Eastern Escapade

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2275
Overview Reviews

  • Shaina
  • Shaina
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Best holiday ever

14 Sep 2012 - 26 Sep 2012

I absolutely loved this tour, mixing history, culture and parties perfectly. It provided just the right balance and there was never a dull moment. Our tour guide Andy was fantastic and so was our bus driver Ed. They really went out of their way to make it a tour we would never forget including organising other stuff for us to do including seeing the Pittsburgh Pirates play and Cirque du Soleil tickets. The optionals were fantastic especially the jet boating in Montreal.
The hotels we stayed in were beyond what I imagined and were quite fancy. I'd definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do the North-East of the US and Canada. You don't get to see much of NYC on your first day so if you want to see it you should definitely book a few extra days there at the beginning or end of your tour.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Parties, History, Culture

event 0.3
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great trip

14 Sep 2012 - 26 Sep 2012

This trip is a must for anyone who loves to see the best sites that Canada and the USA offer. Seeing the Lincoln, Jefferson, the white house and the Arlington cemetery in DC was cool. Seeing the sites with my new friends was good. Our tour manager Ryan was very good and knew everything about each city and great places to eat and our driver Ed was the best driver ever. I loved seeing niagara falls, Ben and Jerry's ice cream factory.

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Dan99
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Eastern Escapade

31 Aug 2012 - 12 Sep 2012

(4 star). This tour is great for big cities on the eastern side of North America (Washington DC, Toronto, Montreal, Boston), and obviously everyone spends time in New York separate to the tour. There is necessarily a lot of American (and some Canadian) history covered on this tour and our guide, Ryan was very knowledgable in this regard. Included are a couple of special day stops at Arlington National Cemetry (the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier was a sombre moving experience for me) and Gettysburg (American Civil War battlefield). The nightlife was a bit lacking especially in the early part of the tour but this is dependent on the places I guess. Toronto and Montreal were the best in terms of nightlife. The three hour Montreal bike tour optional was really worthwhile being a fun and efficient way to see the sights with a guide. You also get to keep your bicycle for the rest of the day and cycling the F1 Grand Prix track was one of my personal tour highlights. The group of 44 consisted of mostly Aussies with a good spread of ages.

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: History, Big cities, Niagara

event 0.3
  • Jane
  • Jane
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Eastern Escapade May 2011

20 May 2011 - 01 Jun 2011

My first Contiki tour and first time to the USA - and I loved it!

Our tour manager was fantastic, very organised and had so much knowledge of every place we went to. As he was born and raised in the area, it was great having a local show you around.

I was surprised at how good the accommodation was, very comfortable rooms and most in great locations. A couple of places were a bit far out from the city centres but if you have a few people sharing a taxi the cost isn't much.

I did about half of the optionals, my favourites being the Rogers Centre tour in Toronto and the bike tour in Montreal. I would skip the IMAX movie at Niagara Falls - wasn't very interesting. It is possible to do all the optionals on this tour. Our tour guide also helped organise for us to do other things such as go to the baseball, which was great fun.

The tour is a pretty good pace, however a couple of times we were a bit rushed to arrive at our hotel and get ready for dinner. But you will see a lot on this tour, so many more places than are on the itinerary such as little towns you stop at for lunch.

I would definitely recommend this tour. The East Coast USA has a great combination of big cities, history and scenery so there's something for everyone. So many places I would go back to!

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Scenic, Historic, Fun

event 0.3
  • Crystal
  • Crystal
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Whirlwind Wonders

09 Sep 2011 - 21 Sep 2011

Eastern Escapade is a fantastic way to see some amazing highlights of the East coast of the USA and Canada (helicopter ride over Niagara Falls, wet and wild jet boat ride in Montreal, and breathtaking monuments in Washington lit up at night are just a snippet of the cool things to see and do). There is so much included but there is also a lot of free time as well to get out there and explore on your own.

I went on my own as a solo traveller and was worried about safety and worried it would be hard to make friends. I came home with beautiful new friendships and had completely forgotten that I had started the trip with any worries. The only sad thing about the trip was that it came to an end. (I'm already looking to book my next trip.)

We had a fantastic tour manager, Ryan, who was always happy to answer any questions we had. Whether they were factual questions about the Battle of Gettysburg or the best local bar!

Contiki is a wonderful way to travel in a safe, social and dream fulfilling whirlwind. I would definitely recommend Contiki to anyone and everyone. If you do one thing in your life: make it a Contiki tour - they know how to show you the time of your life!!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Lively, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Janice
  • Janice
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

05 Aug 2011 - 17 Aug 2011

Really enjoyed this tour, we went to so many interesting places and saw a lot inside two weeks. There wasn't a huge amount of optionals because quite a lot was included although you do get free days in cities such as Washington, Toronto and Montreal to do your own thing which is nice if you like to party hard and need a day to chill out. Boston was amazing, definitely my favourite part of the tour, our tour guide managed to get us tickets to a Red Sox game which was an awesome experience. Only thing I would say is that maybe we could have been given more time in certain parts such as the Amish county and certain lunch stops where we had to wolf down our food for fear of being late for the bus.

Also note that Canada is a bit more expensive than the States for most things so make sure you have plenty of Canadian dollars for that part of the tour and certain ATMs in Canada don't take Mastercard but take Visa and vice versa which I found a bit odd.

All in all I definitely would recommend the tour to anyone - the two weeks just flew in and I made a lot of new friends from it.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Party, Interesting, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • melanie
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

05 Aug 2011 - 17 Aug 2011

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Party, excitement

event 0.3
  • Josie85
  • Josie85
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Escapade
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

20 May 2011 - 01 Jun 2011

Was an ok contiki trip, would have liked to slow down and enjoy the cities more. Best parts were Washington DC and Niagara Falls. There needs to be more than 1 night spent in Niagara Falls. Needs more organisation.

Review written Jun 2011

My Contiki was: Rushed, Exhausting, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • 13 meals: 7 breakfasts & 6 dinners
  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Re-live the historical past on a guided walking tour of Philly
  • Visit Amish country
See More

Me Time

  • Cheesesteak Segway Tour
  • Tour of Amish Farm House
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$175
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
8 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.