Western Highlights

Tour Length
8 days
From
US$1175
Overview Reviews

  • Natebass
  • Natebass
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Western Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

SICK SICK AND TOALLY SICK!!! SO ROWDY AND SUCH AN EPIC ADVENTURE

12 Jun 2013 - 19 Jun 2013

Such an intense crazy and wild experience.

If you are not a party person this is not your kind of tour. You will just be a party pooper and a total down buzz for everyone else.

I had a great bunch of people who all got along with each other. No douche bags causing trouble. It was easy to get along with everyone even tho I was the only Kiwi with a bunch of Aussies on board lol. I have made so many friends and I still keep in touch on facebook.

Every night besides the nights at the Grand Canyon was a party night. Everyone got together to start the nights with drinking games and for good banter.
Every morning we all had great stories about the the ruthless nights we had.

Activities were great fun. No activity we did was bad or boring.

Our Tour manager Ryan Fockler was great. He made things easy. He was well organised. He really knew his stuff. He taught me a lot about western side of America. He wasn't boring and he was extremely helpful.

Bus driver Adrian was the man. He always got us to our destinations safely and always got us to or destinations early. He was great to party with too.

Overall this tour was a trip of a life time.
Recommend to everyone who loves to party.

Review written Mar 2014

My Contiki was: Epic, Parties, Rowdy

event 0.3
  • tracysyd
  • tracysyd
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Western Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

7 Amazing Days!

24 Apr 2013 - 01 May 2013

This tour far exceeded my expectations. It was 7 jam packed days of sightseeing and partying. I was absolutely exhausted at the end but I had such an amazing time and made such good friends.
I genuinely couldn't find any low lights of the trip. People will always find something negative to say and I'm sure not everyone will have had the entirely positive experience that I did, but I truly believe if you go into the tour wanting to have a good time and are open to all experiences you will not be disappointed.
The highlights for me were definitely the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon (or the Grand Canyon in general!), speed boat tours in San Diego, jeep tours through Sedona, every night out we had and just generally meeting such an amazing group of people.
The schedule is designed to fit a lot into a fairly small amount of time. When you consider how far apart Vegas is from LA, you have a lot of ground to cover which means you do spend a bit of time on the bus so you have plenty of time to catch up on sleep.
In almost every destination there are optional activities. I was not originally planning to do many of the activities but ended up doing most of them. In San Diego they have changed the harbour cruise (which people found boring) to a speed boat tour which is basically little 2 person boats which you get to drive yourselves and race around the harbour. I was reluctant at first but it was probably one of the best things I did. Try as we did, you can't flp these things but you can definitely race each other, not to mention its a great way to see San Diego a little differently. If you don't go on the boats you are taken to a shopping mall which isn't the most exciting way to spend 4 hours so definitely consider it! On the second day in San Diego you can do Sea World or the zoo. Contrary to other reports, you can definitely do both. If you do one you get dropped off and picked up at each destination, if you want to do both you just have to get yourself between the two, but it is definitely possible. In the afternoon you head to Mission Beach and you can do a surfing lesson (probably only a summer option though!)
In Phoenix, Arizona you pretty much only spend the night although it definitely has some memorable and enjoyable night life and the weather is beautiful about 90% of the time. On the morning you leave you have the option to do a hot air balloon ride. I didn't do this one but everyone seemed to enjoy it, although a few found it a bit slow. You head out very early as you are supposed to be up there for sunrise, so the views are undoubtably amazing. From Phoenix you head to Sedona which is set amongst these amazing red rock cliffs. Although the scenery is amazing from the bus and walking around, I definitely recommend the jeep tours which are run by (for want of a better word) cowboys who are absolutely hilarious. They weave you through this amazing scenery and you see things you just don't from the road.
From Sedona you head to the Grand Canyon. When you arrive at its quite late in the evening so you get just a quick look at the canyon which is enough at first for you to appreciate the magnitude of where you are. The next day you have the whole day to explore the canyon. Unless you have great plans to hike all day or you are afraid of heights, definitely consider the helicopter tours - especially the 45 minute one. It's quite expensive ($260 from memory) but completely worth it. You get the see the scenery in a way you can't even imagine by land and it is completely breathtaking. The other option is 25 minutes, but considering you have about a 5 minute trip each way over the forest to get to the canyon, its really worth while paying the extra $70 for the extra time. In the afternoon you have the option of doing bike tours, which I didn't do but I'm told were also very enjoyable. As I say, if you don't plan to spend the whole day hiking its great to have another activity to do during the day. That evening, if you have awesome tour manager like we did, they might take you somewhere to watch the sunset. The accommodation here are these tiny little cabins right on the south rim of the canyon so you literally only have to walk about 3 minutes to get to edge of the canyon but fair warning, especially in spring/summer, its very hot during the day and absolutely freezing during the night so pack accordingly. It is also high altitude and very dry which can play havoc with your breathing a bit.
From the Grand Canyon you head to Vegas via Route 66. This tour combines with a few others. The Wild Western, LA to the Bay and you are joined in Vegas but people doing the California Highlights, but whether it's your last nights on tour or not, the partying in Vegas is epic. We stayed at Harrah's right on the strip, so you are central to everything. It's in Vegas where you also do your surprise. I won't mention what it is but it is amazing and so much fun, especially as a group so for $10, just do it. There's no way you can't have fun. On both nights in Vegas you head out to two different clubs (not sure if they vary depending on your tour manager) but be prepared for a considerable increase in the cost of your alcohol. Good news for girls, everyone pays $10 to cover entry for both nights, guys sometimes have to pay extra and we usually get a couple of free drinks! Depending on your stamina these nights can finish very early the next morning. You have one whole day to yourself in Vegas but definitely don't waste it sleeping! There is shopping, amusement parks, crazy attractions like an indoor gondola ride and of course gambling. If you do this tour this is your last night in Vegas so you spend it at another awesome club. A lot of people carrying on with other tours choose not to go to bed.
As exhausted as I was by this point, I was definitely sad to be leaving all my new friends but for me this tour was the perfect amount of time.
Just some general tips about the tour, try everything! Obviously everyone has different budgets but definitely do as much as you can. The best way to get to know people and really see the sights are to get out there and do the optional activities. I genuinely didn't regret any of them. Also, as dorky as this will sound, go into the tour wanting to have a good time. Contiki run a pretty smooth tour but not everything will go according to plan. Just roll with it and don't be the person who complains about everything and I'm sure you will have amazing time. If you have an amazing tour manager like we did, definitely tip them well. It might seem like an easy job, visiting these places and going out with you but when you don't see them they are busy organising everything to make sure it runs smoothly so it's definitely not a week long party for them.
This was probably one of the best weeks of my life and I would recommend this tour to anyone. The places you visit, the optional extras, the accommodations, included meals - can't fault any of it!

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
Western Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A unique experience!

03 Oct 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

Hotel Accommodations: I wasn’t really concerned with the hotel accommodations. All the places we stayed were nice, comfortable and clean which is all I need.

Transportation: The transportation on the coach was fine, because you got to sit back and look at the pretty views of the cities you are passing through. However, I would say that too much time was spent driving and not enough time was spent seeing the actual cities.

What I did: I tried to do everything I possibly could do on the tour and tried to have some sightseeing time for myself. It says on the brochure that we would have to stop at Balboa Park in San Diego and Route 66. However when we went to these places we were only allowed 20 minutes to view these places. I don’t know how our Tour Manger Ryan expected us to get the full experience after viewing a place for 20 minutes. We didn’t get to see anything, because we were too busy trying to use the restrooms before getting back on the bus. Also there was too much shopping on the tour, I booked this tour to see the country and the sights and sounds of the cities I was visiting. There are shopping malls and stores in every city, why do I need to constantly shop when I can do this at home?

Optional Activities: I have mixed feelings about the optional activities that were available to us. In San Diego, on day 2 we had to option of going to either Sea World or the San Diego Zoo. A lot of people on my tour wanted to do both and we weren’t able to. So I would suggest that the tour have Sea World on one day and the Zoo another day, so people can do both if they choose to. I also did the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon which was amazing. I also signed up for the Grand Canyon Biking, which ended up being a disaster. The bikes were too big for me and the people didn’t’ seem to understand why I was asking for a smaller bike and therefore, I couldn’t do the optional and wasted my money. I was going to ask my tour guide for help, but he was nowhere to be found. Our tour also had a Surprise Optional that our tour manager signed us up for. It turned out that it was a fake wedding in Vegas involving two people on the tour that I didn’t know or care for. A group surprise is supposed to involve everyone on the tour, not two people with everyone else as bystanders!

Crew: I had no problem with our bus driver Richard. Richard was nice guy and he got me from point A to point B without being harmed. I had a big problem with our tour manager Ryan. First of all, he didn’t do the tour introductions until day 3 and 4 of the trip, which should have been done on the first day to break the ice. Also, Ryan left several people that were a couple of minutes late to the optional activities even though he was late quite a few times himself. Also, if he had a crush on you or you were one of his favorites, he would go out of his way to help you pack and go around on the coach with everyone waiting to find you. Once we go to Vegas and Ryan got his tips, he stopped caring about doing his job.
Lastly, if you are doing your review of your tour for Ryan, he doesn’t give you time to think about what you want to want to say, he wants them back in an hour even though your tour isn’t over. Ryan also said that if you wrote something negative about him and the tour, we would have to explain to him then and there why we wrote what we did on the review.

I may do another Contiki tour in future, but I will make sure that Ryan Fockler is not my tour manager.

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • MikeG23
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Western Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great!!

22 Aug 2012 - 29 Aug 2012

Had an amazing time would definitely reccommend

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 7 nights accommodation: 5 nights in twin-share hotels & 2 nights in a twin-share cabin
  • 8 meals: 5 breakfasts & 3 dinners
  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Drive through the O.C. & along the scenic Pacific Coast
  • See downtown San Diego, the Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, Coronado Island & Old Town San Diego
See More

Me Time

  • Speedboat Adventure
  • San Diego Zoo
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$146
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.