Reviews

Read reviews from past Contiki travelers.

Write a review

  • Kelley Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 3 Countries

This trip was, without a doubt, the experience of a lifetime. I got so many opportunities to do things I never would have done, like standing on Hadrian's Wall or getting to see the Olympic Torch in Glasgow. My favorite moment was jumping into Loch Ness, something I wouldn't have even considered if it weren't for my tour manager and fellow tour mates. Even if you don't choose this tour, go somewhere with Contiki! I guarantee that you will have the time of your life :)

My Contiki was: Amazing, incredible, awe-inspiring

  • Alexandra Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 21 Countries

This trip was amazing, incredible, spectacular and so much more. I went on the one in September 2011 for my gap year. I was travelling alone, but I knew that I would meet some friends on the tour... and that I did. I met some really wonderful people who I know that I will be friends with forever (in fact, we are all meeting up in Sydney in 2 weeks for the weekend and I'm doing another Contiki soon with a girl I met on this one!). I became really close with 5 other girls on the tour and we started a band - not really, but that's what we called ourselves instead of a gang or team or group or whatever. It's kind of an inside joke... but that's the whole point!!!

Our tour manager Filippo and our driver Katya were so good at everything. They were so helpful. Filippo has 'Filippo's Tips' for every place we went, which was a double sided page with hints and tips of all the good places to go while we were there. As he explained it, the tour is like a cheese platter - you are just getting a taste for each place, so you can see which ones you really want to go back to. Which is the perfect way to describe it.

The hotels we stayed at were nice. Some of them were a little out of the way (the one in Amsterdam for example, and Paris a bit too) so if you went into town for the day you had to say there. There was no coming back to get things you forgot, or to have a nap, or whatever you wanted to do - unless you were willing to pay the taxi fare. Which probably wasn't much in the grand scheme of things, but still, the brochure made it sound like the hotels were right in the thick of things. Although, to be fair, a lot of the hotels were in pretty good locations - London, Nice, Rome the main ones I can think of. It was probably a 50/50 split.

I did all the optional extras. They were all really good. Some of them were good, and I enjoyed them, but I probably could have survived without doing it. The Opera in Austria for example. One thing I would recommend you try is parasailing in Nice. It isn't an optional extra with Contiki, but if you go down to the beach you can book it there. I did it with 2 other girls and it was so much fun! They take you up and then dunk you in the water!!!!!!

The weather was perfect the whole time I was there. I think it rained once (and when I say it rained, it was more like a drizzle) on the last day in Amsterdam. Other than that it was blue skies and sunshine everyday.

The bus that we got was a tester bus that Mercedes was trying out with Contiki. It was really spacious and comfortable. The only down sides were that it didn't have power plugs, so we couldn't change things during the long drives, and there was a toilet too (sounds like it may be a positive... but it wasn't). The rule was 'NO POO IN THE LOO!'. One chick didn't understand this rule though - a couple of times!!! - so when that happened the whole bus reeked until it could be cleaned out at the next service stop!

The food was alright. I am a pretty fussy eater though so I'm not the best person when it comes to explaining how the food was (I know! I need to quit it!). A running joke of the food came about pretty soon though. We seemed to get chicken and potatoes every night - What's for dinner? Chicken and potatoes for a change! By the end of the tour I was definitely craving a decent steak that's for sure.

On Contiki, I have learned, that a theme song for the tour is chosen and is the first song played every time you get on the bus. Last Summer by the Lostprophets was the theme song.

Overall, the tour was amazing. I would highly recommend it!!!! If you get the chance, this is a really excellent tour and should consider going on it. I have so many incredible memories. We had so many laughs. We all made so many wonderful new friends. It was my first time in Europe and I can't wait to get back!

I will leave you with Filippo's favourite quote that he told us on the first day:
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
- Mark Twain

My Contiki was: Amazing, Incredible, Spectacular

  • Ney.PR Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries

European Horizon was amazing. Saw some beautiful sights, met some Incredible people, ate fantastic food! The staff was so fun and made sure we had the best time in the short period of time we had.

Paragliding in Austria is a MUST!!! As the boat cruise in Amsterdam...really all the optionals were great! Seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time as you enter central Paris is breath taking, Switzerland is pure beauty, Venice amazing as you would expect. Great shopping areas in Munich. Dont Forget the chocolate, anywhere you see it buy some! Specially in Switzerland.

Highly recommend this trip. You spend a lot of time on the Bus but it helps to get to know your new friends better and have some rest after fun and very late nights!

Would do it again in a heart beat. I endend with incredible new experiences, some crazy pictures and life long friends!

Thanks Jamie & Jon!
Thanks Contiki!

My Contiki was: Incredible, Unforgettable, AMAZING!!!!

Winter Wanderer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Wandering in Winter
  • Celeste Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 14 Countries

Whilst I was hesitant about seeing Europe during winter, I must say this tour was the time of my life - 4 years later I still talk about it!

I found 24 days to be perfect, long enough to get to know everyone really well, but not too long that we were over the days of driving. By the end it was like saying goodbye to family, such a social, friendly bunch of people.

There was enough time to see all the 'big ticket' places and mostly I didnt feel rushed. The accomodation was better than expected, with Florence being the only real let down, also in Amsterdam we were a long way from town - someone got ill and it cost 120E to get back to the hotel!

The optionals were hit and miss, but everyone did almost everything - Moulin Rouge is a must!

My Contiki was: Amazing, Social, Fun

London to Athens

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ London To Athens
  • snowhitexo Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 7 Countries

Wow!

I have just had the most life altering 23 days of my life!
If you are thinking about this tour do-it!

Take an extra few days and go to London early, get a subway day pass and tour london for 8 Euros or less. Visit The Tower of London it is worth every pennie!

First off - Load up on Vitamins, You are going to get sick on tour, the "Contiki Cough" will find you. You party all night every night and get up early to tour a city.
Bring a travel pillow, gravol, and vitamins. You will need those to counter balance the lack of sleep and nutrition you will get on tour.

Coach Life- These tours are well planed, after a massive night out you recouperate on the coach the following day. This is so you aren't hungover while viewing immaculate cities such as Paris. On board is a bathroom and outlets for electronics (you will need your adapters/converters). Long days are spent on the bus so I recommend comfy clothes and layers.

Paris- The is breathtaking! The Cabaret is worth the 77 Euro, out of all the optionals this is by far a MUST DO! It is fun, entertaining and there is something for everyone at the show. You also have Champaigne included in your fare. After which you go out to O'Sullivans. This is one of THE BEST nights out, go out! Get "Sullied" and buy a flaming Jagerbomb, not a Jagerbomb fan? Neither am I but these are awesome and you must do at least one! Purchase a Muesum pass and gain entrance to many locations in Paris.

Contiki Chateau- The perfect amount of time to unwind and enjoy some wonderful French Wines. The Picnic is so much fun same with the party held in The Cave at the Chateau.

Barcelona- Unfortunatly Barcelona was not my favorite, we also had terrible weather so perhaps my opinion is spoiled. Great night out, beautiful veiws. Not the best food on site.

Antibes- While we were there the Cannes Film Festival was there so I opted out of Nice and the French Perfumere and went there instead. Celebrities were spotted. Monaco is spectacular, budget for this Casino! It is extremely expensive but at the very least go get a drink and play a table at this immaculate casino. Rub shoulders with the rich and famous and enjoy all the exotic cars and views.

Italy- Florence is a really great time - DO THE GROUP PHOTO!! Red Garter is the nightclub that you go to here, it is extremely fun and the campsite you stay at is the best on tour. Venice is gorgeous, unfortunatly we had pouring rain. I opted out of the walking tour and wandered around on my own in the city with friends and had a really great time. Prepare yourself for the accomodation and the smell of Venice in general. Beautiful City, the water just smells very badly. Pisa - Very cool to see the tower, is worth to go up if you wish. Rome- Breathtaking, I only wish we had more time in Rome. Public transit is very easy to navigate in Rome and it is easy to get back to the campsite. There is a pool and wifi here. I love Roma party is also a highlight and is held on site so no need to cab home.

Corfu- BEAUTIFUL! Georges boat is a must do! Great to spend a day relaxing on a boating drinking with your new found Contiki Family. Rent a ATV and see the island, definatly worth travelling to the gorgeous beachs.

Athens- Because of the economic downturn in Greece brace yourself for Athens. Even though the city has beautiful arcetecture it is not the cleanest, safest place to be. As long as you are aware of this you should enjoy Athens for the time you are there.

Take the extra time and visit the Greek Islands!! A ferry to Ios costs 54 Euros, it is a 5 hour ferry. Stay at Francescos Hostel, the most magnificant veiw, clean and very affordable. www.hostelworld.com will provide you with insight needed. Club hopping is BIG in Ios, Slammers and Flames are the best bars but they are all very fun. P.s they party til 8 am in Ios so prepare yourself for a wild time.

Wifi- There is wifi at basically every location, London, Paris, Barcelona, Rome and Contiki Chateau are free of charge. Everywhere else you have to pay. Find a Starbucks or McDonalds in the cities without and use the wifi there to contact family and friends til you reach one of the free locations.

Feel free to comment and ask as many questions as desired, I had a spectular time, i met alot of wonderful people. Some of them I will be friends with for a life time. The memories created are those you will cherish.
DO THIS TOUR!!!

My Contiki was: Breathtaking, Life Changing, Best time of my life

Did this tour in may 2012, was the best 3 weeks of my life.. Was absolutely unreal. Had the best tour guide/bus driver/ group!! The sights were amazing, the parties were awesome.. Don't have a bad thing to say.. This tour was the right amount of days, and I would defenetly recommend it !!

My Contiki was: Unreal, Amazing, Time of my life

May 5th 2012
I woke up in the morning at 4:30am and had a shower, got dressed, and had breakfast. We left home at 6:45am and got to the airport at 7:30am. I checked in with no waiting line at the Air Canada counter. I got my tickets and had a tea and a muffin from Tim Horton’s while waiting to go through security. I went through security where I met Sarah while waiting for our plane, who was also going on the same trip I was. We sat at gate A3 and talked until it was time to board the plane. My seat was 16F by a window. I watched The Vow. I looked out the window and saw the great lakes under me. They are much bigger than I imagined. Toronto looks so green and big from above. We flew so close to the highways underneath us! When we landed we walked around for a while and then made our way to our gate where we sat waiting for our boarding time. Our flight boarded at 7:5pm and I sat in seat 22A which was supposed to be a window seat but there was no window, just the wall. At 2:07am Rome time we were served supper. I had chicken and veggies with cold corn salad and a brownie with orange juice. I am happy there are no delays! We didn’t have individual TV’s, just overhead ones. They were playing Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol and the Iron Lady. The plane was very cold. It turned dark at about 2:40am Rome time, 8:40pm Toronto time. I should probably go to sleep now. All my worries about the flight and thinking I was crazy to go on this trip are still lingering, I hope they disappear as soon as I get there!

May 6th 2012
It was very hard to sleep, probably because I was so anxious and nervous. My nose, eyes, and lips were so dry. I woke up at 8:08am Rome time. We were served blueberry muffins and juice and tea. I looked out the window in front of me and saw the Italian coast and a big peninsula with a long river going from it. I made it, I am in Italy!! Only one hour left to go before I am on the roads that lead to Rome. I expect it to be beautiful and busy. I don’t care if it rains or shines I will explore all afternoon! We landed and walked off the bus to the tarmac and took a bus to the customs terminal, from then we went through customs and I got my passport stamped! I went to the bathroom, gross! I picked up my bag at the baggage claim. I met up with Sarah and caught a ‘taxi’ and got to the hotel 95 euros later!!! Make sure you take a certified taxi and ignore the men that are waiting inside the door of the airport. I checked into the hotel- Hotel Regent- and went to my room, # 151. It was small but decent. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was that is was far from any attractions. I put my stuff away and went with Sarah around Rome. My umbrella was broken so we got rained on and got lost. We gave up and found our way back to the hotel. Not a good way to start the trip! I hope it gets better; I wanted to buy stuff today and take pictures. We dried off and then went out again in the rain. Sarah, Sara (from Florida) and I went to a gelato/pastry shop. I had my first gelato, Sorrento lemon gelato. I got really bad blisters on my ankles, they hurt really badly. We met for the group meeting at 4pm. The wifi was broken so I couldn’t message home. Our tour manager is named Vinni, he is really funny and is an amazing tour manager! The meeting lasted until 6:30pm. Then a bunch of girls on the trip and I went to a pizzeria connected to our hotel for supper. I shared a margarita pizza with a girl named Katie. The pizza was delicious, the best pizza I have ever had! After that we went to a pub called Carrots for a drink. We went back the hotel, had a shower, organized my suitcase and set my alarm for 6am. We are supposed to have breakfast at 6:30am and leave at 7:15am. I went to bed at 10pm after blow-drying my hair and clothes. I hope the weather is nice tomorrow. Pompeii and Sorrento tomorrow! I spent hardly any money today, I think only 62 euro for the ‘taxi’ and food. Weather: Rome- rainy, warm, 20 degrees

May 7th 2012
We woke up at 6am and got ready and packed. We went down for breakfast at 6: 30am. I had a croissant with lemon in it, cornflakes, fruit juice, and fruit salad. At 7:15am we boarded the bus and left at 7:30am. They didn’t measure or weigh our bags. We drove a while and got stuck in traffic. We first stopped at the designer outlet, where we tried a local cake called baba. It is saturated in rum and is covered in syrup. We had an hour to shop and I bought a couple things for my sister, but the shops were very expensive. We then drove to Pompeii and had a guided tour of Pompeii by a women with radio headsets. This optional is a must do!! I bought some souvenirs and then left on the bus for half an hour ride to Sorrento. The views from the bus were amazing - Mt Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples especially! We got to our hotel ‘Hotel Central’ and went to my room, # 310 with a balcony facing the main road in Sorrento. This was one of my favorite hotels that we stayed at. The fresh air feels so good, we explored a bit and bought postcards and chocolate. I went back to the hotel and bought 30 minutes of internet usage. At 6pm we left the hotel, walking to a place with a view of the coast and Vesuvius. We had a welcome glass of prosecco and some appetizers. I didn’t like prosecco, I found it very strong and bitter. We took many photos and then we walked to the location for our pizza party. We first had salad, toast, and water. Vinni took us to the back of the restaurant to show us how to make traditional pizza. He put flower all over our faces! We were given 3 kinds of pizza: margarita, mushroom and zucchini; corn and mushroom. Then we had a lemon cake called grandma’s cake and lemoncello. (Make sure your lemoncello is ice cold other wise it does not taste good!) It was warm and really sour, it burned down my throat! After, I went souvenir shopping and then got melon and fruit de bosco gelato. I walked back to the hotel and organized my stuff before going to bed at 12:30am.
Weather: Sorrento- cloudy, sunny, hot, 25 degrees

May 8th 2012
This morning we woke up at 6am, got ready and had breakfast at 7am. I had a pastry with nutella on it, a sugared bun, fruit salad, and yogurt. Nutella is everywhere in Italy. Then we walked down the street to a long case of stairs all the way down a hill to the sea port. At 9am we got on a ferry ship that took us to the island of Capri. I took gravol because I knew from past experiences I get motion sickness on big boats. I was light headed but I made it. Then we got off that boat and got on another smaller motor boat. It took us all around the island. On the other side of the island it was very wavy and I got a little nauseous, but I didn’t get sick. We floated by the blue grotto entrance but couldn’t go in because the tide was too high:( Then we went to the green grotto. There was an option to swim but I didn’t and was glad I didn’t because people who did got stung by jelly fish. Then we stopped at a public beach and spent some time sitting at the beach and looking in the local shops. We floated right through the Faraglioni rock formations. They are much bigger in person. From the boat we saw a natural arc formation on the cliff side. Then we went to the white grotto entrance and saw the waving boy statue on the cliff side. We got back to the marina at 12:30pm. I went to the bathroom and then got a gelato that was coconut and lemon flavoured and bought postcards. I bought a ticket to go up the funicular where I met up with Sarah and Sara. We walked around trying to find the gardens. I bought some paintings from a lady. We never did find the gardens and I decided to go back down the funicular and bought a lemon slushy. I then went to the free public beach and sat in the shade to write in my journal. It was a beautiful day! I then joined the girls that came to the beach; we picked rocks and hung out until 3:30pm. We met Vinni at the marina and boarded a ferry back to Sorrento. I fell asleep on the ferry. After we docked, we walked up many stairs to the top of the cliff where Sorrento sits. It seemed like a million stairs. My legs were really tense afterwards. I went to the hotel and went of Facebook and got ready for supper. We went to Il Borgo Sorrento restaurant in the upper Sorrento mountain area. We were served 4 courses and bread. The first course was broccoli, peppers, zucchini and eggplant. Then we were served 2 kinds of pasta, they were really good. After, we were served veal and buffalo mozzarella with potatoes and peas. Finally, dessert was a lemon cake with crème on it for Annie’s birthday. We also had red and white wine; I don’t like them because I find them very bitter. We left on the bus and Vinni sang the Italian national anthem and told us about tomorrows activities. We got to the hotel at 10pm. I packed m stuff and went to bed around 12am. I got really burned on my feet, chest, and one arm. Ouch!!
Weather: Capri- sunny, warm, subtle wind, 18 degrees

May 9th 2012
This morning I woke up at 6am and got dressed to finish packing. Then I went down at 6:35am and sat in the lobby until breakfast opened. I had yogurt, fruit salad, pastries, and a sugar bun. We left at 7:15 am and slept on the bus for 2 ½ hours. We stopped at an autogrill, owned by the pope, and got crackers, cookies and went to the washroom. We watched ‘Under the Tuscan Sun’ movie on the bus. As I looked out my window I saw many sheep and a farmer working in his land. There are also many poppies covering the ground. We got to another autogrill for lunch and I bought a Capri sandwich. It was very good! Then we started our trip to the castle winery. Leonardo Davinci is from Florence area; he actually does not have a last name because he was an illegal son and could not take the last name of his father. Davinci mean from Vinci (a small town by Florence). When we got to the castle winery we got out of the bus and were shown where the grapes/olives are taken to be crushed. Then we went to the winery entrance and were told that the largest olive tree they have only produces 40 ml of oil. We were given rosa red wine which was not horrible and then we were guided through the wine cellar. It had huge barrels with dates of when they started to be fermented and how much barrel holds. One barrel held 7200L of wine! Then we were told that the cellar used to be the castle dungeon. We then went to the wine tasting. 4 kinds of wine were served. I tried the first and the last wine, both of which I did not like and did not finish. I just ate the cookies you were supposed to dip into the wine. There was also sheep cheese and toast with extra virgin olive oil on it and chilli pepper jelly. The food was really good! Our driver is amazing! He turned and drove down a street backwards with both sides congested with parked cars and Vespa’s. It was really scary. We arrived at our hotel called Hotel Grifone and went to my room number 102 with free wifi downstairs. Our room has a balcony! We got ready quickly and headed to supper by bus and by walking. We had breadsticks, salad, spaghetti with meatballs, and tiramisu (It was really good even though it is coffee flavoured). Then we walked to the Red Garter karaoke bar which was funny. A girl and guy were grinding, a girl shook her booty and 2 men stripped down into their birthday suits! We left at 10:50pm and walked past Ponte Vecchio at night and got on the bus. Weather: Tuscany- sunny, some clouds, warm, 23 degrees

May 10th 2012
Today we woke up at 7:30am, got dressed and went for breakfast. I had nutella on bread, a croissant, cereal that tasted like corn pops, and fruit salad. Then I went on wifi. We left at 9am on the bus for a very short ride to the river in Florence. We crossed the river and went to the leather demonstration. It was very interesting. You can tell if something is fake by the smell, touch, stamp, cost, and by what the vendors do to try to sell their products to you. Then we had a chance to buy stuff, everything was so expensive, I bought 4 bookmarks for 20 euro! I also bought 2 bracelets. Then we had free time until 11:15am and I walked around Piazza Della Signoria, took photos, and bough postcards and a Pinocchio pen because Florence is the home of the original Pinocchio story. We then had a walking tour of Florence’s main sights. She told us about Michelangelo and the Statue of David, the Ponte Vecchio and the duomo and cathedral. Hitler did not destroy the Ponte Vecchio because he liked it too much. Then we had free time. I walked around the duomo and bought paintings. Gypsy vendors are crazy; they surround you and follow you until you buy things from them. Then I went to the San Lorenzo market. It was very busy, full of shops selling the same things. I saw a lot of fake leather and silk goods. I walked to Franchesco Vini for lunch. I had ravioli with ricotta cheese and spinach with bread and chocolate mousse. I highly recommend this resturant, it is close to the leather demo place from earlier in the day. After, I walked to the bridge and took photos. Then I went back to Piazza Signoria to wait for Vinni to come. We went back to the hotel to get ready for the photo and the evening events. We left at 6:30pm. We went to Piazza Michelangelo for the group photo; it was a beautiful view, definitely the best view of the city. There were painters painting and selling art. Then we made our way to dinner in the Tuscan hills with spectacular hills and view. First we were given a welcome glass of prosecco which I didn’t mind. We had bread, salami, bread with olive, ham, and pork liver on it. The first 2 were good but not the brown one. We then had pasta with tomato sauce and oils, as well as ribollita with bread and vegetables which looked like stuffing. We then had pork, potatoes, with a side of salad. Many people got drunk off wine. Dessert was dessert wine and almond cookies. We then travelled to Space, a disco club in Florence, with loud music on the bus. We got out first drink and shot free. The shot tasted like apple vodka and I got a blue drink with coconut, Bacardi vodka and other ingredients. We danced and had fun! I went back to the hotel with four girls in a taxi. I got organized and went to bed at 1:30am.
Weather: Florence- sunny, hot, 30 degrees

May 11th 2012
This morning we woke up at 7am, got ready, and went for breakfast. I had bread and nutella, a croissant, peaches, coconut loaf, and water. We left at 8:30am onto the bus and drove to Pisa. I slept most of the way there. When we got there we parked in parking lots and walked over to Pisa. It looks interesting. We took some photos and got souvenirs before walking back to the bus. Illegal street vendors were everywhere trying to sell fake watches, bags, and sun glasses. I didn’t spot any gypsies though. We drove to La Spezia and walked around Portovenere until it was time to catch the boat. We walked to an old castle church that was on the cliff edge. A lady gave us a sample of focaccia bread and pesto. We left on the boat at 2:45pm. I took gravol and started to feel really sleepy. We travelled by boat looking at the sights of Cinque Terre taking pictures often. We docked at 4:45pm and walked under a tunnel to the old part of Monterosso. I went for lunch to the beach bar with Sarah, Andrea, and Annie. The food was delicious. I split an order of bruschetta with Sarah. It had huge chunks of tomato and olive oil on them. Then I ordered a strawberry milkshake and pesto lasagna. Then we left the beach bar and went to Slurp Gelato and had chocolate and mint gelato. I took photos and looked in shops and wrote in my book. At 7:10pm we caught the public train back to La Spezia and walked to the bus and drove to Hotel Ghinaldi. I was put in room 302 with a balcony, again! I packed, organized, went on the internet, and went to bed at 12am.
Weather: Pisa and La Spezia- HOT, sunny, 30 degrees

May 12th 2012
This morning we woke up at 7am and got dressed and packed up before going for breakfast and to pay for my water. I had a croissant, an apple, a boiled egg that crushed when I tried to break its shell, and a pastry that was very salty – so I put nutella on it. I had water to drink. We left the hotel at 8:30am. On the way we passed around an email list and gondola seating chart to fill in. I slept until we got to the autogrill at 10:30am. I got a water and bounty chocolate bar. We met back on the bus at 10:50am, we drove for 1 ½ hours to Milan. We got off the bus infront of the castle sforenzco. We had to meet back at the fountain at 5:50PM. Vinni walked us to the duomo. We took photos and couldn’t go up the duomo because Sarah and Sara didn’t have their knees covered. We went to the Emmanuelle galleria and stomped on the bulls balls which brings good luck. Then we went to the Leonardo monument and took more photos. We walked around, it was scorching hot out. We found Luini’s and ordered a panzerotti with ham, cheese and tomato in it. It was so good! Then they found a H+M and looked around and saw nice stuff but I didn’t buy anything. We looked at some other stores and then found the gelato store GROM. I had strawberry, pistachio, and chocolate gelato, it was really good gelato! We looked in more shops but the clothes were really tightly fitted. I bought some postcards and then walked to the castle and park. Illegal people were trying to sell us bracelets; one of them put it on my shoulder and wouldn’t take it back so I put it on his shoulder! I bought a slushy and then walked into the park and found a shady spot under the trees to sit for a while and relax. We went to the peace monument which is the original, where the French monument was replicated from. Then we sat on a park bench for a bit. While walking back through the park we saw a jesus pride parade with cops clearing a way for it. We sat at the fountain talking to Vinni about his pet birds. We walked to a place for supper. We were served risotto, veal, salad, tomato, and crème puffs. Then we walked to the bus and went to the hotel that was far away from the city, a different one from the itinerary – Country Hotel Borromeo. Our room number was 130. Very nice and spacious room! I bought an hour of wifi for 3 euros. I changed into my pjs, organized my stuff, and wrote in my book before going to bed at 11:30pm.
Weather: Milan- Way too hot, humid, sunny, 20 degrees

May 13th 2012
This morning I woke up at 6:30am, got dressed, straightened my hair, and went on the internet to say happy mother’s day to my mom. It is raining out and is very windy! I went for breakfast at 7:30am. I had a croissant, pineapple, and pie pastries. I had red orange juice?! We left the hotel at 8:15am. There was pollen floating everywhere, it looked like snow. We drove 2 ½ hours to the autogrill and got nutella to go and a water. We drove another hour and got to Sirmione. We could not do the cruise because of the weather. So we had 2 hours to explore the town. It was very very windy! We went into the Castle Rocca Scaligera. It was cool to see but it was very windy. We took photos and climbed steps to the very top of the castle watch tower. I then went to the Bar Al Cigni and got a ham, cheese, tomato, and lettuce sandwich. Then after I ate my sandwich and I had gelato with chocolate and pistachio. I walked around some more after picking up souvenirs. Then at 12:50pm we met up outside of the castle gate and left for Verona. On the way there I fell asleep for a bit. We heard the story of Romeo and Juliet and were paid back 9 euros for the cruise we couldn’t go on. In Verona we walked to the arena and then went through a shopping area to juliets balcony in a courtyard. We all took turns rubbing the right breast of the Juliet statue – it brings good luck and love. Then I bought some postcards and took photos of the locks everywhere. I walked by an embroidery place and a girl working there asked where I was from and my name, she embroidered my name into a piece of paper for free. I went into a couple stores but didn’t buy anything. Then we met back up at 4:10pm. We took the bus to the hotel where we dropped off our luggage in room 411, had a shower, and went for supper to a restaurant Vinni recommended ( Vecio Decimo) down the street across from the gas station, behind the market. I had 4 cheese pizza, it was okay, not the greatest. But it was cheap, only 10 euro for a whole pizza. Then we went back to the hotel and hung out for a bit before going to bed at 11:30pm. The hotel was a Best Western on the mainland off of Vencie. It had a balcony and was spacious. Weather: Lake Garda/ Verona- cloudy, windy 10 degrees

May 14th 2012
This morning we woke up at 6:15am, got ready and went for breakfast. I had toast with nutella, a pastry, a croissant, an apple, pineapple, and orange juice. We left 8am sharp from the hotel. We walked 5 blocks to the train station. We got out tickets activated and then got on the train. We arrived in Venice’s St Mark’s Square at 10am after taking a boat from the train station. We then walked through the square to the Murano glass blowing demonstration. It was amazing how the guy was so quick, he made a vase and a horse sculpture in a minute. Then we had time to look around. I bought earrings, a vase, and a bowl. Then I bought postcards and met up with the group at the winged lion statue symbolizing St Mark the evangelist. At 11:30am we did a walking tour of Venice with an old French lady that was funny. She walked us through St Mark’s Square and told us that Venice was built on wood piles and that is why they are sinking with affects from the tide. It is very touristy in Venice. Within 5 years the citizen population has gone from 200000 to 65000. Citizens moved from Venice to the mainland and commute every day to work in Venice. Within the next 50 years Venice will sink completely, especially since cruise ships float right along the square with the engine vibrations. We then walked through Venice to a small castle with a column staircase and to Ponte Rialto. We took photos and then we were free to explore for ourselves. Sarah, Sara, and I went walking around trying to find an ATM, masks, and a cheap place to have tiramisu. We found a place selling it for 6 euro. It was really good! We got lost in Venice and while trying to find our way back we ended up in the same place we started after going in a big circle. When we found the square we went up the bell tower costing 8 euros. It had amazing views of the water and canals. Then we went back down and took photos in the square until 3:50pm. We met the group for the lace demonstration which was really interesting. Then we had a gondola ride through the small canals of Venice. It was amazing to just sit quietly and look at the structures of the buildings and bridges. It was very peaceful! It was cool to see how the water has risen past people’s windows and doors. After our ride on the gondola we went for supper to a restaurant on the water front. I had vegetables, cheese with honey and jam, spinach pasta, tomato penne, roast beef, potatoes, and salad with orange prosecco. For dessert we had panacotta, it was very good- one of my favorite desserts! The people sitting at my table had a little too much wine and were quite drunk. At 8:30pm we caught the boat to the train station and then took the train to the mainland. We got to the hotel and went to bed at midnight. Weather: Venice- warm, sunny, 20 degrees
May 15th 2012
In the morning we got ready at 5:30am, went down for breakfast and had orange juice, nutella on toast, pastries, strawberries, and cantaloupe. Then we went back to our room, packed and left on the bus at 7:15am. I slept for the first 2 ½ hours until we stopped at an autogrill for a bathroom break. Then we drove another 2 ½ hours. We wrote our tour reviews and I ate my crakers and tried to sleep. I slept for a while but as awoken by the peepee song as we stopped at our last autogrill of the trip for lunch. I bought an Apollo sandwich with chicken and tomato in it and a white kitkat bar. Then at 1:30pm we started our last leg to Rome. Rome was the largest civilization in the world before 753 bc. Italy became a country in 1861. Italy started the fascist trend that Hitler rose from. Italy joined Hitler in his activities of the holocaust. The official name of the country is republic of Italy. Italy was 1 of 6 first founding countries and was one of the 7 wealthiest countries in the world. Italy is experiencing social issues and political issues with the mofia and corrupted government, especially in the south. The Spanish steps lead to a French church, with the Spanish embassy beside the stairs. The trevi fountain is dedicated to Neptune and 3000 euro a day is thrown into the fountain. You are supposed to hold the coin in the right hand and throw it over your left shoulder. The pantheon means temple for all gods, it is the most well preserved temple, 2000 years old. It is no longer a temple, it is now a church. The flags colors mean different things- white means purity, red means passion, and green means hope. We got to Rome at 2:30pm and were dropped off at Piazza del Popolo where we walked down one of the most expensive streets in Europe, via del corso and via del condotti, to the Spanish steps. I climbed up the steps all the way to the top, taking videos and pictures. At the top I bought 2 paintings from a man. Next we walked to the trevi fountain. It was beautiful and much bigger/ grander than I imagined it to be. There is one horse who is calm- representing hope and future, the other horse is furious- representing the past wars and conflict. I went to a store and bought an I heart Rome shirt and postcards. Next we walked to the pantheon. WOW! It is 2000 years old and it is still standing in great condition. I went inside of it and saw the three burials. Also I saw the gigantic hole in the ceiling where romans used to collect water coming down from rain into holes in the floor. Then we sat on the bases of the columns until Vinni lead us to Piazza Navona. It was full of painters selling art. We went for gelato from GROM. I got salted caramel, vanilla, and pistachio. Then we walked all around the piazza admiring the three fountains and the paintings. After our time at the piazza Vinni lead us to the restaurant where we would have supper. We walked up across ponte Umberto, toward the Supreme Court building, beside Piazza Cavour filled with palm trees to Gran Caffe Visconti restaurant. We had angry pasta (spicy pasta), salad, chicken, and a coffee dessert. Then we walked to catch the bus. We got to the hotel- Hotel Regent- and went to our room, # 170. It is much bigger than our room from the first night in Rome. We went to a café for wifi and I had strawberry and chocolate gelato. Then I went back to the hotel, had a shower and organized my bag. I went to bed at 12am. Weather: Rome- warm, sunny, 20 degrees
May 16th 2012
In the morning we woke up at 6:30am, got ready and went for breakfast. I had a croissant with nutella on it, fruit salad, and orange juice. We left at 7:15am on the bus to the coliseum and forum. We rode on the bus for about 30 minutes. It was very beautiful; I stared at it for many minutes, lost in the columns and arches. We walked down toward the entrance where we met up with our local guide ‘grandpa’. He led us through the coliseum which was amazing. Half of it fell due to an earthquake; it is 2000 years old and took 8 years to build. Slaves became gladiators and fought each other or animals. Then we learned that it is made of many arches of brick and limestone with support beams inside them. We then walked past the Arch of Constantine and down the street to the entrance of the roman forum. It was just like Pompeii with the same cobble streets. We heard about the political beginnings of the Roman Empire and saw where Julius Caesar was cremated. After, we had a lunch break at an expensive café. I had a calzone that was too huge to eat. We went toward the bus pick up area and it started to rain out. Next we drove to Vatican City. We got radio headsets, waited in line, and went through a security check before entering the museums. We started talking about the Sistine Chapel. We had to walk up the circular walkway because the escalator broke. We went to many museums, a candelabra museum, Egypt museum, carpet museum, statue museum which were all packed full!! One lady wad pushing me with her baby and people were being very aggressive, budging the line and such. We went into Sistine Chapel which was not allowed to be photographed. It was amazing. Then we went into the Vatican entrance, men have to cover shoulders and have to wear long pants, girls have to cover their knees and shoulders. I didn’t think it was made to be what it is advertised as way too overrated. There is some kind of door that is only opened every 25 years and has something to do with the newly elected popes. We went outside to St. Peters Square and got souvenirs and went on the bus at 4:30pm. We got to the hotel and got ready for our final dinner. I wore my skirt and striped shirt. We left for supper at 6:45pm. It looked really cool inside the restaurant. They had performances every course. It was fun. We took lots of photos! First we had veggies and salad, shrimp pasta, ravioli, beef, green beans, potatoes, cake, and water. We left the restaurant, walked to the bus, drove and dropped off some of the group at a club, and the rest of us went back to the hotel. I went for gelato – chocolate and pistachio went on the internet, packed and went to bed at midnight.
Weather: Rome- sunny, warm, little windy, 20 degrees

May 17th 2012
This morning I woke up and got ready at 5:30am. I was extremely tired. I went downstairs at 5:50am and went on wifi and said goodbye to some people. Then I went for breakfast at 6:30am. I had a croissant, fruit salad, and orange juice. Then I went upstairs to get my luggage and went back down stairs to the lobby. I sat there on wifi for a while, took some Tylenol and Echinacea which made me feel weird. Then at 7:30am Kendall, Sarah, Jill, Taylor and I caught a van taxi to the airport. We all hugged Vinni goodbye before we left. We got dropped off at terminal 3 of the airport and paid for the taxi- 75 euro total. We took turns going to the bathroom and then said our goodbyes to Sarah. We went to check in at the Air Canada booth. My bag weighed 20.4kg. Then we waited for the other girls to get checked in and went upstairs to McDonalds. I had an orange juice and a hash brown. Then we wandered the airport realising that once you go through security there are stores to shop in. We went through security and then I went through passport control and walked down the hallway to gate G area, went up an escalator, and then took a train to the gate area. Make sure you leave a lot of time to get to your gate, the airport is very confusing and has many unexpected passages you have to go through. I met up with Sarah and Andrea from Ottawa. We all tried to get internet but couldn’t connect. We boarded the plane at 11:05am. I have seat 21k- with 2 window views! No one was sitting beside me so I put my stuff under the whole seat in front of me and I had more room to spread out. We took off at 11:50am. It was so clear outside that I could see the boats in the water and the details of the land. Further on I saw the Swiss alps. We were served lunch, pasta with olives and cheese, a potato salad, a bun, a cookie, orange juice, and water. After that we were given tea and our customs papers for landing in Canada. I wrote in my journal for a bit. At 1:30pm Rome time I went to the bathroom on the airplane for the first time in my life! It was very compacted; you had to press the faucet at the same time as you wash your hands. Then I looked at the Rome and Vatican book I bought. The only thing I didn’t get to see that I wanted to see that was in the book was the mouth of truth. There is a lot of cloud cover now. Once again they didn’t have individual TV’s the movies they were playing were really old. It was now 4:40pm Rome time. I have listened to my ipod, deleted photos, and slept for a while. They gave us vanilla ice-cream and pretzels for a snack, it was really refreshing. I slept for a bit more and listened to my ipod again. I slept for a bit more and listened to my ipod; they had the seatbelt sign on telling us not to take them off?! It’s a little cloudy outside but not turbulent. It seem like this flight is lasting forever. I looked out my window and saw ice on the ocean we were flying over. It looks so cool! You can see chunks together and parts that have melted off. I wonder where we are flying over, north Canada, Greenland, or is there just a lot of ice on the ocean?! Now I see mountains. It must be Greenland and north Canada. We have a little more than 2 hour left until we land in Toronto. We watched a movie called Rum Diaries. It was very weird. 1 ½ hours left! We were given hot wraps with beef, gravy, and tomato in them and water. I organized my stuff for the rest of the time. We landed at 3:20pm in Toronto Canada! First we walked down a long hallway, cleared customs, claimed baggage, dropped bags off, went up an escalators, went through security, got my hands and feet swabbed, and went to Tim Horton’s. I got a tea, water, and a muffin. I went to gate D35 to wait for my flight at 9:30pm. 4 hours left before I get to go home. I went on wifi and ate my food; I suddenly become really home sick while I was sitting on the floor in the corner of the airport with no one around. I am extremely bored and becoming anxious about getting home, I have 3 hours left… I miss normal people so much; I miss my people, my family, buddy and my bed and pillow. I had so much fun but there comes a point when you are just ready to go home. I wish I could be having supper right now at home, watching TV shows and play with buddy. I was quite excited to use a toilet with a seat and liquid hand soap. I slept on the floor for a while and then I went to the washroom at 8:50pm Toronto time. We boarded at 9pm. I had seat 16A (window seat). We had individual TV’s so I watched The Help and then looked at the map as I fell in and out of sleep. The flight lasted 4 hours. I didn’t use gravol at all! On the way down my right ear popped and it hurt, I could not hear out of it. I was given orange juice. We landed at 11pm. I went to the bathroom and then went through the gate where I saw mom, dad, and Missy. We waited for my bag as I drank my tea. Then we drove home. Weather: Rome- sunny, 20 degrees

- My tourmates were awesome, we all got along and had alot of fun together
- I did all of the optionals and I am glad I did because they were all really great!
- the bus was good, it didn't have any outlets and the washroom could only be used in emergencys.
- I highly recommend this tour, it was very informational and busy, but we always had free time. I saw everything I wanted to see!
- our bus driver and tour manager were amazing!
- get lost in Venice
- eat gelato everyday
- try everything on your plate
- don't worry, everything will be fine!
- pack your suit case and then take out half of your clothes- you wont use half of the clothes you pack.
- take echinacea to make sure you dont get sick
- You dont have to go out every night, take some nights off to get a good sleep
- you will do and see so much- write in a journal every night
- there is wifi at every hotel- some have a small cost and some are free
- I budgeted for 80 Euro a day and came home with 50 Euro.
- you need plug adapters - but you only need a voltage adapter if you have electronics that are not 120-220Volts. I used my ipod charger, ipad charger, and my hair straightener (dual voltage straightener) without a voltage adapter.

My Contiki was: Amazing, Busy, Memorable

This tour was absolutely fantastic. We had an amazing group, an awesome Tour Manager, and an awe inspiring bus driver (seriously, I don't know how she did it.). You see so many amazing things, the places you read about in history class and see on tv, and do some totally cool trips. Drink wine under the eiffel tower and climb it at night, eat escargot in a fancy french restaurant before going and partying it up, Paris style. Sip wine at the gorgeous French Chateau, Sangria and Flamenco in Barcelona, win a little money in Monte Carlo. Explore the canals of Venice on a gondola, party it up in Florence after seeing the gorgeous Italian city, and experience the history of Rome. Go on George's boat in Corfu, seriously, it's one of the best options, and one of the most fantastic days on tour (don't forget to bring a little cash for their hilarious shirts and watersports!). The Greek Islands are gorgeous! My tour was early in the year, so a warning for those who take the early tour for ANZAC day, a lot of Ios is closed until the next week, but we got around that by renting ourselves Quadbikes and exploring the Island that way (Must do, definitely the best way to get around and see the whole island. And they only cost about 20 euro for 24 hours). Riding donkeys in Santorini and shopping it up, the volcano tour and swimming in thermal pools (also, if you turn left out of the hotel and follow the road for 30 minutes, you get to a gorgeous black sand beach). ANZAC day was a truly incredible experience in Gallipoli, even for myself as a Canadian, and Istanbul is such a cool city. The trip through the East is a quick one, with a night in Bulgaria and Serbia before Hungary for 2 nights, and you get the fun of crossing borders, but it's neat seeing the countries that most tourists bypass, and going out at night is super fun. Austria is amazing, and I definitely recommend both the paragliding and the white water rafting, both were totally worth the money and the fun. And take 20 euro with you when you go paragliding, because the photos that the instructors take for you are definitely worth it. The beer halls in Munich were way fun, and I definitely recommend getting the pork knuckle. It's the size of a baby's head, and absolutely deliciousssss. The Chalet in Switzerland is in the prettiest landscape ever, and I also recommend going up Mount Jungfrau, especially if you've never seen snow before, it was socked in with cloud when we were up, and it was still magnificent. Rhine Valley was sweet, and Amsterdam was out of this world, both with the craziness that it is, as well as partying it up for the last couple nights of tour.

The whole tour was an absolute blast! My tour mates were definitely some of the best people I've ever met, and they became my extended family of 45 other people who I miss dearly. The food was delicious from the Contiki places, and the optional meals are always amazing. The Contiki houses are definitely the best places ever, with the best parties I've ever been to. The Contiki staff are awesome people, and our TM and Bus Driver were fantastic people. They went above and beyond all the time, from finding the best places to go out at night, solving problems, getting us around, and even organized a trip to a concentration camp that wasn't originally part of the tour after the majority of the tour asked her if it would be possible. They play games on long drives, and always make sure we're having fun, as well as party it up with us at night.

It was definitely worth the money, and the optionals are fantastic. I'd recommend it to anyone who loves adventure, new discoveries, meeting new people (and hanging out with them for 45 days), and seeing a lot of stuff in a short amount of time. You might only be in a city for a short period of time, but you do manage to cram a lot into that time. You get a taste of everything, eat a lot of delicious food, do lots of amazing activities, and even the time spent on the bus is fun, between the games and the people you're with (and the sleep you can catch up on). Doing this longer tour was a last minute decision on my part, and I'm so glad I chose it, because I never wanted this tour to end. The worst part of this whole tour is leaving your new family at the end, and going home to the reality of life not on tour. If you're on the fence, just do it. Go for it, and have an absolute blast. I'd do it again in a heartbeat (and trust me, we tried to convince our driver to just bypass London and go right back to Paris to start it all over again.)

My Contiki was: Adventure, Experiences, Fun

This tour was absolutely fantastic. We had an amazing group, an awesome Tour Manager, and an awe inspiring bus driver (seriously, I don't know how she did it.). You see so many amazing things, the places you read about in history class and see on tv, and do some totally cool trips. Drink wine under the eiffel tower and climb it at night, eat escargot in a fancy french restaurant before going and partying it up, Paris style. Sip wine at the gorgeous French Chateau, Sangria and Flamenco in Barcelona, win a little money in Monte Carlo. Explore the canals of Venice on a gondola, party it up in Florence after seeing the gorgeous Italian city, and experience the history of Rome. Go on George's boat in Corfu, seriously, it's one of the best options, and one of the most fantastic days on tour (don't forget to bring a little cash for their hilarious shirts and watersports!). The Greek Islands are gorgeous! My tour was early in the year, so a warning for those who take the early tour for ANZAC day, a lot of Ios is closed until the next week, but we got around that by renting ourselves Quadbikes and exploring the Island that way (Must do, definitely the best way to get around and see the whole island. And they only cost about 20 euro for 24 hours). Riding donkeys in Santorini and shopping it up, the volcano tour and swimming in thermal pools (also, if you turn left out of the hotel and follow the road for 30 minutes, you get to a gorgeous black sand beach). ANZAC day was a truly incredible experience in Gallipoli, even for myself as a Canadian, and Istanbul is such a cool city. The trip through the East is a quick one, with a night in Bulgaria and Serbia before Hungary for 2 nights, and you get the fun of crossing borders, but it's neat seeing the countries that most tourists bypass, and going out at night is super fun. Austria is amazing, and I definitely recommend both the paragliding and the white water rafting, both were totally worth the money and the fun. And take 20 euro with you when you go paragliding, because the photos that the instructors take for you are definitely worth it. The beer halls in Munich were way fun, and I definitely recommend getting the pork knuckle. It's the size of a baby's head, and absolutely deliciousssss. The Chalet in Switzerland is in the prettiest landscape ever, and I also recommend going up Mount Jungfrau, especially if you've never seen snow before, it was socked in with cloud when we were up, and it was still magnificent. Rhine Valley was sweet, and Amsterdam was out of this world, both with the craziness that it is, as well as partying it up for the last couple nights of tour.

The whole tour was an absolute blast! My tour mates were definitely some of the best people I've ever met, and they became my extended family of 45 other people who I miss dearly. The food was delicious from the Contiki places, and the optional meals are always amazing. The Contiki houses are definitely the best places ever, with the best parties I've ever been to. The Contiki staff are awesome people, and our TM and Bus Driver were fantastic people. They went above and beyond all the time, from finding the best places to go out at night, solving problems, getting us around, and even organized a trip to a concentration camp that wasn't originally part of the tour after the majority of the tour asked her if it would be possible. They play games on long drives, and always make sure we're having fun, as well as party it up with us at night.

It was definitely worth the money, and the optionals are fantastic. I'd recommend it to anyone who loves adventure, new discoveries, meeting new people (and hanging out with them for 45 days), and seeing a lot of stuff in a short amount of time. You might only be in a city for a short period of time, but you do manage to cram a lot into that time. You get a taste of everything, eat a lot of delicious food, do lots of amazing activities, and even the time spent on the bus is fun, between the games and the people you're with (and the sleep you can catch up on). Doing this longer tour was a last minute decision on my part, and I'm so glad I chose it, because I never wanted this tour to end. The worst part of this whole tour is leaving your new family at the end, and going home to the reality of life not on tour. If you're on the fence, just do it. Go for it, and have an absolute blast. I'd do it again in a heartbeat (and trust me, we tried to convince our driver to just bypass London and go right back to Paris to start it all over again.)

My Contiki was: Adventure, Experiences, Fun

European Highlights

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Best Trip Ever
  • Douglas Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries

Don't be nervous about doing the budget tour. It's awesome. The Contiki staff were fantastic and the trip was well laid out. Contiki is such a large company that you get to do things that other groups can't and see things that other groups won't. This trip involves a good bit of bus travel, but this is usually a great time with all the new friends you will make! If not you can catch up on sleep.

My Contiki was: Best, Trip, Ever

  • willwks Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries

This tour was without a doubt one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had in my life. A must do if you wanna check out central Europe. My only regret is not having enough time to stay on all the way to Budapest!!

My Contiki was: awesome, incredible, amazing

  • willwks Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries

This tour was without a doubt one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had in my life. A must do if you wanna check out central Europe. My only regret is not having enough time to stay on all the way to Budapest!!

My Contiki was: awesome, incredible, amazing

  • willwks Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries

This tour was without a doubt one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had in my life. A must do if you wanna check out central Europe. My only regret is not having enough time to stay on all the way to Budapest!!

My Contiki was: awesome, incredible, amazing

  • Vane1026 Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries

I had such an amazing time on this tour. I couldn't have asked for a better group to share this with and our tour manager Alex and driver Nuno made it even better!! I will have memories that will last a life time!!!! A++++++

My Contiki was: amazing, unforgettable, meow meow

Eastern Road

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Expect the unexpected!
  • Ernie Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 17 Countries

What a great 13 days of Eastern Road! Our tour manager Petula was absolutely great she took care of us! Georgie our bus driver did a great time getting us from cities to cities and around tight corners! Kudos to that team!

As for the tour itself, everything you thought about Berlin, Prague, Vienna, Budapest, Krakow and Warsaw will completely blown your mind away. The stunning beauty each cities beholds will really shock you. The people are friendly and the food and beer are absolutely fantastic! The tour group I was in were some amazing people! Friends for life!

My personal favorite city was Budapest! I did not expect too much of the city but why it blew my mind away! Prague was also a great city! Poland and Slovakia are both absolutely beautiful! Berlin and Vienna were also very cool and easy to get around cities. The trams and subways are best way to get around. Try to avoid taxis in Prague they will do anything and everything to rip you off.

Becareful of gypsies! They are around in three cities, Berlin, Krakow and Prague.

Italian Espresso

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ AMAZING TRIP!

I HAD THE BEST TIME EVER on this trip! It was the perfect trip for an introduction to italy! We saw and did so many things in such a short amount of time! Going through contiki was very beneficial in seeing major landmarks/monuments without having to wait hours..ie coliseum, vatican city, etc. I also thought you got what you paid for! And not to mention, italy was not as expensive as i thought it was going to be so my expected budget of 100Euros/day was more than enough! the optionals were awesome and accomodations were average 2/3 star kind of places. Lastly, our tour manager, Maite, was awesome! She went above and beyond in making this trip fun and stressfree for us! i would recommend this tour and would do it again in a heartbeat. Another A+ for Contiki! YAY! :)

  • BrittK Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 18 Countries

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

  • BrittK Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 18 Countries

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

  • BrittK Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 18 Countries

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

  • BrittK Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 18 Countries

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

Displaying 1141 - 1160 of 1612 in total

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.