California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)

Tour Length
7 days
From
US$1144
Overview Reviews

  • Chandy
  • Chandy
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

California dreams became reality!

25 Nov 2014 - 02 Dec 2014

Started off in Vegas, went a saw a Cirque De Soleil show went hit a nightclub that had a view over the Vegas strip at night! Next morning was tough! 10 hour bus ride to Bass lake. I recommend not going too hard before a bus ride :) Finally got to Bass lake and it was a nice holiday retreat to appreciate nature.

The next day we headed up to Yosemite National Park, and what a view!! A definite must see!! Hiking up Yosemite was great to but its a shame no everyone can get to the top. Later that night we had our Thanks Giving dinner. Being from Australia, we dont celebrate thanks giving but being a food lover, might as well!! After dinner, we did some Karaoke! Everyone was a bit shy to get on the mic so I jumped on first, singing a Backstreet Boys classic "I want it that way". Once that song was done, everyone had the courage to go up.

Next up, San Francisco!! What a great city to visit! People were friendly, the food was great, the gays were some of the nicest people I have ever met!! We had plans during the night but the days were for ourselves . Shopping there was a great experience. Definitely check out the Westfield there on Market st. Having a free day, I got to check out Alcatraz and bought a ticket on the day! Personal tip, if the tours are booked out, if you go really early in the morning before the ticket gates opens, the sell about 40 extra tickets. its first come first serve. In the day we did a bike tour of San Fransico which was the best way to see the city. We rode for hours and ferried it on a boat on the way back. Later that night, we had a ugly Christmas sweater night. Everyone buys an ugly sweater and we head out. 6 of us guys couldnt find any sweaters, so we bought Santa outfits! People loved us in our santa outfits! Even got a few photo ops with randoms. The next day was a free day to check out the city at my own pace. Got to see Lomard street then walked all the way to Lucas Arts studio. Silly of me didnt realized it was open to the public and I didnt go in. Finished off the night with a group dinner, then ventured back to our hotels.

The next day we drove off the Santa Barbara with a pitstop in a small town. I cant remember the name of the town but it had one of the best hamburgers I have ever had! I almost cried because I was looking everywhere for a great burger but didnt succeed. Finally we got to Santa Barbara, a small beach town, that had that "Californian Surfer" vibe about it. A few of us boys found a bar in the backstreet which had a wide variety of beer. The bar tender was nice to us. He thought it was funny seeing an Australian, Canadian and a French walk into bar together because thats how all jokes start :) Finished off the night by have a pub meal at a bar. Food was good the atmosphere was relaxed. Most of us were getting fatigue by this time. So we went back to the hotel for casual drinks at the bar.

Next morning we drove off the Los Angeles. There was plenty of seats left so we all just spread out and slept most of the time on the bus. Getting to L.A I got off early to check into my hostel, and meet with the team later that night to attend an ice hockey game. Everyone else did tours, some slept, but I did regret not being able to to join the others around Hollywood. I did get to see them before the game. Finishing off our night watching the L.A Kings vs the Boston Bruins was a great experience. Only watching ice hockey of tv, being there live was amazing!! once the game was done, I said my final goodbyes to my contiki buddies. Its a shame i only hanged out with these guys for 8 days but they will always be friends of mine for life!

Review written Jan 2016

My Contiki was: Fast, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rhea
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

West Coast adventure!!

06 Oct 2015 - 13 Oct 2015

This was my first time to Vegas and the West coast. Being from East Coast US I had no idea what to expect. Contiki outdid itself once again and I had the best time. My favorite part was hands down San Francisco. Shout out to Kiran for being an amazing tour guide! The hotels were very comfortable as was the cabins we stayed in at Bass Lake. Yosemite was my other favorite part because I got to see the beautiful mountains in an awesome part of the country. This tour has a mix of urban and well as nature and I would recommend this trip!!!

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: amazing, exciting, beautiful

event 0.3
  • Lexi
  • Lexi
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best week

14 Jul 2015 - 21 Jul 2015

I went solo on this tour and can honestly say it was the best week of my life with the coolest people. There was a fair amount of time spent on the bus between destinations but it was never monotonous. Kiran our guide was so much fun and everyone in the group got along really well. Can't wait to book my next trip.

Review written Jul 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, Organised, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Elli
  • Elli
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

True Love :-)

10 Sep 2013 - 17 Sep 2013

It was the best trip and experience of my life till now. I cant say it in words how much this tour impressed and gave me. I enjoyed every single minute of it. I cant put this trip in a category. We`ve done so much: Nightlife in Las Vegas and San Francisco, hiking in Yosemite National Parc and biking in San Francisco over the Golden Gate Bridge, shopping in SF and relaxing at the beach in Santa Barbara and Santa Monica. Also I met so many friendliy and open people from all over the world. Guys I love you! It was funny to sit in a bus with 53 people who have all a hangover :-). We travelled a lot but it never feels like. The stops were perfect timed. After that tour i spent some days in a hostel. it was boring there. but i told him about contiki. how awesome this is and that they have to do it. and yes...they had immediately a look at the site and will book a trip.
I think i will write a book about this life experience...maybe in german..its easier for me :-)
I wanna thank Eileen, our Tour manager, for giving me the best time of my life. You did a perfect job. Showing us so many different things, telling us facts about different citys and showed us how to dance :-). hope we keep in touch and i can do another tour with you. Also thanks markus our driver. funny man :-). he showed me the best drink ever called AMF :-). And of course i wanna thank all people who shared the funny time with me. BIG HUGS from Berlin

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Fun, Experience, Friends

event 0.3
  • Leanne
  • Leanne
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Fun!!!

11 Jun 2013 - 18 Jun 2013

This tour was amazing, made so many friends and had so much fun along the way. My only issue was we didn't get enough time in certain places. I would definitely recommend this tour to others. So much is included and you see some spectacular views at Yosemite, as well as passing through many towns.

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, spectacular, fun

event 0.3
  • Stuart
  • Stuart
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
California Highlights (Until Dec 2016)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great tour, would definitely recommend!

22 May 2012 - 29 May 2012

This was my first Contiki trip, I didn't know they were such a big company, having never seen or heard of them before.
I met some amazing people on this tour, and I plan to see some again in the near future if the price is right!
The tour guides were great, Jack and Adrian.
There knowledge was great, telling backgrounds of places, where to go and what to see, all really interesting information, and they were really easy to get along with!
I can honestly say I didn't have a dull moment whilst on tour with the group I was with.
The accommodation was good too, absolutely no complaints there, beds were comfy and the hotels and cabins we stayed in were clean.
The highlight of my trip had to be visiting Yosemite national park, I thought the views were absolutely stunning, especially at the time of year that I went (May).
The only thing I didn't like were the early get ups, as I am not really a morning person, especially with a hangover.

Review written Mar 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Interesting, Experience

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 6 nights accommodation: 2 nights in at the Pines Resort overlooking Bass Lake, 4 nights in twin share hotels
  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

9 meals: 4 breakfasts & 5 dinners

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • Experience some of the world's largest hotels & casinos
  • Non-stop nightlife
See More

Me Time

  • California Academy of Sciences
  • San Francisco Bike Tour
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$163
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
6 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.