LA to the Bay

Tour Length
11 days
From
US$1799
Overview Reviews

LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best trip of west coast USA yet!

01 Oct 2014 - 11 Oct 2014

This was my first Contiki experience, and there were definitely #noregrets there! I chose this trip because I wanted to see San Diego, the Grand Canyon, San Francisco and Las Vegas (again!)

Highlights of my trip included:
- San Diego - AMAZING city, one of my faves in the US. Chargers Nation!
- our one night stop in Scottsdale, Arizona was by far my favourite party spot on tour (dear Contiki, please make this a longer stop. it has awesome nightlife!)
- Sedona, Arizona - day stop to red rock country. do the jeep tour add-on. you won't regret it!
- Grand Canyon - pictures don't do this place justice!
- Las Vegas - craziest place. I don't remember much of the first night here, but our awesome tour manager got us free entry to one of the biggest clubs (XS) where Diplo was playing when we were there.
- Yosemite National Park - absolutely stunning place. Toughest hike up the falls ever though, but so worth it!
- San Francisco - the cruise around the Bay was my favourite part about San Fran, and the most amazing way to end such an epic tour!

Made some awesome friendships with my tour mates, as well as friendships with my tour manager and driver (Jon - best contiki tour manager ever!!)

BOOK THIS TOUR NOW!!!! #NOREGRETSYET

Review written Nov 2014

My Contiki was: amazing, crazy, fun

event 0.3
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An AWESOME Adventure!

24 Sep 2014 - 04 Oct 2014

This was my first tour with Contiki but it sure wont be the last.
This trip was an amazing adventure from the start in LA, all the way to San Francisco. I first chose this tour because it provided the best way of getting around this part of the US and had all the places I wanted to visit from San Diego, Vegas, LA, San Francisco and my favourite the Grand Canyon.
Travelling solo I had small reservations but once you start the tour your make good friends with people from all over the world and have the best experience and time of your life! Our guide Jack was great, he had lots of knowledge on the places we visited, the places to party and was a funny dude.
If I had to pick out some favourite moments from the many it have to be the powerboats in San Diego harbour, Helicopter (imperial –GO BIG) and bike ride in Grand Canyon and the sunset catamaran cruise under the Golden Gate bridge in San Fran. The only problem with the trip is that it goes way too fast and when you first get your Contiki pack you may cringe at #NOREGRETS but come the end it will be your ethos.

BOOK NOW!

Review written Oct 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing Experiences, Great Friendship, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Ellen
  • Ellen
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

INCREDIBLE TRIP

17 Jul 2013 - 27 Jul 2013

I could not speak more highly of Contiki if I tried. It was an absolutley fantastic trip. Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, San Francisco. It is all incredible, I could not rate it better. This trip is the best and easiest way of getting round this part of America. I would really recommend. You make so so so many friends from all over the world and you will have the best time.
I travelled by myself, like most and had the best time ever. I would really recommend it.
Our guide Korrie was amazing and she was so helpful, like a cute older sister! Somene you want to party with, but you know they will have your back.
If I was giving some advice, I would say do the baot trip in San Diego, it is a good way to meet people and get yourself established.
I would say if you are travelling from the UK, give yourself a few days to get used to the time difference.
At the start you will hate '#noregrets' but by the end, you will be living it and loving it.
Prepare to spend about $200 a night in Vegas.
Don't do the walk about dinner in Scottsdale.
On the other hand, prepare to have the time of your life.
IT IS AN INCREIDBLE TRIP! BOOK NOW!

Review written Oct 2013

My Contiki was: Incredible experiences, Booze, Friend for life

event 0.3
  • Lidia
  • Lidia
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

LA to the Bay 2012

13 Jun 2012 - 23 Jun 2012

Best tour ever!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing

event 0.3
  • Juliana
  • Juliana
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

LA to the bay - best trip ever

05 Jun 2013 - 15 Jun 2013

The trip was amazing – really the best time of my life. Our tour manager Blake made the stay fantastic. All dinners and transportation was arranged and organized on time. The surprise was awesome. We visited best clubs in Vegas and limo ride was amazing as well. If you have any questions about LA to the bay tour – happy to answer. Cheers.

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Awesome, Best time of my life, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • rustika
  • rustika
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

La To The Bay

15 May 2013 - 25 May 2013

Esta ruta abarca muchas cosas interesantes para ver. Cada pueblo es una atmósfera diferente donde podrá ver y hacer muchas cosas diferentes. Los hoteles son grandiosos, principalmente las Cabañas en el gran Cañon y el Bass Lake. La comida muy buena y los desayunos, algunos variados. Las excursiones opcionales todas son muy buenas, principalmente la del globo en Sedona será una experiencia única. Las Vegas fabuloso, gran Cañon inolvidable, san Francisco único. Recomiendo este tour a todos disfrutarán mucho y aprenderán nuevas costumbres y cultura.

Mi guía Jonh Rammel excelente, el mejor guía que he tenido por mucho tiempo, responsable, organizado, fue excelente!!! 100% recomendable

El chofer Adrián O. Fue también excelente, siempre puntual, siempre todo limpio, organizado, alegre, compartía con todos, excelente chofer. Siempre llego a la hora estimada y a veces antes.

Fue un viaje inolvidable!!! Gracias Contiki.

Yenny from San Juan PR

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Inolvidable , Grandioso

event 0.3
  • Jessie
  • Jessie
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Time of my Life!

17 Apr 2013 - 27 Apr 2013

This was an amazing tour to do, met some really great people and learnt alot! Our tour manager knew his history and was great showing us around each city! He also made sure noone was left out and everyone got involved and organised alot of other things such as night life and other little surprises to make our tour that little more special! An amazing trip! Cant wait for my next trip!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, LA, adventures

event 0.3
  • jgill26
  • jgill26
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of our lives

17 Apr 2013 - 27 Apr 2013

My husband and I recently arrived home from the LA to the Bay Tour... In one word... Amazing! This was our first Contiki and our first overseas holiday.. now we can't wait to plan the next trip... I would re-do this particular trip in a heartbeat.. As long as we can request the same tour manager and driver ;)

Our tour manager Jon & coach driver Adrian were brilliant.. We honestly couldn't thank them enough for making our adventure as amazing as it was. Jon continually went above and beyond to make our experiences the best possible. Adrian always got us to the next destination on time and safely. All we needed to do was sit back, relax and soak up every opportunity that came our way.

I highly recommend doing a lot of the extras, especially the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon (do the longer flight, it's definitely worth the extra money), Speed boating in San Diego, and say Yes to the Contiki surprise!!

Each place we stayed at the accommodation was always clean and comfortable, and the included meals were always good.

We have both made amazing friends for life and this trip has made us realise we need to say "Yes" to more opportunities that come our way. Definitely a life changing holiday.

Again, we can't thank our tour guide and driver enough, without them it wouldn't have been the same.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Life Changing, Amazing, Time of our lives

event 0.3
  • _Jodz
  • _Jodz
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

LA to the Bay Review

03 Apr 2013 - 13 Apr 2013

Unbeknownst to most of us on tour, not everyone on the bus was doing LA to the Bay. There were three tours in total the others being Wild Western and Western Highlights. This meant half of the group was getting off at Vegas and new people would be joining to go the end until back in LA. To be honest, it was disappointing knowing you wouldn't be with that one group the whole time. It seemed that the group joining in Vegas didn't get as much of a chance to bond with all of us who had already formed close friendships.
Overall, amazing trip! Have made friends for life and seen some wonderful places. San Diego was lovely and Phoenix was unexpectedly good fun! Two nights in the Grand Canyon was probably overkill, we just all wanted to get to Vegas! Two nights and one full day is not enough time in Vegas so I'll be returning very soon! Bass Lake was not the hype we were expecting. Our accommodation change from chalets to a dingey motel was a huge let down. San Francisco was colder than I anticipated.
All optionals were great. You can't go to the Grand Canyon without doing the helicopter flight! There were many optionals I didn't choose like hot air ballooning in Phoenix (which some of the group said was overrated anyway) and the 'exercise type optionals' like bike riding, hiking etc - that wasn't for me but it was suited to many.
The coach was comfortable and the tour manager and driver were awesome and lots of fun. The included breakfasts weren't anything to rave about but the places we ate for dinner as a group were fine and the bars that we were taken to were good fun.
Overall, amazing experience and if I did it all again I probably would have opted for the Western Highlights tour stopping off at Vegas and doing a couple of extra nights there. That's personal preference though, everyone is different you need to work out what it is you want to do....
Love Contiki, it's my second tour and I would do another one again!!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Party, Friendship, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • renee
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay

Simply an amazing experience

06 Jun 2012 - 16 Jun 2012

I completed this tour in June of 2012, and it was the best experience I have ever had.

Our tour guide Jon was outstanding, he was like the father of our contiki family.

Every place we visited was amazing, the accommodation was great, the food was great, the add-ons were excellent and the night-life was amazing.

Speed-boating and the Zoo in San Deigo, Ballooning in Arizona, Hiking the Canyon and the Yosemite ranges and Biking in San Francisco are all optionals that I completed that I can highly recommend, along with the Helicopter over the Canyon (which I didn't participate in but heard amazing reviews about).

You think the Grand Canyon is beautiful, you should see the jaw-dropping sights at the Yosemite Ranges, and you think you will have a hangover from Vegas, wait till you party at Bass Lake.

I recommend that everyone pay for the "Contiki Surprise" as it was also well worth it.

The 50+ people on this tour started off as strangers to me, but are now part of my contiki family - or the "contiki dream-team", and I have ensured to keep in contact with these people as I now consider them to be friends that I will have for life.

Anyone considering doing this tour should go ahead and book, I can guarantee that you will thoroughly enjoy each minute spent on this trip.

One thing that I can also recommend is after you hike the Yosemite Ranges and you head back to Bass Lake - hire a boat or a jet ski and enjoy your time at the lake, it is very reasonably priced and no licences are required. Along with that, enjoy a swim in the lake after sunset - it is beautiful.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: amazing, jaw-dropping, perfect

event 0.3
  • lou_85
  • lou_85
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

LA to the Bay - April 18th 2012

18 Apr 2012 - 28 Apr 2012

I had the most amazing time on this tour! I was really apprehensive before going on the tour because I went solo but I didn't need to worry at all! I think half of the people on the tour were there solo - it was great doing the twin share option so you could meet other people, my room mate was great!.
The highlights were Seaworld in San Diego (The Shamu Show), The hot air balloon in Phoenix (so beautiful!), The Grand Canyon, VEGAS! - the hotel is a casino - what else can I say!, my absolute favourite was Bass Lake - the place isn't really that close to anywhere and you have quad share so it was basically a big party for 2 nights - my tour manager Eileen organised beer pong for us, it was hilarious!. Speaking of Eileen she was really great - she organised all sorts of little 'Eileen Optionals', I won't go into too much detail just in case some of you have her as your tour manager, I don't want to spoil anything!. Ending the tour in San Francisco was great however the one down side to this was the hotel we stayed at, it was in a really dodgy area - if you're planning on staying longer in SF after the tour I'd definitely book elsewhere.
All in all though I would do this tour again in a heart beat! I've made some great friends (for life) and had the best experiences! If you're umming and aahing about this tour just do it! You won't regret it!.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Laughter, Friendship, Party!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • JamesC
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay

Best tour ever!

20 Jul 2011 - 30 Jul 2011

This was a really fast paced tour, but I absolutely loved it. Eileen - our tour guide was extremely good, knew absolutely EVERYTHING about everywhere we went and was very organised. All the cities we went to had some fun night life. Out of 50 people on our coach I left the tour with atleast 20 awesome new friends. I would 100% reccomend this tour to anyone. It was that good, I would consider doing it again.

Things I would reccomend - San Diego - Go on the flowrider at mission beach!
- Bass Lake - Hire a boat or jetski with some friends
- Be open minded!

Look out for all the Aussies! They're a loud bunch.


Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: friends, fun, alcohol

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Sarah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay

Loved it!

10 Aug 2011 - 20 Aug 2011

I had an amazing time on the LA to the Bay tour in August this year. The tourmates were varied, interesting and from all over the World. Our manager was knowledgeable and fun and made the experience a brilliant one.

I would like to go back again and do another tour of more states in the USA, that place is endless and fantastic!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Vast, Inspiring, Interesting

event 0.3
  • Jessa
  • Jessa
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

10 Aug 2011 - 20 Aug 2011

Contiki was an absolute blast!
Travelling via the coach means that you get to see all these sights that you wouldn't have even thought of, with easy FREE transportation.
You make friends very quickly! and I would definately recommend it for any type of traveller! I did this tour as a couple and there were no problems mingling with other people.
Melitta White - my contiki consultant was a fantastic help and I have just booked another tour through her today.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome Tour, Easy Transportation, New Friends - FAST

event 0.3
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

08 Jun 2011 - 18 Jun 2011

This trip was sensational, i had so much fun meeting new people and seeing all the amazing things we saw along the way my tour guide was exceptional and really looked after us.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: legendary, surreal, breathtaking

event 0.3
  • Michael
  • Michael
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
LA to the Bay
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

08 Jun 2011 - 18 Jun 2011

All I can really say is this was the most amazing trip of my entire life!
You don't realise the friendships you actually form with everybody,
even though there are like 50 other people in the group, you literally
become mates with every one of them.

And we had the BEST tour manager and coach driver!

Review written Jun 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Ashlee
  • Ashlee
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
LA to the Bay

Tour Review

04 May 2011 - 14 May 2011

The tour was amazing!! Our tour guide Tyson went above and beyond and made our time on the West Coast unforgettable. We saw San Diego, the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, and of course, Las Vegas! Definitely recommend this tour or the Wild Western (14 days) to anyone. The only piece of criticism is that there wasn't long enough spent in Phoenix, which appeared to be a lovely place that we didn't get to see much of!

Review written May 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, unforgettable, diverse

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 10 nights accommodation: 6 nights in twin-share hotels, 2 nights in a twin-share cabin & 2 nights Special Stay experience
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Local taxes & service charges

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 12 meals: 7 breakfasts & 5 dinners

Inclusions

  • 2 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Drive through the O.C. & along the scenic Pacific Coast
  • See downtown San Diego, the Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, Coronado Island & Old Town San Diego
See More

Me Time

  • Speedboat Adventure
  • San Diego Zoo
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$163
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
17 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.