Eastern Escapade

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2315
Overview Reviews

  • Tim
  • Tim
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Introduction to Contiki Ever

01 Aug 2014 - 13 Aug 2014

This tour was my very first Contiki, and it met and surpassed every expectation, we had such a great time, and such a great group, everything was awesome, there was literally nothing to fault during the entire trip, Every city was amazing, DC, Montreal and Philadelphia being my favourite, all the optionals are also a must do, especially the Niagara Falls Helicopter ride

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun Filled, Full On

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Andreas
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Eastern Escapade

20 Jul 2012 - 01 Aug 2012

awesome trip, great and funny tour guide, a really cool and relaxed bus driver and a very good atmosphere and "tour spirit". I very much enjoyed the trip and would recommend everyone to do the same.

Review written Aug 2014

event 0.3
  • Kirsteen
  • Kirsteen
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Eastern Escapade

23 May 2014 - 04 Jun 2014

Absolutely loved this tour. It was a great way to see and explore a lot of history and culture in a short period of time. I was travelling solo but by the end I was friends with everyone. So if you're unsure about doing it by yourself, just jump in the deep end and do it. You'll make friends and have a great time.

Although there was little time, we did a lot! Each day was full of something new and exciting. Every city we went to was amazing in it's own right and it's hard to pin point a favourite place because they were all good. Our tour manager and bus driver just made the trip even more special and fun. Having a history nerd as the tour manager was the icing on the cake.

All the accommodation was reasonable with some really fantastic places and some ok places. The location of the hotels was great except for the one in Boston. That felt a little far out compared to everywhere else we'd been.

Food, American food...it is different for those not used to it. Everywhere we went can be a little hit or miss when it comes to food but generally it's all pretty good. If you are a coffee lover, don't expect good coffee as it's Starbucks or nothing in most places.

One thing to be aware of is tipping. Budget a little extra when it comes to tipping otherwise it can catch you by surprise, especially to those where it's not normal to tip. Anyone in the service industry can be tipped and it's deemed offensive if you don't. Some tipping is included in the tour cost but when you're out on your own it's customary to tip in restaurants, bars etc.

If you expect a party tour, don't come on this one. Yes, we went out most nights and had a blast however it's not the focus of this tour. This tour is aimed more for those that want to do the sights and learn something along the way.

This tour gives you just a taste of each place enticing you to come back. I would definitely go back to all the places I visited so I could explore them more thoroughly. I have #noregrets

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: historic, brilliant, hectic

event 0.3
  • Shaina
  • Shaina
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best holiday ever

14 Sep 2012 - 26 Sep 2012

I absolutely loved this tour, mixing history, culture and parties perfectly. It provided just the right balance and there was never a dull moment. Our tour guide Andy was fantastic and so was our bus driver Ed. They really went out of their way to make it a tour we would never forget including organising other stuff for us to do including seeing the Pittsburgh Pirates play and Cirque du Soleil tickets. The optionals were fantastic especially the jet boating in Montreal.
The hotels we stayed in were beyond what I imagined and were quite fancy. I'd definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do the North-East of the US and Canada. You don't get to see much of NYC on your first day so if you want to see it you should definitely book a few extra days there at the beginning or end of your tour.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Parties, History, Culture

event 0.3
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great trip

14 Sep 2012 - 26 Sep 2012

This trip is a must for anyone who loves to see the best sites that Canada and the USA offer. Seeing the Lincoln, Jefferson, the white house and the Arlington cemetery in DC was cool. Seeing the sites with my new friends was good. Our tour manager Ryan was very good and knew everything about each city and great places to eat and our driver Ed was the best driver ever. I loved seeing niagara falls, Ben and Jerry's ice cream factory.

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
  • Jane
  • Jane
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Eastern Escapade May 2011

20 May 2011 - 01 Jun 2011

My first Contiki tour and first time to the USA - and I loved it!

Our tour manager was fantastic, very organised and had so much knowledge of every place we went to. As he was born and raised in the area, it was great having a local show you around.

I was surprised at how good the accommodation was, very comfortable rooms and most in great locations. A couple of places were a bit far out from the city centres but if you have a few people sharing a taxi the cost isn't much.

I did about half of the optionals, my favourites being the Rogers Centre tour in Toronto and the bike tour in Montreal. I would skip the IMAX movie at Niagara Falls - wasn't very interesting. It is possible to do all the optionals on this tour. Our tour guide also helped organise for us to do other things such as go to the baseball, which was great fun.

The tour is a pretty good pace, however a couple of times we were a bit rushed to arrive at our hotel and get ready for dinner. But you will see a lot on this tour, so many more places than are on the itinerary such as little towns you stop at for lunch.

I would definitely recommend this tour. The East Coast USA has a great combination of big cities, history and scenery so there's something for everyone. So many places I would go back to!

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Scenic, Historic, Fun

event 0.3
  • Crystal
  • Crystal
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Whirlwind Wonders

09 Sep 2011 - 21 Sep 2011

Eastern Escapade is a fantastic way to see some amazing highlights of the East coast of the USA and Canada (helicopter ride over Niagara Falls, wet and wild jet boat ride in Montreal, and breathtaking monuments in Washington lit up at night are just a snippet of the cool things to see and do). There is so much included but there is also a lot of free time as well to get out there and explore on your own.

I went on my own as a solo traveller and was worried about safety and worried it would be hard to make friends. I came home with beautiful new friendships and had completely forgotten that I had started the trip with any worries. The only sad thing about the trip was that it came to an end. (I'm already looking to book my next trip.)

We had a fantastic tour manager, Ryan, who was always happy to answer any questions we had. Whether they were factual questions about the Battle of Gettysburg or the best local bar!

Contiki is a wonderful way to travel in a safe, social and dream fulfilling whirlwind. I would definitely recommend Contiki to anyone and everyone. If you do one thing in your life: make it a Contiki tour - they know how to show you the time of your life!!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Lively, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Janice
  • Janice
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

05 Aug 2011 - 17 Aug 2011

Really enjoyed this tour, we went to so many interesting places and saw a lot inside two weeks. There wasn't a huge amount of optionals because quite a lot was included although you do get free days in cities such as Washington, Toronto and Montreal to do your own thing which is nice if you like to party hard and need a day to chill out. Boston was amazing, definitely my favourite part of the tour, our tour guide managed to get us tickets to a Red Sox game which was an awesome experience. Only thing I would say is that maybe we could have been given more time in certain parts such as the Amish county and certain lunch stops where we had to wolf down our food for fear of being late for the bus.

Also note that Canada is a bit more expensive than the States for most things so make sure you have plenty of Canadian dollars for that part of the tour and certain ATMs in Canada don't take Mastercard but take Visa and vice versa which I found a bit odd.

All in all I definitely would recommend the tour to anyone - the two weeks just flew in and I made a lot of new friends from it.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Party, Interesting, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 13 meals: 7 breakfasts & 6 dinners

Inclusions

  • 2 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Re-live the historical past on a guided walking tour of Philly
  • Visit Amish country
See More

Me Time

  • Philadelphia City Segway Tour
  • Tour of Amish Farm House
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$178
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

8 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.