  • Carla
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The best 13 days of my life

06 May 2014 - 18 May 2014

As the title says, this trip was absolutely amazing. Before I continue writing about the trip, I highly recommend you do the Grand Southern which continues on after the Southern Adventure. You begin to make these close friendships and you really don't want to leave once those 13 days are up, while majority of the others continue travelling.

Firstly the tours were a lot of fun. I ended up spending around $500 on my optional extras but it was so worth it. From rafting in the hail in Durango, to touring around one of the biggest NFL stadiums in Dallas, to seeing the Grand Canyon via a helicopter, to watching an amazing Circus De Soleil show in Vegas and if only we got to go Hot Air ballooning in Albuquerque but unfortunately it was too windy. There are loads of extras that everyone will enjoy. Even the included activities are fun like going down the Vegas strip in a Hummer or seeing Elvis place in Gracelands.

Our Tour guide Lee was awesome. Even though he was Australian he had a very good knowledge of every single place that we went. Kevin our bus driver was also full of energy and was a joy to travel with. As you have probably read from other peoples reviews, there are long bus rides. You are normally driving from 8am and not arriving at your next destination until 4, 5 sometimes 6pm. There are constant stops and sometimes we would stop in towns to check them out for an hour or two e.g. Santa Fe. The bus rides are known for sleeping as you are most likely going to be partying every night. My recommendation is to buy a pillow when you stop at Walmart! They also give you sheets of information for every single stop with ideas on where to go and what to see which was perfect. I would have loved for there to be more games played on the bus.. but hey majority of the time everyone was asleep from the big nights.

The accommodation on this tour was actually really good. Nearly all of the hotels had wifi and laundry facilities and if not, there was always wifi at a Starbucks or McDonalds close by. I don't think I heard any complaints about the accommodation actually. 90% of the restaurants that were included were great. If anyone from Contiki is reading this, get rid of the italian restaurant in Vegas. The food was horrible and we found some not nice things in our food.

If not all, you will definitely find some of your fellow Contiki travellers to be friends for life. Even though majority of the people on my tour were Australians, I still met a lot of people from around the world. Everyone was lovely.

I highly recommend this tour BUT I would even more recommend doing the full Grand Southern Adventure!!

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Memorable , Adventurous , Fun

event 0.3
  • kellym777
  • kellym777
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!

05 Sep 2013 - 17 Sep 2013

I loved every minute of this tour, great locations and the places you stay are quite central and close to everything. my only regret is not doing the grand southern tour and getting to continue on for the full 26 days with all my awesome new friends. would recommend this tour to anyone

Review written Oct 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • DLopes
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Southern Adventure (8/2/12-8/14/12)

02 Aug 2012 - 14 Aug 2012

Best trip I've ever taken. I met tons of cool people from other countries and had a great time at all the stops. This was my first Contiki trip and I was travelling alone, but I had the greatest time. I wish I had more vacation time so I could've continued on and done the Grand Southern tour (the Southern Adventure is the first half of the Grand Southern tour). A great experience all around...I'm dying to book another Contiki trip for next year!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Friends, Fun, Partying

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Dan99
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Southern Adventure (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Southern Adventure (Start LA)

21 Jun 2012 - 03 Jul 2012

Great tour for my first US trip as a solo traveller. Started towards end of June in the heat wave. Also on a full bus of mostly Aussies. Long bus rides but good for talking, chilling out or sleeping. The tour starts off with a bang heading to Vegas for a couple of the most memorable nights of your life. Grand Canyon experience was also great and a good contrast immediately after Vegas (I did the heli flight, bike ride and managed to squeeze in a short hike). Durango (adjacent to rockies) was probably the best extended lunch stop on tour (picturesque and plenty of action with optionals). Santa Fe was another beautiful town for an extended lunch stop. Great nightlife throughout thanks to our tour guide. Only downside was leaving the tour in New Orleans (only 4 out of 54 ended here) - as I'm writing this review, my tour group will be in Washington on the tail end of the Grand Southern and I have been missing them heaps. If you can, do the Grand Southern, especially if you're a solo traveller because you will simply not want to end your experience halfway through!

Review written Jul 2012

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 15 meals: 8 breakfasts & 7 dinners

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • See the famous Joshua Trees
  • Visit Fremont Street & see the light-and-laser show
See More

Me Time

  • Group Photo
  • Cirque du’ Soleil show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$159
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
7 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.