Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)

Tour Length
14 days
From
US$3158
Overview Reviews

  • emmarose
  • emmarose
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 18 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Big city, bright lights

10 Feb 2014 - 23 Feb 2014

If you only have a short amount of time and want to see 4 of the biggest and best cities in America you have to do this tour. There are so many tickets and activities included in the price, and heaps of amazing optionals to make your experience even better. We had plenty of free time to explore in each place and I've made some friends for life. Check out my blog for a full write up here: http://logoffsignout.blogspot.com.au/p/best-of-usa.html

Review written Jun 2016

My Contiki was: Energetic, Bucket list, Inclusive

event 0.3
  • Bec
  • Bec
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

By Far, Best of USA!

11 Aug 2014 - 24 Aug 2014

Seriously the most fun I've ever had.
Massive group, walked away with some awesome new friends.
I'm not a big drinker, thank god, its expensive to have a night on the town here!
Hotels were pretty great, stand out was Harrah's in Vegas. Wow, buffet breakfast, DO IT. Shopping is so much better than at home.
Wasn't a big fan of San Fran, lots of creepy people there. Did the bike ride over the Golden Gate Bridge, happy to say that I did it but, never again. No one said it was almost 20km. My knees did not appreciate that flogging. Spent the next 2 days writhing in agony from the waist down.
Vegas. Wow, just wow.
Grand Canyon, do it. An absolute must.
New York, not bad. Times Square is just like the movies. But, there is literally garbage, like massive bags pilled on the streets everyday everywhere and it kinda smells.
Went to a Yankees game. Even if you're not a baseball fan, the atmosphere alone is fantastic and you're guaranteed a great time. Food cart tour was cool, yummy, but its a lot of walking!
We added on Waikiki for 2 nights, 3 days at the end of this tour. Excellent idea, needed the wind down!
Would love to see the whole country. One day, hopefully.

Review written Feb 2016

event 0.3
  • Toriitums
  • Toriitums
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

best 14 days.

14 Sep 2015 - 27 Sep 2015

This was easily the best 14 days of my life. We had Rammel as our tour manager and he was so knowledgeable. I learnt stuff about USA I never knew and fell in love with places I didn't even think I would. It's definitely the best of USA and I would recommend this trip for anyone to get a taste of the states. Currently planning to go back!

Review written Jan 2016

My Contiki was: Amazing, Wow, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Meagan
  • Meagan
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

You really do see the Best of USA!!

13 Oct 2014 - 26 Oct 2014

Mainly booked this trip for convenience. The fact that it was flying instead of being on a bus really appealed to me as America is A LOT bigger than Europe and thought being on a bus would be average. Although comparing USA to Europe Contiki (they are chalk and cheese but if I had to) I definitely think they do Europe a lot better. If you are keen for a lot of free time its definitely the trip for you! I mean.. Contiki in Vegas, can you go wrong?!?!!?

Review written Jan 2016

event 0.3
  • Kazza
  • Kazza
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)

Amazing adventure

14 Sep 2015 - 27 Sep 2015

This trip has been the most amazing experience to date, it's hard to put it in to words but I will give it a go......the people on this trip made the experience one I will never forget and I can say without a doubt they are not only friends, but family, a life time of laughs, memories and silly hashtags. Our tour manager Jon Ramel always went out of his way to help and answer our million and one questions, show us good places to eat, sites to see and inspired me with his incredible knowledge of American history, an absolute legend in every way, Thankyou ramel. This trip is fantastic value for money, some of the best hotels I have stayed in, great bus drivers, surprises, sights, nightlife, and incredible included and non included meals, a trip I highly recommended to anyone wanting to visit the United States of America.

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: Family/memories, Epic Aventure, Journey of a life time

event 0.3
  • Jess
  • Jess
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great trip!

01 Sep 2014 - 14 Sep 2014

Best of USA was a great trip and a great way to see some of America's most popular cities and sights. Because you fly from city to city on this trip, you have a lot more time in each city to really see a lot. The inclusions were good as well as the optionals. I definitely recommend this trip.

Review written Sep 2015

My Contiki was: great, awesome

event 0.3
  • Ben
  • Ben
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Contiki best of USA

08 Jun 2015 - 21 Jun 2015

What can I say, this tour was my first contiki tour. it was the best 2 weeks of my life. ALL the hotel's were nice and the weather was amazing, my tour guide Steph was amazing she had a great amount of knowledge,she took us to some amazing place's and was very entertaining. The highlight of my trip was definitely the helicopter ride over the grand canyon, it's alot of money but
It's a must do for anyone who visit's Vegas. I was very unlucky as most of the people in my tour were very immature girls who were very mean to me and tried to ruin my trip, but apart from that my tour was amazing. My favourite place was New York, their was so much to do there anyone doing this tour I would strongly suggest doing the central park bike tour and the food tour. I can't recommend the best of USA tour highly enough and am going back next year to do the grand southern contiki tour if you have any questions just send me a message and I'll be more than happy to answer them

Review written Aug 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing , Best time of my life

event 0.3
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

NOT MY LAST

09 Feb 2015 - 22 Feb 2015

What can I say about this trip?
The description said easy pace but no it wasn't! And I wouldn't have changed that for the world!
I met some of the best people on this trip. Some that I hope will be friends for many many years. Leaving was a sad experience and still keeping in contact with my contiki friends I am not alone!
Our tour guide Jon, went above and beyond for us. He showed me things that I would never have seen had a organised to go U.S.A by myself and those experiences are what made this trip. Could not thank the man enough for all he did.
Vegas was one hell of experience and I am pleased to say that I did it right! Not much sleep was had but there is so much to see there I don't know why you would bother sleeping!
Our tour guide took us to a bar in San Francisco that was quite simply one of the best bars I have ever been too. Nothing like that here in Australia and I will be going back to it one day.
This will not be my last contiki, and if my first contiki is anything to go by, then the next one I do will be amazing. If anyone is um-ing or ah-ing about doing it. JUST DO IT!
You will not regret it #noregrets

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, time of my life, will do again!

event 0.3
  • Emma
  • Emma
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Time of my life :)

11 Aug 2014 - 24 Aug 2014

This was my first Contiki and I travelled by my self.
Contiki was the best decision I made especially if your travelling solo as you make friends so quickly.
My favourite part of this trip was
Vegas oh it's such a wicked experience.. so much to do and see. I recommend seeing a show I went and seen criss angel and my mind was blown was incredible, look around the casinos so much to see and do in each place. Shopping I recommend the southern outlets in Vegas so many cheap deals..
A MUST is the Grand Canyon helicopter tour trust me it's amazing you will not regret it..
LA - universal studios is so so fun as you can see my pic with the Simpsons you need a whole day here and I recommend getting the VIP pass, you do not need to wait in line for any rides you see so much more in a universal tour it's a bit more pricey but me and the girls wouldn't do it differently..
The first night in LA we attended the Teen choice awards if this is Your thing I'd recommend attending one..
San Francisco need to do Alcatraz it's awesome to see and go to bubba gumps for dinner and also the cheese cake factory has amazing food, best garlic bread ever :)))
In New York of course the Statue of Liberty and a helicopter tour amazing views of the skylines..
The hotels were pretty good Vegas had the biggest room, LA hotel was pretty small but hey you only sleep there..
The only thing I can say negative about the tour was needed more time was rushed a lot but still got to see amazing things.. I suggest using your time wisely and be prepared to have a busy busy couple of weeks but you will love this tour and make some incredible people :)) if your Australian everyone will say I love your accent so be prepared to talk a lot haha...
DO THIS TOUR :)

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Mind blowing , Fun

event 0.3
  • Jemma
  • Jemma
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 2 weeks of my life!

01 Sep 2014 - 14 Sep 2014

This trip is a great way to see all the best bits in America in a short space of time! The accommodation was nice and it was great to fly to each city as it meant you can spend more time exploring! The extras were a great way to do what you like and meet everyone in the group and the way the trip was organised meant you had free time as well as spending time with everyone else! Best 2 weeks ever and I really want to go back...

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Beautiful, Fun

event 0.3
  • Fazielah
  • Fazielah
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)

My #BestofUSA experience of a lifetime

21 Jul 2014 - 03 Aug 2014

I've been back home for a week and I can still taste the spicy tacos of San Francisco; hear the slot machines in Vegas; feel the sunshine of LA on my skin and see the vivid colours of Times Square, New York every time I shut my eyes...

There are no words to express how amazing my Best of USA trip was... from the incredible sights, including the gorgeous views of Santa Monica to the unbelievable experiences ( champagne breakfast in the Grand Caynon, anyone?!) to the many, beautiful new Contiki tourmates who now truly are my family, it was, without a doubt, two of the best weeks of my life.

Last, but certainly, not least, a BIG thug shout out to our tour manager Jon Rammelkamp - THANK YOU for trusting us with your best, undiscovered experiences in each city - seeing the States through an American Boy's eyes was my favourite part of this trip!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Magical, Phenonemal , Must-do!

event 0.3
  • Zoe
  • Zoe
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It was Awesome

21 Jul 2014 - 03 Aug 2014

Every part of this trip was great, from the organised events to the nightlife. We had a great tour guide (Jon) who was always looking out for us and making sure we enjoyed it - he also had great local tips. Vegas will blow your mind, San Francisco is beautiful, LA is crazy cool and New York will make you feel sophisticated (with great food). Definitely worth it.

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Exhilirating, Wholesome, Intriguing

event 0.3
  • Lefty
  • Lefty
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It really was the best

02 Sep 2013 - 15 Sep 2013

So this was my first time on contiki, travelling solo. our group was just awesome made heaps of new friends I still can't believe I saw the LA, rode over the Golden Gate Bridge on a bike.its well worth the pain the view is spectacular, partied up in true Vegas style and experienced the city that never sleeps it really is huge.

If you do this trip I highly recommend in San Fran the optionals of the golden gate bike ride and the food tour
If you have the spare time also I definitely recommend going to Alcatraz ( but you need to organise this yourself
I did before leaving home).
In Vegas I definitely recommend the Grand Canyon helicopter ride not only do you fly over but having lunch in the canyon itself is stunning and for those of you worried about flying in a helicopter really plane vs helicopter what's the diff apart from the obvious, amazing photo opportunities.
New York do the helicopter tour not as cool as the canyon heli tour but it's great cos it gives you a sense of just how big it actually is and the food cart tour will definitely get your mouth watering.
Oh L.A universal, Disney ect ect

Huge shout out to Brianna our guide who was awesome she even organised for us to see the baseball in S.F, and was alway ready to help out with any questions we had.

I can't wait to do another contiki tour soon I hope.

#NOREGRETS

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Awesome , Mind blowing , #NOREGRETS

event 0.3
  • Michyy
  • Michyy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Good, but not great

14 Apr 2014 - 27 Apr 2014

The tour itself was excellent. The places you go and things you do are great. My tour guide was amazing and went above and beyond to organise extra activites for us to do, from organising a Clippers basketball game in LA to the seeing the baseball in New York. Hotels were reasonable and very central location, with excellent buffet breakfasts included most days. The ONLY things I didn't find that appealing on this tour (and that's only if i'm being picky), were i think the group was a bit too big (54 people) and with all our transportation being via internal flights (whilst also a good thing), it was hard to get to know everybody as it was very rare that the entire group spent time together. Also, whilst Contiki gives you fantastic options to chose from, in order to have free time for your own exploring, you almost had to sacrifice one of the optionals.

All in all, a fantastic experience. Will definately do a Contiki again. Jam packed with loads of fun things to do. Excellent for solo travellers like myself too :)

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: jam packed, fun, worth it

event 0.3
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my life - BEST of USA 2013

15 Jul 2013 - 28 Jul 2013

My first time overseas (a part from travelling to Bali) I had the most amazing time of my life! I met soo many fun-loving, energetic, down to earth people on this tour who soon after a few days pretty much became family (contiki family)

I had travelled alone to LA and took on the Best of USA tour without knowing anyone (a part from meeting all the people on the tour on our tour facebook page) to this day I stay in touch with everyone on tour, even a few catch ups when anyone is in town or if I fly to other parts of Australia.

Highlights of the trip were partying in LA, San Fran, Vegas and NYC.
The food, tours, adventures, accommodation, shopping, pool parties in Vegas, restaurants, ME time (definately worth taking up all the optional activites), cruises, bike rides, limos and nightlife was fantastic. Be prepared for lots of sleepless nights if you love to PARTY! Our tour guide Brianna McCarthy was great, she went out of her way to organise extra activities and dinners for us all and was well informed of each place and what it has to offer.

I highly reccommend this tour to anyone wanted to see the BEST of USA :)

Review written Oct 2013

My Contiki was: Party, Long-Lasting Friendships, Adventureous

event 0.3
  • jaimee
  • jaimee
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

loved it!

12 Aug 2013 - 25 Aug 2013

absolutely loved it, the sights were amazing, statue of liberty, boat cruise/limo rides down the vegas strip, golden gate bridge, brooklyn bridge, 9/11 memorial, Venice beach, Beverley hills, Hollywood, were just a few of the great places we got to see/do! our guide was knowledgeable, its so comforting knowing you don't have to plan anything just be at places at certain times, defiantly made it more relaxing! the optionals were good, though i didn't do a lot of them they just didn't suit me! the food was generally pretty good some places we didn't have a huge choice of though there was something for everyone :) the hotels were out of the central places but were nice quality and they generally provided transport for us anyway, 14days was not enough to mingle and get to know everyone but the ones i did i loved and am so great ful to have experienced the trip with! next time ill be choosing a longer tour cause 14 days is just not enough (though i did think that would happen) but it was a great start and has encouraged me to do it again! cant wait for more contiki adventures!
my favourite place out of this tour was VEGAS, most magically beautiful place ever, if your a girl you will love this, free drinks, free club entry's, just amazing!! the best thing contiki did for us i think was either the boat cruise under the golden gate bridge with a few free drinks or the limo rides in vegas with champers, everything i did i loved and highly recommend doing it!! you wont regret it and as our contiki tour guide said "ITS NOT BAD ITS JUST DIFFERENT" adventurous

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, fun, adventurous

event 0.3
  • sbaildon
  • sbaildon
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)

Best of USA - Awesome

18 Oct 2012 - 31 Oct 2012

I had an absolute ball on this tour, met some wonderful people, had some great times that bring a huge smile to my face, saw so much and more. This tour gives you the opportunity to sightsee with the tour members with the optional extras as well as to venture off on your own for the day and see exactly what you wanted to see. I loved the SF bike tour, well worth it, just dont look at how long it is, and def go see Alcatraz!! Even though we got stuck in Hurricane Sandy in NYC, i still had a great time, and the tour guides were great!! Thanks again Contiki, i had a great time and will def be using you guys again!!

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Fantastic, Exciting, Full On Fun

event 0.3
  • Greg
  • Greg
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Best of USA (Start Los Angeles)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best of USA tour

19 Apr 2012 - 02 May 2012

Well what can i say...best 3 weeks of my life, had a awesome time!!.....travelled solo, (which was a good option). I made soo many new freinds. Have some Awesome Memories!! ...Hotels were great, Places were great, Optional were great and the tour was Amazing

A MUST DO! on the tour is a chopper ride in Las Vegas ( Grand Canyon) its Absolutely breathtaking. It takes u right into the canyon, Champagne lunch, goes for about 1 and a half hours. If you can do the bike tour through San fran, it goes for about 2-3 hrs lol, but great way to see San Fransisco =D

This was my first trip solo and as much as i was nervous, the 2nd day on contiki i was and ready to go!! No need to worry, everyday is organized, all you have to is choose what you wanna do...Recommend this for anyone!!!.....this trip has given me the travel bug...Next stop Europe Contiki =D

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Awesome, Amazing, Good times !

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 13 nights accommodation: 13 nights in twin-share hotels
  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 11 meals: 6 breakfasts & 5 dinners

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • Keep your eyes peeled for film shoots on a guided walking tour of downtown L.A. (until Dec 2017)
  • See the famous Hollywood sign, Mann's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood's Walk of Fame
See More

Me Time

  • Hollywood Club Crawl
  • Contiki Apparel - Sunglasses
  • Contiki Apparel - T-Shirt
  • Contiki Apparel - Tank Top
  • Contiki Water Bottles
  • Tour Stars Homes
  • Starline Hop-On/ Hop-Off
  • Universal Studios
  • Grammy Museum
  • Disneyland Transfer Pick a Park
  • Disneyland Transfer with Park Hopper
  • Disneyland Transfer Only
  • California Academy of Sciences
  • San Francisco Bike Tour
  • Sit back, chill & enjoy the San Fran sunset on a catamaran cruise (From Jan 2017)
  • High Roller Day Pass 11:30 - 18:00
  • High Roller Anytime
  • Grand Canyon Helicopter - Grand Celebration - PBW - 4P (includes $15 surcharge for peak reservation time)
  • Cirque du’ Soleil show
  • Helicopter - New York, New York
  • Helicopter - Big Apple
  • Group Photo
  • NYC Food Cart Tour
  • 'Gossip Girl' Tour
  • The Ride
  • TMZ Tour
  • Central Park Bike Tour (seasonal)
  • 'Sex and the City' Tour
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$225
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

18 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.