Berlin to Budapest

Tour Length
11 days
From
US$1467
Overview Reviews

  • Ashley
  • Ashley
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Trip I've Ever Done!

07 May 2016 - 17 May 2016

This was easily the best trip I've ever done. The group was absolutely amazing, we all got along so well and were all on board for some serious sight seeing during the day, followed by some equally intense partying at night. #ContikiGazelle was fantastic, super knowledgeable and friendly. Prague and Budapest were favourites. I drank more beer on this trip than I ever have in my life, it was that good (plus no hangovers!). Time on the bus was minimal, which was great. Even when we were driving, the views out the windows were phenomenal. Food was okay, but that was to be expected from that part of Europe (so much schnitzel, no complaints here). I thought accommodations were decently central and actually really nice. DO ALL THE ME TIME OPTIONALS - don't miss a thing. They were all worth every single penny. Personal favourites were the traditional Czech evening, Czech river boat cruise, Vienna classical concert and Vienna snapps museum. It was an easy pace, so a ton of free time to wander around the cities and throw back a few pivos. If you can, stay an extra day in Budapest and do the beer biking around town! You get 30 litres of beer with up to a party of 6 - easily best part of my whole vacation. Lots of young single people on this one, which was totally opposite of the Italian Espresso one I did last year.

Review written May 2016

event 0.3
  • colleen26
  • colleen26
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Berlin to Budapest

Amazing Experience

19 Sep 2015 - 29 Sep 2015

This was my first Contiki, but hoping it won't be my last. I have done several escorted tours throughout Europe and China, and by far this was the most enriching experience. Not only was that because of the places we visited, but because of the fellow travelers that became my friends. There is something so amazing about traveling with a group of people that have the same passions as you and operate at the same pace, and enthusiasm as you.

I enjoy slower paced tours as I like to get to know each city, so this tour was pretty good for me. My favorites were Berlin and Prague. Vienna and Budapest were stunning, but with one less night I felt like I didn't get a full chance to soak in the culture, but they were amazing.

My biggest tip -If you can - do the FULL TOUR - Berlin, Prague, Vienna and Budapest. We were so sad to see so many of our friends leave after Prague and Vienna.

I loved sampling all the food and beers and the night clubs in Eastern Europe are amazing. We hit an awesome night club in each city and we always felt safe and had fun! Totally a different experience than ANY club I've been to in the States. LOVED the 5 story night club (complete with ice pub) in Prague - and the Sex Museum, that was an experience.

The hotels weren't too shabby - served their purpose, and I'm kind of picky and I didn't mind - we were barely in them. Stay out all day. They aren't always the most CENTRAL hotels, but again - we leave in the morning and don't come back until late, so never a big deal.

A lot of people don't opt for these countries, but they truly are amazing. I love Eastern Europe - the people and food and siteseeing are fantastic. The history is intense and should be witnessed and remembered.

Some of my favorites: Bike Ride in Berlin, The Berlin Cathedral (climb to the top for great views!), Bike Ride in Prague, Dinner River Cruise in Budapest. We had some free time in each city, and it was nice to have that to explore on our own!

I met some of the best friends I've ever met on this trip and if you're considering it - GO! Loved it!

Review written May 2016

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life Changing, Enriching

event 0.3
  • Rudi
  • Rudi
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Eastern Europe

24 Oct 2015 - 03 Nov 2015

Gonna keep it short.. Some of the most Beautiful cities in the world.. Great informative tour with loads of fun stuff and laughter.. New friends for life.. Another bucket list ticked off ;) Prague & Budapest just Amazing !!!

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: #SightSeeing, #Experience , #NewFriends

event 0.3
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Trip Ever

30 May 2015 - 09 Jun 2015

I just want to quickly give a shout out to #ContikiLasse for making this easily one of the best trips of my life.

This trip was absolutely amazing, it was a decent pace with an average of 3 days in each city. This gave you enough time to actually say you've "seen" the city. The excursions were also fantastic, highly suggesting the bike tour in Berlin, easily one of the best nights of the trip. On the bikes we sampled fantastic food, to actually ending up at a local Ping Pong club where we played a drinking game with the locals! This trip had everything down pat, the stopover in Dresden was a favourite part and we were only there for 4hrs! Next was Prague which essentially is a city where you walk around with your mouth open the entire time because of how beautiful it is, the architecture is something else. This followed by my favourite city of the trip Vienna, I highly suggest renting a city bike on your free day and taking in the amazing bike paths the city has to offer. You can see all the major sights in the day and it only cost me $3.00 CAD to rent the bike. Lastly was Budapest, the biggest surprise of the trip. I came into the city with the lowest expectations and holly sh!t was I wrong. The city was beautiful, the food was great and the history was amazing.

All in all I would highly highly highly recommend this trip, and make sure you don't skip out early and not go to Budapest! It is so worth the extra money! This trip was the right pace, we saw all the right sights and loved every minute of it. This needs to be on your To-Do list

Review written Sep 2015

My Contiki was: Tour , Party , Love

event 0.3
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Life Changing

18 Apr 2015 - 28 Apr 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip. I work a very involved job and didn't have time to adequately plan an Eastern Europe trip. Contiki already had all of the hotels, tours, sight-seeing and travel pre-packaged and it was really valuable to have a tour guide to bounce ideas off. I didn't think I'd do any of the ME Time activities and we ended up doing them all. I didn't think I'd end up hanging out with any of the other travelers outside of the friend group I planned the trip with and now, a month later, still talk to a handful of people from the trip on a regular basis. Would highly recommend Contiki for any international, non-beach/skiing trip where you want to hit up a lot of spots and don't speak the local language.

Review written May 2015

event 0.3
  • Fuji
  • Fuji
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Winter Wonderland

13 Dec 2014 - 23 Dec 2014

Berlin to Budapest was my third Contiki trip after I did European Escapade and Croatian Sail in the summer of 2012 and this time round wanted to see Europe during the magical period that is winter, more specifically Europe just before Christmas. Every city you visit will be magically lit up and there will be plenty of local festivities occurring. Other than the lack of snow it truly was a winter wonderland and December was the perfect time to do it. I do recommend that you do spend an extra night in Budapest or leave late as i felt that there wasn't enough time to get all the cheap shopping, out door spa'ing and lake skating done.

Check out the video created of the trip then times it by 50 and you'll get a feel of what this trip is like.

https://vimeo.com/116312846

Review written Feb 2015

event 0.3
  • Serena
  • Serena
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An unforgettable trip of a lifetime!

19 Jul 2014 - 29 Jul 2014

This was my first Contiki trip and I had no idea what to expect. Traveling as a solo woman, I was a little nervous about who I'd meet or what I would do. I ended up having a total blast and would definitely recommend this trip to folks who've already seen the ~popular~ cities in Europe.

I didn't think I'd partake in the extra activities, but I ended up having #noregrets and did every extra! It wasn't too expensive, and the only thing I wouldn't do again was the light show in Prague. It was a little too weird for my taste.

Our tour guide Mike was fantastic - he had SO MUCH knowledge I couldn't believe it, he was very chill even when our group got a little out of hand, and he was a constant resource for things to do (and not do). Our driver Frank was great too!

It's hard to choose which city was my favorite, so I'll point out my favorite activities instead.
Berlin: The bike tour was BY FAR the coolest thing we did as a group throughout the whole tour. It was a food/drink bike tour and it took us off the tourist side of Berlin and into the cool, artistic part that everyone talks about. We ate amazing food and learned so much about the city.
Prague: I loved the Communist bunker tour and the bike tour. The bunker tour was such a uniquely Prague experience; I don't know where else you can find a working bunker that's also available to tourists! And the bike tour was fun too - we saw the Frank Gehry building, took a ton of pictures and survived a massive hangover from clubbing the night before.
Vienna: Mozart/Strauss concert. After days of travel, you may not want to dress up and go to a classical music concert, but it's worth it! The food was delicious, and who else can say they listened to classical music IN A CASTLE!? Yeah, I think that's all I need to say about that.
Budapest: We didn't have too many organized activities here, but I enjoyed walking around the city the most. The Doheny Synagogue is breathtaking and the baths were an excellent way to end the trip.

Vegetarians beware: This trip is not for you. I'm luckily not a vegetarian, but we had about 10 people who were vegan/vegetarian and the locals didn't understand why someone wouldn't eat goulash (and quite frankly, I'm the same way). The veggie option was a lot of cheese and fruit.

I blogged about my trip with a few more details in case you're interested: http://theadventuresofsheldon.wordpress.com/2014/08/14/what-i-learned-from-yolosolotrip2014/

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: Exciting, Incredible, #NoRegrets

event 0.3
  • Michael
  • Michael
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New Years in Europe

26 Dec 2013 - 06 Jan 2014

First Contiki trip and must say it was a good one! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the cities we visited. The amount of time spent in each city was perfect to get a feel for it. Awesome group and awesome time. Looking forward to my next trip in 2015!

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: Awesome, Fun

event 0.3
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Really Amazing

22 Mar 2014 - 02 Apr 2014

This was my first time out of the US and I really enjoyed it. I had a bit of a hard time adjusting in the beginning but the contiki tour guides certainly helped me out. I came around and thoroughly loved the majority of the trip.

Czech Republic (Prague) was absolutely my favorite. Very lovely city with lots to see and everything was relatively cheap. Town Square was really cool to hang out at.

Germany (Berlin) was awesome, reminded me of NYC. Had lots to see, plenty of history.

Austria (Vienna) was very beautiful. I absolutely loved the Mozart concert at the Schonbrunn Palace, really surreal. The only bummer part was that for the tour dates I did, we were only in Vienna for two nights, having one full day and it was a Sunday so mostly everything was closed.

Hungary (Budapest) was really interesting and was a nice ending to the trip. I think my favorite place there was the Fisherman's Bastion.

Overall it was definitely life changing (being it was my first tour) and I already plan on visiting again!

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Incredible, Beautiful

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Suzy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

trip of a lifetime

10 May 2013 - 21 May 2013

Berlin to Budapest is an amazing trip. The pace gives you enough time to see everything in Berlin and Prague. There is a little less time in Vienna and Budapest, but you also get to see about as much as possible in just a couple of days. I opted for all the optionals and really enjoyed them. We got to try local food at each stop and it was all really good, the restaurants we visited each seemed to be great picks at giving us a bit of music and food true to the location. Bike riding through Prague was definately a trip highlight. The walking tour in Prague and Berlin were also amazing. This tour doesn't have too many long coach rides, but any time spent on the coach was definatley fun and memorable thanks to our amazing tour manager Lucian and road crew Levi. Levi kept the coach clean and smooth sailing and always greeted us with a wonderful smile and some great stories. Lucian created amazing memories with our day song and his contagious energy. He truly went above and beyond to make sure that each of us on the trip were having the time of our lives. Everyone on tour seemed to be having a great time and all got along really well. Almost everyone went to the baths in Budapest which was a great end to a wonderful time spend abroad. I definately recomend this trip. #noregrets

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, taste of culture, fun times

event 0.3
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Absolutely Amazing

01 Dec 2012 - 11 Dec 2012

This tour was one of the best things I have ever done. Our road crew was fantastic, always having the whole group revved up for the day ahead, and planning extra activities on top of the additional's such as organizing entrance to the Reichstag and a traditional Ice hockey match in Prague. Our tour manager always took the time to orientate us to each new city, allowing us to maximize our time seeing the highlights rather than getting lost.

I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone, and if you are debating of whether to start at prague or vienna, or finish at either of these places: DON'T. Also, the optional extras were all amazing and well worth the extra money spent on them, you will have absolutely no regrets going on this trip.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Fantastic

event 0.3
  • MB2
  • MB2
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Absolutely Amazing

04 Jan 2013 - 15 Jan 2013

I had such a fantastic time on the Berlin - Budapest tour. Our tour guide and driver were absolutely amazing and went out of their way to make our experience special. All of the hotels were very nice and accommodating, and everything that was included (meals, walking tours, local tours and meals, stops, etc) was fantastic. All of the optional activities were well worth the money and I would recommend that anyone going on this trip do all of the optional activities. Our tour manager also had a list of tips for each city, which made checking out the sites and finding a good time super easy, and she also was great with explaining the maps and walking us through anything we needed help with. I really felt like I got to experience each of these cities and cultures despite only being there for a few days for each one, and I can't think of any way that this trip could have possibly been better. Thanks Contiki!

Review written Jan 2013

My Contiki was: Flawless, Incredible, Inspiring

event 0.3
  • NRare
  • NRare
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 15 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Berlin to Budapest

27 Dec 2012 - 07 Jan 2013

The biggest regret of the tour would have been not coming on it!

Review written Jan 2013

event 0.3
  • Kyle K
  • Kyle K
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
Berlin to Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing!

06 May 2011 - 17 May 2011

I had such a great time on this tour. Berlin to Budapest is perfect for the people who want to go at a slow pace but still cover a lot. The tour guide was great as well. I would strongly recommend this trip!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Adventure, Parties, History

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 10 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 10 continental breakfasts
  • 4 Reginonal Dinners: a traditional German dinner in West Berlin, dine at our favourite taverna in Prague, a Austrian experience in Vienna & a Hungarian feast on a Danube River cruise

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Enjoy traditional Berlin cuisine in a local restaurant
  • Visit the moving Sachsenhausen concentration camp memorial
See More

Me Time

  • Berlin historical walking tour
  • Cold War & Cold Drinks
  • Alternative Berlin
  • Traditional Czech evening
  • River cruise with buffet meal
  • Nuclear Bunker Tour
  • Old Vienna Schnaps Museum
  • Vienna Classical Concert & Dinner 1
  • Budapest Past and Present Tour
  • Group Photo
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$133
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

14 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.