Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)

Tour Length
14 days
From
US$2385
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • Jessica
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)

Such an amazing experience

23 Jan 2015 - 05 Feb 2015

I went on this contiki in January. and im so glad i did.
i wanted to see as much as i could in 2 weeks.
met some amazing people who i still talk too.
lost of stuff to tick off my bucket list!
definitely worth it.

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: amazing, fun, do it!

event 0.3
  • Kelamore
  • Kelamore
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing!

19 Dec 2014 - 01 Jan 2015

I just got home yesterday from my trip to the USA and I completed the Eastern Discovery and it was the most amazing experience of my life and I loved every second of it!

I spent Christmas and New Years away from home but I had the best group of people to spend it with.
Everyone in our group hit it off straight away and bonded quickly.
Our tour guide was incredible he went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. He not only told us amazing history about all the places we visited but also told us great places to eat, organised basketball, football and music festival tickets, and was always keen to get to know everyone and helped everybody out no matter the problem.

Optionals were great.. good selection of activities to do..
but highlights for me were the nights we spent together as a contiki family from nights out drinking, family dinners, Christmas day in Cocoa beach wearing christmas sweaters and exchanging 'Bad Santa' presents and New years On Bourbon Street New Orleans bringing in the New Year together.

If you are thinking of booking this trip DO IT but do the whole trip. I didn't realise this tour was apart of Grand Southern and we had to say goodbye to our new friends after 14 days and they continued on. It was so sad to see them go and I wanted to stay on so bad!

I only just arrived home yesterday and I'm already looking at booking my next contiki! It was amazing!

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: Unforgettable, Amazing, Life changing

event 0.3
  • Tanya
  • Tanya
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Do the whole Grand Southern!

31 Oct 2014 - 13 Nov 2014

I cannot recommend this trip more highly. This was my third contiki and my most favorite. My only regret is getting off in New Orleans and not doing the whole Grand Southern. I never expected leaving a trip half way would reduce me to so many tears. This trip takes you to places you wouldn't normally go like Savannah, Charleston, St Augustine and Cocoa beach gems of the south. These places are beautiful! As well as the main highlights like Washington DC, Miami and New Orleans. Aside from having the best group I've ever had on a Contiki the reason this trip was so amazing was because of the amazing contiki team. They are both amazing assets to the company. They went above and beyond to make our tip what it was. After 75days on the road together before us with limited break you could have forgiven these two for lying low but it was quite the opposite! On our 'free' nights they organised and went shopping for pool parties, BBQ's and ordered in take away for 50 people to the hotel so we could all have dinner together! They also made the effort to get to know each and every person by sitting with different people at each road stop or dinner. While this trip is fast paced you see a lot. A stop in Philly for a photo with the rocky steps and philly cheese steak, a night tour of Washington DC, 2 full days to explore DC, a stop at Arlington national cemetery to visit JFK, walking tours of NOLA and Savannah and the best night out! In places like cocoa beach and St Augustine there are no organised activities so make sure you go for a walk and explore these beautiful places a lot of people just stayed at the hotel and missed out on seeing them. The optional activities are limited as so much is included but the Miami speed boats was one of the best experiences I have ever had as was the party cruise. Look after your things in Miami as our tour manager had things stolen as did a couple of people who thought a 3am dip in the beach was a good idea. Next minute passports, phones and wallets stolen. This resulted in one of the girls needing to leave the trip early. The accommodation at most of the places was basic but good. The exception in Miami where the group is split into two hotels. I was luckily in the much nicer hotel. The other half were not so lucky. The included breakfasts are very basic and the included dinners were not great. The one in Panama city beach was at a German beer house and was an absolute blast! The final dinner in NOLA was a complete let down. They took our orders the week before and were sooo unorganised when we arrived, It took 2 hours to get an entree and another hour to get the mains . The were all just slapped on a plate and food was cold. By then we had all utilised the bar a little too much and were ready to go out. I hope they change this for future tours as it was an optional and I'd have rathered spent the $24 finding a better meal. Overall I cannot reccomend this tour anymore but do the whole thing! I was so glad extended my trip and met them in LA when they finished and spent thanksgiving at disneyland and a crazy night out in Santa monica with 12 of them. No one will ever understand our obsession wih a traffic cone and treating it like a member of the group. He came on the Party cruise and swamp tour and featured in our group photos and also made it from DC back to Melbourne. One of those had to be there moments. We renamed contiki to CONETIKI. I'd personally reccomend travelling solo on contiki and belive you willl have a better experience. You should not hesitae booking this tour or any with contiki you will not be dissapointed!!

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: AMAZING, CONETIKI, FUN

event 0.3
  • Jenna
  • Jenna
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Eastern Discovery

05 Dec 2014 - 18 Dec 2014

So this trip was my first trip overseas so I was a tad bit nervous at first. We started up north working our way down from New York to New Orleans in 14 days. Going from one New to another I learnt so much about myself and about America. We started our trip in Philly starting at the Steps that Rocky ran up which symbolises where I wanted to be at the end of my trip. At the top of those stairs. From New York to New Orleans we saw some amazing/ meaningful sites from the Monuments in Washington to the historic buildings down south, learning along the way richness of history America has from our hop on tour guides as well as our fabulous tour guide James who made the trip what it was along with Markus the Bus Driver who did a phenomenal job of driving and with both of them becoming like family for my 14 days. By the end of this trip I had eaten enough buffalo wings to recommend everyone trying them, I went to a lot of breweries which had amazing beers that we don't experience too much of in Australia, I made so many friends that I hope to catch up with them when they get home and overall I made memories that will last a lifetime. I recommend this trip to everyone, I suggest to do the Grand Southern, one of my regrets is not continuing on as all my friends looked like they were having so much fun. I will be doing contiki again as it is definitely worth it.

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: fabulous, learning, experiences

event 0.3
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!!!

06 Jan 2012 - 19 Jan 2012

I had the most amazing time ever on this trip. Out of the 3 North America tours i did (also did New York New Year and California Highlights) this was def the most exciting of all. Made fantastic friends, ate fantastic foods in New Orleans, saw amazing sites including visits to the beautiful Charleston and Savannah. Drew, our TM and Ray, our driver were both incredible and made our trip the best it possibly could be. They went above and beyond- in Cocoa Beach they organised an amazing poolside cookout (BBQ) for us!
The optionals were usually pretty awesome (my favourites: the swamp boat in Louisiana and the New Orleans School of Cooking) but next time i probably would pass on the Miami Party Cruise and Riverboat in New Orleans.
My biggest advice if you go on the tour is to not go too hard at nighttime all the time because the East Coast of the USA (even small towns that you may think might have nothing to over you) has such rich history and beautiful sites.
The hotels we stayed in were of a good standard, great when you consider the overall cost of the tour.
Overall this is a fantastic value for money tour!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: unforgettable , amazing, unreal

event 0.3
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!!!

06 Jan 2012 - 19 Jan 2012

I had the most amazing time ever on this trip. Out of the 3 North America tours i did (also did New York New Year and California Highlights) this was def the most exciting of all. Made fantastic friends, ate fantastic foods in New Orleans, saw amazing sites including visits to the beautiful Charleston and Savannah. Drew, our TM and Ray, our driver were both incredible and made our trip the best it possibly could be. They went above and beyond- in Cocoa Beach they organised an amazing poolside cookout (BBQ) for us!
The optionals were usually pretty awesome (my favourites: the swamp boat in Louisiana and the New Orleans School of Cooking) but next time i probably would pass on the Miami Party Cruise and Riverboat in New Orleans.
My biggest advice if you go on the tour is to not go too hard at nighttime all the time because the East Coast of the USA (even small towns that you may think might have nothing to over you) has such rich history and beautiful sites.
The hotels we stayed in were of a good standard, great when you consider the overall cost of the tour.
Overall this is a fantastic value for money tour!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: unforgettable , amazing, unreal

event 0.3
  • beckyB00
  • beckyB00
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Eastern Discovery (Start New York City)

Tour Review

18 Feb 2011 - 03 Mar 2011

I had the time of my life on this tour! My tour guide Kelly was so much fun, she was extremely approachable and knowledgeable. The accommodation was awesome and the sights were unforgettable. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to have fun, make great friends and have an easy, no stress holiday :)

Review written May 2011

My Contiki was: Exciting, Fun, Easy

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Team

An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team

Food

  • 18 meals: 11 breakfasts & 7 dinners

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
See More

Me Time

See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$170
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
7 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.