Vietnam Experience

Tour Length
12 days
From
US$1685
Overview Reviews

Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Vietnam was the best experience

21 Jun 2016 - 02 Jul 2016

If I can given any advice to anyone, book the Vietnam Experience trip. There was not a single moment that I was not in awe of this country! There are so many things to see, do and eat. Contiki caters for all the needs. The beauty and bustle is breathe taking. Best trip I have ever had. Absolutely perfection. My trip manager was Shannon - she was outstanding! You are lucky if you ever get her.

Review written Aug 2016

My Contiki was: Experience, Besttime, Outstanding

event 0.3
  • Kat F
  • Kat F
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great way to explore Vietnam!

06 Aug 2016 - 17 Aug 2016

This trip was awesome. I met up with a bunch of people prior to the start of the tour using the contiki app and found that a lot of the people on my tour were solo travellers like me. There was a range of ages, personalities and nationalities but we all got on really well and were able to have a laugh. Our tour guide James aka Tintin was awesome and really made the trip wonderful for everyone no matter what their travel style. He was full of knowledge about where to eat, shop and party. My favourite parts of our trip were the Mekong delta, we went mud fishing and I caught one! The Cu Chi tunnels were really informative and gave you an insight into the history of Vietnam and the war. Hoi An, biking around the ancient town, enjoying the lanterns and getting some clothes made at Yaly. Halong bay is amazing and the pirate party we had was epic! My advice is do all the inclusions, they were all interesting experiences and make sure you bring a swimsuit you don't mind getting muddy, mine got a bit stained, luckily it was an old one.

Review written Aug 2016

My Contiki was: History, Buckets, Friends

event 0.3
  • LloydD
  • LloydD
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Vietnam Trip of a Lifetime

01 Aug 2015 - 12 Aug 2015

I went to Vietnam with Contiki and I have to say, I had the best possible time. I was really unsure about what I was booking when I was in the travel agent, I had never done anything like this before and was a little apprehensive. I (as usual) failed to do any real research and just wanted to get out of the UK so I could see the sun. I didn't have any friends that were travelling at the time and decided to book with Contiki for one trip and another tour manager for my Thailand portion of the trip, this was suggested to me by the travel agent and I agreed.

I started in Vietnam, using the app to meet some of my group before the official start of the trip, which was great. Eventually came the official meeting time and I met my tour manager, Tom Morris. Was very clear with all the 'boring' administration things we had to do first but made us feel completely comfortable considering it could have been a little intimidating meeting all these new people.

Meetings over, I will summarise the whole trip in a lot less detail but we got to go around all of Vietnam, I had an amazing time with a fantastic group of people and it was all topped off by how good Tom was, he was a fountain of knowledge about every little place we visited, he was professional when things went wrong (I got my my stolen in a night club and we managed to get it back!) but he was also a great deal of fun! He made sure the whole group were happy all of the time and as a result, we all got to do everything we wanted to do individually and we also managed to spend heaps of time together. It was the perfect mix of free time and group activities (which we chose at the beginning of the trip).
I still have amazing memories of this trip and I give Tom a lot of the credit because, I went on my second trip straight after with a different company... Although I had a fun group and the place was amazing, the tour manager was very formal and nowhere near as informative. I didn't really know where to go and eat, I ended up in some dodgy places because I didn't know what to avoid, I took 2 books for the whole holiday (including Vietnam) by the start of Thailand, 10 days into my holiday, I was 2 pages in because I was having too much fun to read, by the end of Thailand, a week later, I was half way through my second book. That was all because I didn't know where to go and didn't know what I could do so I sat and read instead. Yes, this can all be solved by me doing research but isn't that why you go on these trips?

I had a great time in Vietnam and if I could change 1 thing about my trip as a whole it would have been to book Contiki for the entire trip.

Thank you Tom and thank you Contiki!

Review written Feb 2016

My Contiki was: Tom rocks!, Vietnam is amazing, Contiki are best.

event 0.3
  • Vanessa
  • Vanessa
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A pleasing variety in Vietnam

17 Aug 2013 - 28 Aug 2013

It's safe to say that as my first Contiki tour this definitely didn't fit into the stereotypical mould often associated with the company. While there was certainly partying, the variety of ages and personalities meant choosing when you wanted to participate and most nights were more of a chilling out with a beer variety rather than clubbing.

I really enjoyed this itinerary and felt like in 12 days we covered a great variety of the country's landscape from the impossible to cross streets of Ho Chi Minh to the breathtaking overnight cruise in Halong Bay (really wish this was two nights!)

I was pleasantly surprised by Nha Trang and its beautiful beaches and the Sailing Club dinner here was fantastic. The optional day trip out on a boat was enjoyed by everyone and the mud baths nearby were great fun also!

Hanoi is also a cool city, as is Hue (especially the drive here which had wonderful greenery to be seen on the way in). Taking a trip down and spending the night in a home stay on the Mekong Delta was a definite highlight too.

The local guides provided great insight into the many hardships faced by the Vietnamese only decades ago. The cu chi tunnels provide a real face to the war especially.

Internal flights all ran to time, bus was always clean and the accommodation and food were good too. Phoebe, our tour leader, was helpful and organised and overall this tour provided an easy and enjoyable way to discover the highlights of Vietnam!

Review written Jan 2016

My Contiki was: cultural, beautiful, hectic yet enjoyable!

event 0.3
  • Justin
  • Justin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A very good first Contiki

10 Nov 2015 - 21 Nov 2015

Was awesome, went all the way through Vietnam, Contiki was great met people, did all activities, got harassed and ripped off by locals, stayed in good hotels, saw the War Museum and VC tunnels, shot guns, rode scooters, had a mud bath, went to beaches, local restaurants, beach restaurants and night markets, went on a boat tour and swam in the river and dived off the boat and snorkeled. Got clothes made at Yalys, rode bikes around, went to a cooking class, visited the imperial palace and local temples and pagodas, did karoke, bought stuff, went to Halong Bay and kayaked and stayed on a boat, showed everyone my penis. Great trip 9/10

Review written Dec 2015

My Contiki was: Out of comfort zoning, Hot, Worth it

event 0.3
  • jmnpm
  • jmnpm
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

More well-rounded than I was expecting

31 Oct 2015 - 11 Nov 2015

First of all, a confession: I'm older than the usual Contiki crowd (33) and not much of a party guy, so I was a bit afraid I would not fit weel with the group, given the reputation. I was completely wrong, though: the group was diverse and there was time to party (hard) but also to learn about the culture and explore the amazing sights of Vietnam. If you have the same doubts do yourself a favor and give it a try.

I must say that a lot of the success of our tour is due to our amazing Tour Manager, Az, who made everyone feel awesome basically the whole time, even on long drives after long nights. He is a rockstar and you'll be lucky to have him in your tour.

Vietnam is, itself, an amazing place to visit. Here are some of my personal highlights:

- the food: whether having a fancy dinner at the Sailing Club in Nha Trang or sitting on a tiny plastic bench in Hanoi, vietnamese food will always delight you;
- Ha Long Bay: I've been lucky to visit over 60 countries already and Ha Long Bay is one of those world class places that you won't see anywhere else;
- Hanoi: from the peace and quiet of the Temple of Literature to the hustle and bustle of the old quarter, Hanoi is delightful..if you survive crossing the streets!
- Mekong Delta: you'll only experience this if you do the Experience tour (not the Highlights) and I'd recommend you do it if you have the possibility. From all our stops I think it was the most vietnamese, as in less touched by tourism, and you get to eat very exotic food while drinking some killer jungle juice.

Finally, I'd like to mention the group spirit as another highlight in itself: this is of course always different, but I've realized that Contiki catches the attention of the right people, young fun and adventurous. You'll make friends from all over the world

tl;dr: just do it, you'll love it!

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, Culture, Food

event 0.3
  • Simran
  • Simran
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

#noregrets

29 Aug 2015 - 09 Sep 2015

I am so glad I went with this trip vs. the highlights one. Visiting Mekong Delta was so worth it and I highly recommend you choose this tour over that one!

Be prepared to be shocked…in a good way!

I fell in love with Vietnam! The country is so beautiful in its own way. Not all cities are pretty and polished. You get to actually see Vietnam and that is what I loved about it!

Ho Chi – not much to do in this city. The night life is pretty good; we went to this bar where you can get pitchers drink – 2 for 1 and that was a lot of fun! A must try is Pho. I can’t say which place our tour guide, Shannon, took us, but the one she did take us – by far best PHO I ever had!

Mekong Delta – this was a lot of fun! The tea house and lunch was nice; loved the tea! Staying at the guesthouse was an experience! Had a lot of fun going on the bikes and then of course the night time festivities was great!

Nha Trang – this city I found to be very tailored for tourists. Mud bath excursion is something to try for an experience if you haven’t done it before; I was a bit disappointed as I was expecting something else BUT I did enjoy it regardless. Like me, if you are not doing the cruise/snorkel, do not worry – HIT THE BEACH! It’s GORGEOUS! The water was beautiful! This was the only day I basically did nothing but stay at the beach all day long! Loved the tan I got!

Hoi An - by far, my favourite city was Hoi An. It’s a small city but it’s beautiful, especially at night. I HIGHLY recommend you do your entire souvenir shopping here! No other city beats it – this was my mistake; saved it all for Hanoi and I regret it. A must – the cooking class! This was A LOT OF FUN and the food we made and ate after…omg…I can’t replicate it! The city light up at night and it’s just breathtaking. Ask your tour guide about Banh Mi; apparently this one shop makes the best Banh Mi ever and it’s true – they do! Also, I can’t say much but apparently everyone else was happy when we stopped by this shop where they can tailor basically anything. Check it out and see if it’s for you. But again – definitely do all your other shopping!

Now it’s not part of the Contiki tour but if you love to EAT and love Vietnamese food, I HIGHLY recommend you sign up for Taste of Hoi An Food tour. You will love it – I promise! Read about it on Trip Advisor!

Hue – this was okay; short, which was good a good thing. The cyclo ride was a lot of fun (included in tour price) so enjoy that! Not much to say here as I didn’t really spend a lot of time doing much of anything really. It was 1 day and the day was long. Ended up coming back to the hotel and watching some movies and resting 

Hanoi – this city was pretty and oh so busy! You can easily get lost – like I did! But it’s a nice city. Got some shopping done but again, try to get it done in Hoi An. Got some pretty neat stuff from this Poster store – close to the hotel; hard to miss. Go on Trip Advisor to find this little shop that sells Bank Mi. They too had an amazing Banh Mi; went there quite a few times while in Hanoi.

Halong Bay – OMG. This was beautiful! I can’t describe what I saw but be prepared to see something very beautiful. FYI the dinner on the cruise…if you are not FULLY a fan of sea food like myself, then go with the veggie option.

Overall – I love Vietnam! No regrets; wish I could go back! If you like Vietnamese food, then perfect! If you LOVE smoothies and juices – then you’re in luck. They are EVERYWHERE and really good!

FYI – It’s bloody hot here! I went end of August – first week of September and wow. The humidity will kill you; stay hydrated!

For days where you go on your own for lunch/dinner, use Trip Advisor. It REALLY saved me and I was not disappointed.

Hotels were surprisingly REALLY nice and proper! And yes, they have AC, free wifi and couple of tv shows that play English movies 

I was able to pull cash from the ATM’s – mainly got it all done in Hoi Chi. Many places take VISA. And the exchange rate done on my VISA/bank account was pretty good (CDN – Dong).

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: #noregrets, #treatyourself

event 0.3
  • GregY
  • GregY
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Very Well Organized Tour

02 May 2015 - 13 May 2015

This was one of the best vacations I've ever been on. I've previously read some not-so-good reviews about Contiki (e.g. tours centering entirely around drinking and partying), but this trip definitely exceeded my expectations. It was a perfect mix of nature, culture and nightlife. I don't like getting wasted every night, though I do enjoy the occasional bar night here and there, and I still fit in with the group perfectly.

Best things on this trip: everything was great, and Vietnam is very different from Western Countries. In particular, I enjoyed Nha Trang beach and the boat cruise, the My Son temples, driving through the Pass through the Ocean Clouds, as well as walking around crazy crowded Hanoi and getting 25-cent beer among the locals. Of course, my favorite place was Halong Bay. This place is amazing and I got to kayak and see monkeys, swim on the beach as well as go to a big cave.
Another great thing about Vietnam: the food. Prior to going, my coworkers told me the food is amazing, and they were proven right. My favorite place was Bale Well in Hoi An. Our trip manager Courtney took us there, and it's about $6 for all you can eat spring rolls, chicken and pork skewers and banh xeo (Vietnamese pancakes). Also we went to a place in Saigon that served beef that you cooked yourself on a roof tile and in Hanoi we went to Koto, a restaurant that employs street children and teaches them about the restaurant industry. If you go on this trip, do not order western food unless it's at a really nice place, as most likely you'll be disappointed and the local food is so much better. There were several of us on the trip who don't eat seafood, as well as a vegetarian, and Contiki was able to provide us with very good meals that fit these preferences.

Our trip manager Courtney was great and very knowledgeable about Vietnam. She was always able to suggest places to eat, drink and visit. Also our whole group was great, and I feel like everyone got along really well. Contiki is a nice way to travel by yourself but never be alone, and I'm thinking of going on another Contiki trip next year.

Review written Oct 2015

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • JN
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience

50/50

14 Feb 2015 - 25 Feb 2015

This was my first Contiki.
I had high hopes for it; also the best & purest intentions. The tour was very good and planned well, but I don't miss the people I was with. I was very new to travelling and very scared. I asked for some guidance from my group & guide, and although they told me they would help me - they didn't.
When I ran into a cash crisis in the middle of my tour, my guide wasn't very sympathetic of my situation. I was here to tour on a budget, not spend wildly like I'm on holiday! He wasn't taking good care of people in the group who didn't want to go out either. The Tour guide took us to bars and after parties every night! After another party, we had an early morning flight just 3 hours afterwards and I decided to return to the hotel to pack and sleep. Our guide didn't even make it to the bus! Someone had to go and wake him up 5 minutes before the bus had to move! I lost so much respect for my guide when I found out he was sleeping with a girl from our group; this upset me more when I reviewed that this is normal behaviour on Contiki tours. I was hoping for a more adult and proper tour, but this kind of behaviour made me uncomfortable. I found my guide a bit unprofessional, since it looks like he's taking advantage of younger members of our group. I'm put off Contiki.

Review written Apr 2015

My Contiki was: Put off contiki, Sleeping around, unprofessional

event 0.3
  • Paul
  • Paul
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Life Changing and Cultural Experience

25 Nov 2014 - 06 Dec 2014

As an individual who loves to travel and explore, I will have to say that this was probably the best decision I have ever made. Vietnam was the most incredible country I have ever visited in my life. This adventure had absolutely everything you could ask for; culture, history, tradition and modernity, amazing food and tons of heavy duty exploring.

This was my second time doing Contiki Tours (first time having done so in Europe) and all I can say is that Contiki by all means never disappoints. All Contiki does is make sure you have life changing experiences and that you transform into a world class traveller. I travelled solo and met people from all over the world. There were travellers from Canada, the U.S., the U.K, Scotland, Switzerland, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Everyone bonded so great and became friends for life. I must say that every day I miss all the wonderful character my travel mates had and were the ones that made this adventure as special as it was.

Our tour manager, Danny, was the best. He went out of his way and worked tremendously hard to ensure we all had the greatest experience of our lives. He arranged dinners, lunch and cooking class in Hoi An, biking tours, museum tours and took care of everyone's requested accommodations so courteously.

As for my own experience on the tour, here is a breakdown of every destination:

Mekong Delta - This destination is only included on the Experience tour (nine mates joined us on the Highlights tour as it is the same tour) so if you want an experience in the jungle, this is the option to choose. It was the first day and night that the group really got to develop chemistry and bond together. From wearing rice paddy straw hats, to adventuring on the Mekong River, to trying freshly produced coconut caramels, rice crispys, snake soup and jungle juice vodka, oh and elephant fish for lunch, the food was just delicious. Our homestay at the family guest house was an experience to remember. Our local guide, Kevin, arranged for the locals to perform some Vietnamese cultural entertainment for the group, which was awesome. Come prepared with bug spray, because mosquitos and other bugs just roam everywhere at nighttime. The night was fun packed with drinking games and parties.

Cu Chi - The next destination on the way back to Ho Chi Minh City is the part of the trip that provides you with a brilliant learning experience about the Vietnam War (American War as its known in Vietnam). The experience of crawling through the rat tunnels will give you an understanding about how brave and courageous you had to have been to be able to crawl in those dark claustrophobic spaces in wartime. I cant forget to mention firing AK47s and M16s at the Cu Chi gun range, giving you the warlike scenario. There are also B-52 bomb craters to check out.

Ho Chi Minh City - Out of all the destinations, Ho Chi Minh (Saigon) was probably my least favourite. The city is very large and quite dirty. We met our group at the hotel the night prior to the Mekong Delta and later nine new travellers joined us for the Highlights tour. The only exception I enjoyed in Saigon was the War Remnants Museum. As an individual who is big into history and wanted to become more educated about the Vietnam War from the Vietnamese perspective, this place along with the rat tunnels in Cu Chi were some of the most unique, yet sombering experiences I have done. Seeing the museum really shows you how so much of the history in Vietnam was tragic and that they went through so much to get to where they are today, particularly to open up its doors to tourism to flourish their economy. The last thing about Saigon that impressed me was the local Saigon Beer. It is awesome and you will not have a chance to find this anywhere else in the world, so take advantage of this opportunity.

Nha Trang - Probably my most favourite due to it being the tourist destination of Vietnam. It is well known for bringing in many Russian tourists and lots of Russians live and work there. Danny organized a mud bath for the group and took us to the Sailing Club for delicious seafood dinner and a beach party, which was epic. Unfortunately, due to a storm out in the South China Sea, our snorkelling adventure got cancelled. Since the snorkelling was cancelled, the group just went about doing their own things and we met up later at the hotel.

Hoi An - Flew into Da Nang, had rice pancake spring rolls for lunch at Ba Le Well and took a cooking class at night. Visited the ancient temple in My Son in pouring monsoon rain, which made the experience more cultural. Late November is monsoon season in central Vietnam. Van, our local tour guide for the My Son adventure and a Vietnam War veteran with the US Army as an interpreter was amazing. Very highly educated, he shared with the group some incredible stories of his life experiences, particularly during the war. Cant forget to mention the tailor made clothes at high quality standards for relatively cheap prices. Advice: bring you're own clothes and the tailors will make identical clothes within a day. Danny arranged for us to visit Yaly Coture. If you ever see the lovely Pamela, I certainly recommend her as she helped organize my fitting for my awesome new suit I had tailored. Opportunity to do laundry with the local tour guide, Gaiu (Laow) just down the road from the hotel. He will also lend you bicycles for you to ride around the town for cheap price.

Hue - Didn't really have enough time to get adjusted to the culture here, but we visited the Ancient Citadel and Pagoda Temple up the Perfume River. Not to mention the ride in the cyclos, which Danny arranged. So much fun. Also had the opportunity to try some of the local food where you would not get the chance to try anywhere else.

Hanoi - The complete opposite from Saigon, and certainly a city full of history, entertainment and plenty of sightseeing. Hotel was the nicest on the whole tour. Went to a Vietnamese water puppet show, which was fascinating to see. Visited the Mausoleum of Vietnam's father figure of independence, Ho Chi Minh and the Temple of Literature.

Halong Bay - All I can say are these words: HIGHLIGHT OF THE TOUR!!!! Photographs just do not do the trick for this part of the tour. Basically have to be there first hand to get a true experience of this destination. Junk boat was wicked. We kayaked into the cove and got lucky to see some monkeys (the monkeys do not always appear on some days). Had a pirate theme party with the group on the boat in the evening. Went cave exploring the morning before our trip back to Hanoi. Only thing I wish that would have been different for the group and I was the weather. Was cloudy and cool since it was early December. The north part of Vietnam is cooler at this time of year than the south. Still the best part of the whole tour.

All in all, Vietnam Experience was the best tour I have ever done and made nothing but amazing memories that I will cherish for a lifetime. Contiki is no doubt the best tour company in the entire world. The one thing I would have changed would have been to do the entire Indochina adventure in Thailand, Laos and Cambodia as a few of the travellers in the group explored those countries prior to Vietnam.

Last Recommendation: Try to stay in Hanoi for an extra day or two as many of the Contiki mates did in order to do sightseeing of some of the city's landmarks. I chose to extend for a day and got the opportunity to visit the body of Ho Chi Minh inside the Mausoleum, (very quick, yet intense and emotional experience), Hoa Lo Prison (Hanoi Hilton), Vietnamese Museum of Military History and Vietnamese Ethology Museum. I was exhausted after seeing all those sites in one day, but is certainly worth the effort and investment as I learned so much. The ME time activities are limited, but all amazing. Do all the activities if you can?

Overall, do not hesitate and think too much about exploring Vietnam; JUST DO IT!!!!!! No Regrets

Review written Apr 2015

My Contiki was: Fascinating Culture, Incredible Experience, Amazing Food

event 0.3
  • JC
  • JC
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

12 of the Best Days Ever!

23 Dec 2014 - 03 Jan 2015

For me, going on this trip was quite spontaneous and a spur of the moment thing, but it turned out to be one of the best decisions and one of the most incredible experiences of my life so far.

I travelled solo and did this tour over Christmas/New Year and had the best time. I met the most incredible people from all over the world. I met people from Australia, South Africa, the US, Germany, Ireland and we all got along like a house on fire! So much so, I miss them every day!

Overall, it's a safe place to travel (although beware of pickpockets, especially at night - don't take your valuables out with you), your money goes so much further there, the accommodation is great, the people are so friendly and the food is unbelievable.

I'd recommend the Vietnam Experience over the Highlights tour, purely as you have the extra 2 days at the start. With the 'Experience' tour, you go to the Mekong Delta and that is the first full day of the tour. The night in the jungle was a great ice-breaker of a night and a great bonding experience for the group. The people who joined later as part of the 'Highlights' tour very much became a part of the family, but were like 'oh man!' when they heard about the night in the Mekong!

Highlights for me were:

-Christmas Eve at the homestay in the Mekong Delta.
-Nha Trang. The day on the boat/swimming in the sea and the night at the Sailing Club were incredible.
-Halong Bay. Like nothing you've ever seen before. You'll be awestruck at it's beauty. Kayaking in the bay and through those limestone karsts was just magic. Photos just don't do this place justice. Quite possibly the most beautiful place I've ever been.

I feel the group dynamic on the whole is slightly better on Contiki Asia tours than the Euro ones, as there is a max of 30 here. As a result, everyone gets to know everyone really well and it's like everyone's known each other for ages!

This country has so much history, everywhere you go, it's such an interesting place. I'm so glad I made the spontaneous decision to go on this trip. I've got friends for life and still reminisce about this trip all the time.

If you've got any questions at all, feel free to hit me up here or on facebook, I'll be happy to answer them! My instagram's also got many photos of the trip (@adamjcp), feel free to check it out!

Last recommendation - If you can, spend a bit more time after the trip in Hanoi. There are a few people who stay behind a bit longer after the tour and all you'll want to do is keep exploring with your new contiki family!

Review written Apr 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, Stunning, So much fun

event 0.3
  • MichaelC
  • MichaelC
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Vietnam Experience

31 Dec 2011 - 11 Jan 2012

It's been a bit over 3 years since I have been on this tour, and it is truly a trip you will never forget.

From the moment you arrive in Ho Chi Minh City, right through to you say your goodbyes in Hanoi; the Vietnam Experience is full of highlights, excitement and unforgettable memories.

We had the privilege of starting our tour on New Years Eve, in Ho Chi Minh City. Talk about a party! The streets were filled with tourists and locals, all bringing in the New Year in style, with plenty of drinks, laughs and spray foam, as we spilled out into the streets for the countdown to midnight. This was the perfect opportunity to get to know my fellow travelers and guides.

Bargains can be found all around in Ho Chi Minh City. Try your luck at the Bến Thành markets, which is close to your accommodation. You can find all sorts of things there from Watches, Clothing, Food, Frogs, Turtles and even Snake Wine; A truly unique product you can’t miss, and one that you will have many chances to sample over the next 12 days.

From the hustle and bustle of the city, to the relaxed Mekong Delta, the home stay was truly an experience you will want to take in. I always look for an opportunity on my travels to really engulf myself in the culture of where I am. Contiki defiantly give you this opportunity, and the locals are extremely welcoming, friendly, and kind. We got to enjoy a great local performance as well as take on the challenge of fishing, using nothing but a bowl and our own two hands, a skill which only some in the group could master.

Traveling back to Ho Chi Minh City after an interesting night getting to know everyone better with a bit of Jungle Juice, we traveled to the Cu Chi Tunnel. These tunnels where used by guerrilla fighters during what the Vietnamese call the “American” War. Even if you are claustrophobic, try to muster the courage to down into the tunnels and work your way through. A truly unique experience and a sobering insight.

Next we visit Nha Trang, in what us Australians on the tour affectionately refer to as the Gold Coast of Vietnam. This is definitely one place you will want to take the ME options available on tour. Take the cruise offshore and enjoy some great swimming, snorkelling and lunch. There was heaps of unexpected surprises to be had on this cruise, and well worth the extra cash to experience.

Nha Trang is know for relaxation, and what better way to relax then with a trip to the Mud Baths. Not only an experience for the ladies, this is a great way to chill out and relax. At one stage we where treated to a fantastic hot spring soak with what can only be described as a giant tea bag!

A short flight to our next stop Hoi An, aka the fashion capital of Vietnam. Hoi An is famous for it tailors. Grab yourself a stylish suit, a swish dress, or anything else you can imagine. It’s a good idea before you travel to Vietnam, to take some photos of things you would like to have made, the tailors in Hoi An will make anything you can dream of.
At this stage in the tour we decided it would be a perfect opportunity to take on Vietnam’s famous traffic head on. After hiring mopeds (from the same place we got our laundry done) we headed for the coast and took in the amazing scenery along the way.

This is just a taste of the many experiences you will have on this tour. I've made life long friends on this trip, and we all still reminisce about this tour 3 years on. There is so much to see and do. Party on the beach in Nah Trang, Get styled and learn to cook amazing food in Hoi An, take in the natural beauty of Ha Long Bay, and enjoy the craziness that is Hanoi!

I'd highly recommend clicking the BOOK NOW button, if you have a sense of adventure, for a trip that you'll truly never forget!

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Immersive, Amazing, Memorable

event 0.3
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!

01 Jul 2014 - 12 Jul 2014

An incredible Contiki Adventure.
It was my first contiki tour, I was going alone and I was scared. The contiki was easy to organise and tour leader Pheobee, made me feel so comfortable and at ease. You meet so many people, so do not be scared to go alone - You won't regret it!

What we saw/What we did: Do all of the optional extras, I did and they were all awesome. Beware of the heat, bring electrolytes, drink plenty of water and wear a hat. In terms of what we, Ho Chi Minh is great, arrive early and spend a few extra days there. The Mekong Delta and the home stay night is awesome fun, beware of the Jungle Punch though. The Cu Chi tunnels was an amazing experiences, yes it is cramped and small inside, but you must go in! It's something you'll never forget. Nha Trang, was my favourite destination. The island hopping day in Nha Trang is a must, the mud baths were heaps of fun too. In Hoi An everything is absolutely adorable, I didn't get anything made, but heaps of people chose to get clothes made, instead we decided to get a bit of pampering, hire bikes and explore the towns and beaches (it was incredible). Then heading up to Hanoi and Halong Bay, Hanoi is a pretty cool city, we had a lot of fun there, and Halong Bay is amazing! The canoeing optional is a must, the caves are beautiful and the Boat party is great Fun.

Optionals: Do all the optionals, its a once in a life time experience, do them all! If not, the Island hopping in Nha Trang, The Mudbaths, The Temple visit and the Canoeing in Halong Bay were the most fun.

Accommodation/Food: All of the accommodation was beautiful. The hotels were in awesome locations and so clean and beautiful and all came with breakfast. The Mekong Delta special stay is heaps of fun and very clean too. I did not have a bad meal at all in Vietnam, try everything, their local and western food is both amazing.

Transport: The bus was great, clean and with zircon - don't worry you sleep most of the time on the buses anyways.

Tour mates, Best Moments: Everything was a highlight. There was never a dull moment. It was definitely worth the money. Everyone in the group was lovely, I was 18 at the time and the youngest, the group ranged in aged up to 32. Everyone got on really well with a group of 29 at it's biggest, some people left on different tours at different points in the journey. As for best moment, I met a guy on Tour from Perth (I am from Queensland) and we are still dating today, it was love at first sight.

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Exceptional , Well-organsied, Fun

event 0.3
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

incredible

06 Jan 2015 - 17 Jan 2015

this tour was amazing, we got to see so much of vietnam, with the weather holding out for the magnificent halong bay, on an incredibly nice junk boat. great sights, great people, great food. We had the most amazing tour guide ever lee, who never failed to make us happy and had continued to have a great time with us. i would highly recommend this tour but if you have a bit more time on your hands book the big indo tour as this is part of that tour and i plan to go back to do the asian adventure which is the beginning of the big indo before vietnam. Vietnam was amazing, great on a budget as things are very cheap, its a full on trip make sure you do all the extras!!!!

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: incredible, beautiful, cultural

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Farid
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

What a blast! Truly the best way to initially explore an area

20 Dec 2014 - 31 Dec 2014

I had the best experience on my Vietnam Experience. First off, I definitely recommend this tour over the shorter one in Vietnam. Those extra few days in the Mekong Delta are truly amazing and got a bit ... wild. This was my first contiki but I'm extremely impressed and convinced this is the best way for young-ish people to initially travel a foreign area. Having an excellent tour guide, a group of friends and itinerary made sure I felt like I was getting the best bang for my buck.
The thing that makes contiki special though are the tour managers (thanks Danny!) and the other travellers your with. Its amazing how quickly you might develop friendships (maybe travel to their home country!)
On top of all this, Vietnam was amazing! Everyone needs to go visit Vietnam soon before its completely changed. Its quickly becoming a westernized city and its in this great spot right now where you can see the old historic culture clash with new technologies.
Did I mention the Pho ? :)

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: Pho, Amazing, Party

event 0.3
  • C.R.
  • C.R.
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Vietnam Experience

Vietnam Experience

20 Dec 2014 - 31 Dec 2014

This was without doubt the best trip of my life. I wasn't sure what to expect, it being my first contiki, and spending Christmas and New Years in a different country with people I didn't know. All i can say is that the sights that we saw were breathtaking, the experiences and memories I made will last me forever and the friends I met are friends for a lifetime.

Our tour guide Danny was so helpful, and went above and beyond to make sure that everyone's needs were met and that we were all taken care of. He gave us heaps of options for activities in our spare time, and had great local knowledge of each place. Our guides spoke excellent english and were really fun!

From the quiet street of Hoi An, getting tailor made clothes fitted, to the huge beach parties in Nah Trang, it was a once in a lifetime gig. Theres something for everyone.

Vietnam is a must do. The country is beautiful. And i couldn't imagine doing it through any one other than Contiki!

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: Wild, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Julia
  • Julia
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Vietnam Experience

25 Nov 2014 - 06 Dec 2014

The 12 day tour of Vietnam Experience is a fantastic way to see the country. We were told it is a more in-depth Contiki tour, because we spend so long on one country. It is definitely time well spent, because while it is not a big country, it is incredibly diverse, and there are big differences between the north and south, in culture, buildings and food. It is definitely worth booking the experience ahead of the Vietnam Highlights, as we thought the Mekong Delta homestay experience was great fun, and the Cu Chi tunnels very valuable in our understanding of the Vietnam War. The optionals, I think, are worth doing, and all of them. You will find the weather varies across the country, because it is so long, so you can never pick a time of year where the entire country has perfect weather.
Things you will see: Ho Chi Minh City - the cathedral, post office, Ben Thanh Markets (though I suggest do more of this in your own time, because we actually didn't really get a lot of time actually in the market if you want to do some shopping), War Remnants Museum (if you like history, and want to read it all in-depth, you may need to see it again, or in your own time, as we had enough time to read about two levels of stuff, but I had to skip the end)
Mekong Delta and Cu Chi Tunnels
Nha Trang - we were supposed to go on a snorkelling trip, but didn't due to a typhoon warning. We went to Yang Bay Tourist Park - it's a really weird place, and some may find it a bit uncomfortable there. It seems to be built by the Vietnamese, specifically for the large Russian population that visit Nha Trang and surrounding areas
Hoi An - this place is beautiful! The tailoring shop that is recommended to us by Contiki is very reliable, and better quality than most places here. Linh Shoe Shop for shoes and bags was also quite good, though if you are looking to emulate a particular design, the lady didn't really pick up on specific details. You will see My Son Temples, but I didn't go because I was hungover and tired from a big night before, so I can't say how it was.
Hue - you only spend one day here, and the day is jam-packed and well spent. Our bus broke down between Hoi An and Hue because the driver didn't fill up, but that was the only issue we had. It was also the wet season in Hoi An and Hue.
Hanoi and Halong bay - Halong Bay is definitely one of the big highlights of the trip. In Hanoi's old quarter, there is so much shopping to be done, so if you don't get to go to the Ben Thanh markets in Ho Chi Minh City, don't worry. Apparently The North Face stuff is cheaper in Hoi An and Hue than Hanoi though. Egg coffee at Cafe 39/Friz Coffee at 39 Nguyen Huu Huan St is really good. Pho 10 and the Banh Mi lady just up the street there are both really good. Hang Dieu St. had Bun Bo Nam Bo, which was an amazing dish! So much good food to eat!

All accommodation was good, the Vien Dong hotel was the most basic, and probably what we were actually expecting, but the other hotels exceeded expectations.
Everything was organised by our tour leader perfectly and everything ran smoothly. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: In-depth, Delicious, Beautiful

event 0.3
  • Amanda
  • Amanda
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Vietnam Experience

Do it, you'll love it!

04 Nov 2014 - 15 Nov 2014

Our Contiki trip through Vietnam was such an eye opener, and so different to any other tour I had previously been on. My boyfriend and I went on the Vietnam Experience tour from 4 Nov-15 Nov 2014, I think there were about 24 of us in total when the Vietnam Highlights group joined us on day 3 back in Saigon. Everyone clicked really well, and the homestay in the Mekong Delta really helped us bond quickly and brought our group together. Definitely worth the extra money to add those 2 days to your Vietnam trip! Our tour was a special one, as 2 girls from The Bachelor Australia were on our tour, along with writers, bloggers, and 2 big bosses from Contiki to manage them along the way. It was a unique experience having this on our tour (both good & bad points!), but made for some very memorable moments! The Contiki boss Katrina was super lovely & amazing- so glad she came along for the ride! Our tour manager James was really helpful & definitely knew his stuff, powering on even when he felt sick, & was kind enough to give those of us traveling on afterwards many tips on where to go & what to see in Laos, Cambodia, & Thailand as well!

Crossing the road in Saigon is an experience you will never forget, you will never again see so many scooters in your life! The markets throughout Vietnam were awesome for picking up a bargain (Hoi An probably had the best shopping), just keep in mind that Asian sizes are much smaller than Western sizes! Our accommodation was of good quality at each of our destinations (though a little more basic at our Mekong Delta homestay). We were treated to so much delicious food over the 12 days, we were spoilt for choice. So many yummy soups, spring rolls, savoury pancakes & fresh seafood!

Nha Trang was one of our favourite spots, we easily could have stayed here longer! Gorgeous beaches, mud baths were great, snorkeling trip was amazing & dinner at The Sailing Club was one of the best meals of my life! The passionfruit mojito was the best drink I've ever tasted & the mushroom gnocchi was to die for!

Hoi An is World Heritage Listed & I already can't wait to go back & visit it again one day. Had so much fun riding bikes around the old town, exploring the markets & lounging by the pool and visiting the hotel's spa. We all got suits or dresses made there at Yali, I'd strongly recommend having pictures of what you want with you on your phone before visiting, so you can be really clear & specific with them on what you want, to save time and confusion.

By the time we reached Hue we were getting pretty tired, but the Perfume River showed us an amazing sunset & the nightlife there is pretty fun! When we reached Hanoi we were all exhausted & couldn't wait to sleep! Was probably our least favourite destination in Vietnam, the weather was cooler here & overcast, and the city felt like many others in Asia. We also didn't do as much together as a group here. Halong Bay was stunning, although the water was a little cooler this time of year (but not so cold you couldn't swim or kayak). Was amazing to see monkeys close up in the wild on the islands and the scenery was stunning. The pirate party on the junk boat was pretty incredible too!

I'd recommend staying an extra night in Hanoi once your tour ends, as you're bound to make new friends who you'd like to spend more time with! Our group was a mix of (mostly) Aussies, Canadians, South Africans, Brits, a Kiwi and an American. The average age of the group was mid-to-late 20s, which was perfect (no 18yr olds getting crazy silly, or old nanas holding us back), and was of a slower pace & a bit more luxurious than European Contiki tours. I'd definitely recommend an Asian Contiki tour- you money goes so much further in SE Asia and for people like us who had never been to Asia before, it was a great introduction to the culture, and gave us the confidence and knowledge to then travel on in the region by ourselves. I had a blast, & so did my boyfriend (who was initially quite reluctant to do a Contiki tour, but was definitely surprised!). Save your dollars and give it a go- you'll have an amazing time guaranteed! :)

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: surprising, cultural, stunning

event 0.3
  • Daniel_Ben
  • Daniel_Ben
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A full bodied experience with a bit of everything

16 Aug 2014 - 27 Aug 2014

Vietnam is a genuinely beautiful and relatively untouched country that few people in the West (especially Australia) have truly seen. The good thing about this tour is that you get to see it from top to bottom. Central Vietnam (Nha Trang, Hue and Hoi-An) is one of the most beautiful regions of the world I have ever been.

Try ALL THE FOOD AND DRINK on the tour, the rat is good, the snake isn't the best and the snake and banana whisky will literally take your breath away. Get ready for a variety of delicious dishes that will be your staple diet for two weeks, and the spring rolls (wow)...the ones back at home will never be quite as good as they are in Vietnam.

The local people are generally friendly and helpful if you decide to go off the beaten track a bit. In the north they are ruder and less helpful but certainly not as harrassing or annoying as the locals in places like Bali. Be prepared to BARGAIN HARD, that means acting disinterested, walking away, and coming back 30 minutes later. The Vietnamese give no quarter but respect assertiveness.

Contiki get a 10% discount at the Yali (tailor-made) clothing outlet in Hoi-An so take full advantage of this and leave a little space in your luggage for a suit, shoes, dress or whatever you decide to get - there is alot of choice and the quality is top notch for a fraction of what you pay in the West. Both boat cruises off Nha Trang and Halong Bay are definitely worth it and are alot of fun. The Cu-Chi tunnels visited as part of the Vietnam Experience that aren't included in the Highlights tour are also great, make sure you physically get into the tunnels (they are tiny), open your mind to the Vietnamese perspective (while keeping in mind there is alot of blantant Communist propaganda) and shoot an AK-47, M16, Garand or M-60 at the end for good measure. In Hanoi, ask your tour manager to take you to the Water Puppets show, this is a weird and wacky cultural experience that is definitely worth the small entrance fee.

Being a slightly smaller contiki in terms of group size, your experience on this tour is impacted heavily by the quality of the group and tour manager, luckily both for me were good, especially the tour manager Alex Palma. Alex is very knowledgable and helpful, he also is good for a laugh to.

Make sure you book some time before and after your tour in Ho Chi Minh and Hanoi (respectively) at a backpackers, as the backpacking culture is awesome and the pub crawls are definitely worth checking out. Don't get stuck partying with the same people, go and join in with the hundreds of backpackers who are keen to party! Central Backpackers in Hanoi is great for this due to the free beer they serve during happy hour, and the large pub crawls with Hanoi Original Backpackers are legendary.

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Delicious food, Fascinating culture, Beautiful scenery

event 0.3
  • Romer
  • Romer
  • Level 7 Traveler
  • 7 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Vietnam Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Hot sticky fun

26 Oct 2013 - 06 Nov 2013

Had a great time, tour manager James is an absolute legend who ensures everyone has fun. Cultural value with learning about the war and Vietnamese colonial history mixed in with great food and fun outings. The heat can be oppressive and you nearly get killed multiple time crossing the street but it is a great place to visit! Nha Trang was my favourite, great beach town, spend the whole day at the beach if you can. Plenty of variety in the tour, every day is different. Optional snorkel cruise was great fun as was the optional kayaking where we saw monkeys and the overnight boat trip on the bay was great. Word of advice, make sure your room is as far away from the boats engine room as possible. My room was right next to the engine and they keep the engine running constantly and my whole room was shaking and the noise was brutal plus the diesel fumes. That was the only downside, the rest of the tour was amazing. Not to mention all the "Dong" jokes from their currency.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Dong

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 11 nights accommodation: 9 nights in 3-star hotels, 1 night in a guesthouse, 1 night on an overnight cruise
  • 3 internal flights
  • Transport & included sightseeing
Find out more

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & English-speaking local guides
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations
  • Local taxes, payments & service charges

Food

  • 16 meals: 11 breakfasts, 3 lunches & 2 dinners

Inclusions

  • 3 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Cruise the Mekong Delta
  • Live with a local family on an overnight stay
  • Mekong Delta fishing experience
  • Experience the underground tunnel network built by Cu Chi guerrilla fighters over the course of forty years
  • View the Notre Dame Cathedral, General Post Office & Presidential Palace
  • Visit to the War Remnants Museum
  • Enjoy this seaside resort town known for its pristine beaches and turquoise waters
  • Visit Hoi An's UNESCO listed Old Quarter & Japanese covered bridge
  • See stunning scenery en route to Hue
  • Cyclo ride to Hue's Imperial Citadel
  • Visit the Thien Mu Pagoda
  • Visit the Temple of Literature
  • Overnight cruise in a traditional junk boat
  • Swim and explore the lagoon and coral

Me Time

  • Mud Bath Excursion
  • Cruise to offshore islands to swim and snorkel
Find out more

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$140
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

30 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.