Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2235
Overview Reviews

Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Incredible trip! Great people, experiences and alot of good times

12 Nov 2015 - 24 Nov 2015

I went on the Southern Adventure in November 2015 as I'd always wanted to travel in the States and this trip allowed me to do that in a couple of weeks whilst still having a full time job at home, it allowed me to travel with people as I went on my own, and Contiki organise everything on the trip which takes a lot of hassle out of it all. I joined up halfway through the Grand Southern Trip so some people had been there for a couple of weeks already and about 15 of us joined and did the two weeks. I'm from the UK and although the trip was about 80% Aussies our group was completely mixed nationality, gender and age wise and everyone got on really well. You'll have some couples, some friends, some people travelling on their own, and everyone was really liked minded so we all got on really well. If you want to go out every night and drink the night away then there is definitely the opportunity to do so but if you want a quiet one then there was never any pressure at all.

In regards to accommodation our hotels were standard but all good quality and the location of the Vegas hotel especially is great. I'm not too much of a foodie but you'll really get a chance to try a lot of the local specialities, be prepared for a lot of carbs and not much veg! Chicken fried steak with a cream sauce was definitely a highlight example of how American's take things to the next level.

In regards to optionals I had the mindset of 'while I'm out there I want to do as much as I can', so in two weeks managed to: go on a helicopter ride over the grand canyon; feel like a rockstar with a champagne limo ride down the Vegas strip; go to Elvis' house (which was a big surprise but a great experience); listen to some of the best blues music I've probably every heard live in Memphis; go in a morning hot air balloon ride followed by some bubbly in Durango; see the aligators in the swamp in New Orleans; and of course visit where good ol' Forest Gump finished his run in Monument Valley. And I could go on...

This trip was my first Contiki and having read all the reviews I hoped it would be good but genuinely the trip massively surpassed all my expectations. Our tour manager Braden and coach driver Marquis did everything to make the trip as good as possible constantly getting involved and it really felt like we were all one big Contiki family rather than 'us' and 'them' and I can't talk positively enough. They both always went the extra mile and were so knowledgable about everything.

If you're considering doing a Contiki it's definitely worth it, you'll see so much and meet so many great people in such a short period of time you won't regret it. The whole experience inspired me to travel more and I having enjoyed this one so much I'll be doing another Contiki or two along the way.

Review written Mar 2016

My Contiki was: Fun, Breathtaking, Incredible

event 0.3
  • Andy
  • Andy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!!

29 Oct 2015 - 10 Nov 2015

My Southern Adventure was amazing! Everyone on the trip was awesome, and the driver and trip leader were one of the best tour teams iv traveled with! definitely recommend this tour as a way to see the southwest in a short time frame! Highlights are 45 min Helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon, all of Memphis, and without a doubt New Orleans was one hell of a way to start the trip! My only regret was not starting in New York and doing the eastern part too! Already looking at the northern version!

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unforgettable , Incredible

event 0.3
  • alix
  • alix
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Walking in Memphis

18 Dec 2014 - 30 Dec 2014

This was my first tour and honestly the most fun two weeks of my life. Traveling with contiki is the best way to see the USA. I DEFINITELY recommend!

There was a group of about 15 of us who were on this tour, joining the Grand Southern tour halfway through, so we immediately clicked with those people and eventually become great friends with many of the others. For this reason I would recommend starting from LA so that you begin the tour at the very start but as long as you make the effort to know everyone then it doesn't really matter. The group was primarily Aussies in their 20s. Top people!

The accommodation is all fantastic and very central, we only had to get taxis in Vegas. Our tour manager James was awesome too, extremely knowledgable, helpful and fun. You will learn so much about American history on this tour. Also, the long drives are no problem at all as you have incredible scenery, great tunes and new friends with you on the bus.

The highlight was definitely the Memphis nightlife on Beale Street, and in terms of scenery hot air ballooning on Christmas morning over Albuquerque and driving to Monument Valley. The nightlife is primarily small bars, taken over by a group of 50 contiki travellers which is alot of fun.

I want to do this tour again!

Review written Apr 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, History, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • mzmandy
  • mzmandy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

most amazing adventure you will ever experience in your life

25 Aug 2014 - 06 Sep 2014

wow! where do i start! if you haven't done a contiki, DO IT!! Most amazing experience ever! Amazing tour guide (bushy) made this tour fantastic! The people on the tour will come from far and wide.. By the end of the tour you won't want to leave your contiki family....Everyone gets along very well because u have at least one thing in common, TRAVEL!

When i started this tour i had started half way through...so i started New Orleans...The tour had already been undergoing for 2 weeks so people had already gotten to know one another ....after what i thought would b hard to get to know everyone, 5 mins after arriving i knew this wasn't the case!

We explored New Orleans all together before having a costume party that evening to get to know people better! best idea ever!

.......................................................................................

i will get back to this review, as I'm to excited and had to check out the tours avail for 2015!

:)

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: #noregrets, onceinalifetime, amazing

event 0.3
  • James
  • James
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Southern Adventure(Start New Orleans)

31 Oct 2013 - 12 Nov 2013

Had the best time and made long life friends. Great driver and tour manager. Already planning my next , highly recommend

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Fun, Party, Friends

event 0.3
Southern Adventure (Start New Orleans)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

03 Mar 2011 - 15 Mar 2011

I had an absolutely fantastic time on my Southern Adventure... My tour manager Kelly was amazing, she went above and beyond what I would expect from a tour manager. I saw some fantastic things, like aligators, graceland, sun studios and amazing landscapes.

I would highly recommend this tour to people who like, music, culture and history, as well as having a good time... this tour really had it all.

Review written Apr 2011

My Contiki was: adventure, culture, friends

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights accommodation: 10 nights in twin-share hotels, 2 nights in twin-share lodge
  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 16 meals: 9 breakfasts & 7 dinners

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • See the French Quarter, Jackson Square & the French Market
  • See the Garden District Mansions
See More

Me Time

  • Airboat Swamp Tour
  • Taste of New Orleans
  • Rock & Soul Museum
  • Visit the legendary Sun Studios
  • Dallas Haunt
  • Cowboy Stadium Tour (including transportation)
  • Group Photo
  • Rafting (seasonal)
  • Snowmobiles - Single or Double Rider (seasonal)
  • Horse Back Trail Ride (Seasonal)
  • Grand Canyon Biking (seasonal)
  • Helicopter Flight - Imperial
  • Helicopter Flight - North Canyon
  • Cirque du’ Soleil show
  • High Roller Day Pass 11:30 - 18:00
  • High Roller Anytime
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$171
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
6 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.