Wild Western

Tour Length
14 days
From
US$2299
Overview Reviews

Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing!!

01 Apr 2015 - 14 Apr 2015

This was the first trip with Contiki and i can say 100% say id never travel with anyone else!! In my eyes there was nothing bad that we did. The trip was great value for money and the places we stayed were pretty decent. In Vegas, we stayed right on the strip, you couldn't ask for more! There was a lot more included than what you realise, which made the whole experience even better!

It is a great place to meet amazing people and I've met some true friends! and we are planning to go on more trips together!

The coach was decent and if you're one of the first ones on you can get some decent WiFi! The coach was always clean and tidy and surprisingly comfy. We had the best tour manager and driver, John Navarro and Adrian Odeles. They worked amazingly together and Id love to be on another tour with them both!!! They both went above and beyond what they had to do, to make sure we had the best experiences. They should get a lot of praise for how good they are at their jobs and how hard they work!! And maybe a pay raise :P

Review written Apr 2015

event 0.3
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing!!

01 Apr 2015 - 14 Apr 2015

This was the first trip with Contiki and i can say 100% say id never travel with anyone else!! In my eyes there was nothing bad that we did. The trip was great value for money and the places we stayed were pretty decent. In Vegas, we stayed right on the strip, you couldn't ask for more! There was a lot more included than what you realise, which made the whole experience even better!

It is a great place to meet amazing people and I've met some true friends! and we are planning to go on more trips together!

The coach was decent and if you're one of the first ones on you can get some decent WiFi! The coach was always clean and tidy and surprisingly comfy. We had the best tour manager and driver, John Navarro and Adrian Odeles. They worked amazingly together and Id love to be on another tour with them both!!! They both went above and beyond what they had to do, to make sure we had the best experiences. They should get a lot of praise for how good they are at their jobs and how hard they work!! And maybe a pay raise :P

Review written Apr 2015

event 0.3
  • Hani513
  • Hani513
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Wild Western/ September

10 Sep 2014 - 23 Sep 2014

So this tour was my first Contiki and I travelled alone and let me start by saying it was an absolute blast! I went in September so it was pretty hot the whole time with the exception of San Francisco. As I mentioned this was my first trip overseas alone and Contiki was the best way to do it. From the first night with the kickstarter meeting you meet all the people in the first leg of the tour (As I was on the Wild Western it starts and ends in LA but the tour includes about 4 different trips so people hop on and off all over) the great thing about traveling this way, you can make of it exactly what you want from the tour, if you want to party all night long you can if you want some alone time thats cool too! You'll never be too far away from an awesome bunch of people looking for a good time!
The crew they set you up with is amazing they know all the places and are always happy to give advice on what to do and where to eat! Our tour manager Rachel was awesome at arranging dinner and lunch for us when it was not included or letting us loose and pointing in the right direction when it was time to explore. Our driver Richard was always on hand for anything we needed on the bus and made sure we always had water and were comfy! They were both amazing if you go on this tour and get either you'll be lucky!
I won't do a massive run down of all the days (Spoilers!) I'll let you find that out for yourself but I will say this, make the most of all the optional activities. I went in with a plan to do some of the activities listed on the website and ended up doing almost every one on offer!! There are a few 'must dos' on this tour, the first being the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon (trust me not just a hole in the road) there are literally no words to describe it! Second must do I think is the Jeep rides through Sedona canyons. The ride is a little rough and tumble but a whole lot of fun and the guides themselves are some of the friendliest people I met who love the tours and will give you the best look into some amazing scenery. The hot air balloon ride is also a lot of fun but you do need to get up at 5am for that one so if you like your sleep more than sunrise in a balloon.... Who am I kidding you can sleep all day on the bus get up early for an awesome ride (watch the landing they can be interesting!)
On a practical front this tour is great for anything and everything you might need on holiday or left at home. Midday stops were often at a Walmart or close to shopping areas and the overnight stops always had amenities close by including laundries at most stops. And there is plenty of free time to kick back and relax and chat with all your new friends!

In short I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get a taste of the USA but be warned by the end of the tour I didn't want it to end and am itching to go back!

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Best, Experience, Ever!!

event 0.3
  • Alex
  • Alex
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

#NoRegrets

03 Sep 2014 - 16 Sep 2014

Simply awesome! Totally worth it!

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Awesome, NoRegrets, Amazing

event 0.3
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

To the wild wild west....

27 Jul 2011 - 09 Aug 2011

I loved this tour. The Wild Western truely has it all. A great mixture of nature and cities. So you can have time to relax and time to Party on. Our tourmanager Jack Larsen was great. This tour has many 2 nightstops what holds back the fast pace contiki is usually traveling with. Vegas was a blast... The surprise is so funny. Do it. The Grand Canyon... Wow, best National Park I've ever seen. You can't stop being astonished. Highlights: Grand Canyon, Vegas, Yosemite.

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: diversified, Nature XXL, bright cities

event 0.3
  • Aaron
  • Aaron
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Wild Western

Wonderful Wild Western!!

02 Apr 2014 - 15 Apr 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this itinerary. From the bright lights of Las Vegas to the relaxing Bass Lake - there's no better way to experience America's Wild West!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Wild, Exciting

event 0.3
Wild Western

Wild Western (summer) July 2013

10 Jul 2013 - 23 Jul 2013

What an awesome trip!!! Not only was the tour with a great bunch of people, if it was not for the the Tour manager Steph and our driver Adrian, it would not have been such an awesome experience. They went out of their way in their own time to make sure we all had such an awesome experience where ever we were. Would highly recommend a tour such as this with Contiki, especially if these guys where in control again. They deserve pay rises !!!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Meg
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing! definitely recommend!

01 Aug 2012 - 14 Aug 2012

Went on this tour in August and had the most amazing time! It has everything from cities to towns to beaches to desert to beautiful landscapes and even more! Every place we went to was entirely different from each other and each has it's own separate memories and it was incredible!
One thing I'll mention is that this tour is actually made up of 4 smaller tours which not many people know:
the wild western (the whole tour), western highlights (leave people in vegas), california highlights (pick up in vegas), and la to the bay (leave people in san fran
some people on these tours, particularly western and california highlights either felt like they were being left behind or joining an already tight group
what i will say is everyone still had a great time and made friends for life as everyone was so friendly and willing to meet people!
Contiki also organised easy ways for us to get around, particularly helpful in san francisco - even on coach free days we got to see the whole city for free transportation
definitely recommend!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: breathtaking, variety, fastpaced

event 0.3
  • Em02
  • Em02
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing!

10 Aug 2011 - 23 Aug 2011

A wonderful trip. Great tour guide, lots of extra activities. Fab people, a trip I will NEVER forget!!! The early mornings were worth it :)
Accommodation was fine, Vegas - amazing! San Francisco - not what I expected, absolutely brilliant. I would happily do this whole tour again!!
The name sums it up - it is definately a wild western trip!!!

Review written Jul 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Friendly, Wild

event 0.3
  • nikjenn
  • nikjenn
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

wild western 14 day tour

02 Nov 2011 - 15 Nov 2011

Was worth every cent, great accommodation, great tours, tour guide and coach driver were excellent, id recommend to do the full 14 days if you have the time,, the views at yosemite national park were priceless, there is a fair bit of waiting on the bus, and definitely pack warm gear in may, as we were surprised with snow at the grand canyon again a price less site. Vegas was maybe a day too short to explore, but alot of fun at night.

Review written May 2012

event 0.3
Wild Western
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

06 Jul 2011 - 19 Jul 2011

This was AWESOME! Our tour manager Andy was the man and our driver Marcus was also the man!

I will definitely be doing another Contiki and even be trying my luck at becoming a Contiki tour manager in New Zealand!

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome, Memories, Forever

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 17 meals: 9 breakfasts & 8 dinners

Inclusions

  • 2 World Heritage Sites visited
See More

Me Time

See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$164
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

11 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.