Show Filters
Back

Travel agent? Log in here

Thank you for registering, please check your email to activate your account.

Please let us know your email address so we can respond to you
Manage my booking

By clicking 'Find my booking' I agree to the privacy policy

Find my booking

CALL US 1-866-266-8454

We're open

Monday to Thursday 06:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday 06:00 AM - 06:00 PM
Saturday 07:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Sunday 08:30 AM - 09:00 PM
Pacific Time

...or speak with your favorite travel agent
Messages: 1 - Deposit: <div style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; margin: 0px;">Only $#amount# deposit to book.<br> </div>


Learn to Dive

COUNTRIES
1
DAYS
5
FROM
$780
Sailing & Cruise
4.2
13 reviews
13 reviews
SEE AVAILABLE DATES
Save your space with only $200 deposit
WHAT YOU GET
4 nights accommodation
1 night in Hostel, 1 night in Boat
You'll spend the first two nights in a hostel in Cairns, learning the basics of scuba diving, then it's on to the live-aboard boat for two nights for some actual reef diving.
5 included Meals
2 Breakfast, 1 Dinner, 2 Lunch
On the dive boat, healthy and scrumptious fare is provided but in Cairns you're on your own. But fear not, excellent seafood restaurants abound in the sunshine state's backpacker hub.
Team
Expert Trip Manager, Driver and Local Guides
A highly trained Trip Manager who brings your adventure to life. An expert driver who knows foreign roads better than Google Maps. Local Guides who make tourist traps a thing of the past. This is your team. Smart, friendly, fun, and integral to everything we do.
Transport
All transport included during the trip
Australia isn't the easiest land to traverse, but we know this wild island better than most. Whether it's internal flights, scenic local trains or air conditioned coaches, our included transport will speed you from A-B in comfort, safety and style.
Your group
Travel with other 18-35 year olds from around the world
Our trips are exclusively 18-35. This means you'll be travelling with people just like you, from all over the world- laughter and friendships always guaranteed.
Experiences
We'll provide the boat transfer from Cairns, your log book, dive gear rental and we'll even pay the environmental management charges. You just need to rock up, listen and at the end you'll have your PADI Open Water certification.
Read more Read less
If you're going to learn to dive, you might as well do it submerged in one of the natural wonders of the world. Head out to the Great Barrier Reef and embark on the PADI ‘Open Water’ dive course, with 2-days of pool and classroom training followed by 2 nights spent at sea for coral exploration and ocean magic. To the bucket list annnd TICK! 
step 1

CHOOSE DEPARTURE DATE

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

parrafo con datos

Please, select a date to continue

Deals available
Almost Full
Definite departure

This trip is a definite departure.

Sort by date

February 2019

Feb
23
  • Saturday 23rd February
  • Wednesday 27th February
Definite departure Full
Full
Feb
24
  • Sunday 24th February
  • Thursday 28th February
Full
Full
Feb
25
  • Monday 25th February
  • Friday 1st March
Definite departure Full
Full

March 2019

Mar
2
  • Saturday 2nd March
  • Wednesday 6th March
Definite departure Full
Full
Mar
3
  • Sunday 3rd March
  • Thursday 7th March
Full
Full
Mar
4
  • Monday 4th March
  • Friday 8th March
Definite departure Full
Full
Mar
9
  • Saturday 9th March
  • Wednesday 13th March
Almost Full! Definite departure $869
$869
Mar
10
  • Sunday 10th March
  • Thursday 14th March
Full
Full
Mar
11
  • Monday 11th March
  • Friday 15th March
Almost Full! Definite departure $869
$869
Mar
16
  • Saturday 16th March
  • Wednesday 20th March
Almost Full! Definite departure $869
$869
Mar
17
  • Sunday 17th March
  • Thursday 21st March
Full
Full
Mar
18
  • Monday 18th March
  • Friday 22nd March
Almost Full! Definite departure $869
$869
Mar
23
  • Saturday 23rd March
  • Wednesday 27th March
Almost Full! Definite departure $869
$869
Mar
24
  • Sunday 24th March
  • Thursday 28th March
Full
Full
Mar
25
  • Monday 25th March
  • Friday 29th March
Almost Full! Definite departure $869
$869
Mar
30
  • Saturday 30th March
  • Wednesday 3rd April
Definite departure Full
Full
Mar
31
  • Sunday 31st March
  • Thursday 4th April
Full
Full

April 2019

Apr
20
  • Saturday 20th April
  • Wednesday 24th April
Full
Full
Apr
22
  • Monday 22nd April
  • Friday 26th April
Full
Full

May 2019

May
4
  • Saturday 4th May
  • Wednesday 8th May
$780
$780
May
6
  • Monday 6th May
  • Friday 10th May
$780
$780
May
18
  • Saturday 18th May
  • Wednesday 22nd May
$780
$780
May
20
  • Monday 20th May
  • Friday 24th May
$780
$780

June 2019

Jun
1
  • Saturday 1st June
  • Wednesday 5th June
Full
Full
Jun
3
  • Monday 3rd June
  • Friday 7th June
$780
$780
Jun
15
  • Saturday 15th June
  • Wednesday 19th June
$780
$780
Jun
17
  • Monday 17th June
  • Friday 21st June
$780
$780
Jun
29
  • Saturday 29th June
  • Wednesday 3rd July
$780
$780

July 2019

Jul
1
  • Monday 1st July
  • Friday 5th July
$780
$780
Jul
13
  • Saturday 13th July
  • Wednesday 17th July
$780
$780
Jul
15
  • Monday 15th July
  • Friday 19th July
$780
$780
Jul
27
  • Saturday 27th July
  • Wednesday 31st July
$780
$780
Jul
29
  • Monday 29th July
  • Friday 2nd August
$780
$780

August 2019

Aug
10
  • Saturday 10th August
  • Wednesday 14th August
$780
$780
Aug
12
  • Monday 12th August
  • Friday 16th August
$780
$780
Aug
24
  • Saturday 24th August
  • Wednesday 28th August
Full
Full
Aug
26
  • Monday 26th August
  • Friday 30th August
$780
$780

September 2019

Sep
7
  • Saturday 7th September
  • Wednesday 11th September
$780
$780
Sep
9
  • Monday 9th September
  • Friday 13th September
$780
$780
Sep
21
  • Saturday 21st September
  • Wednesday 25th September
$780
$780
Sep
23
  • Monday 23rd September
  • Friday 27th September
$780
$780

October 2019

Oct
5
  • Saturday 5th October
  • Wednesday 9th October
$780
$780
Oct
7
  • Monday 7th October
  • Friday 11th October
$780
$780
Oct
12
  • Saturday 12th October
  • Wednesday 16th October
$780
$780
Oct
14
  • Monday 14th October
  • Friday 18th October
$780
$780
Oct
19
  • Saturday 19th October
  • Wednesday 23rd October
$780
$780
Oct
21
  • Monday 21st October
  • Friday 25th October
$780
$780
Oct
26
  • Saturday 26th October
  • Wednesday 30th October
$780
$780
Oct
28
  • Monday 28th October
  • Friday 1st November
$780
$780

November 2019

Nov
2
  • Saturday 2nd November
  • Wednesday 6th November
$780
$780
Nov
4
  • Monday 4th November
  • Friday 8th November
$780
$780
Nov
9
  • Saturday 9th November
  • Wednesday 13th November
$780
$780
Nov
11
  • Monday 11th November
  • Friday 15th November
$780
$780
Nov
16
  • Saturday 16th November
  • Wednesday 20th November
$780
$780
Nov
18
  • Monday 18th November
  • Friday 22nd November
$780
$780
Nov
23
  • Saturday 23rd November
  • Wednesday 27th November
$780
$780
Nov
25
  • Monday 25th November
  • Friday 29th November
$780
$780
Nov
30
  • Saturday 30th November
  • Wednesday 4th December
$780
$780

December 2019

Dec
2
  • Monday 2nd December
  • Friday 6th December
$780
$780
Dec
7
  • Saturday 7th December
  • Wednesday 11th December
$780
$780
Dec
9
  • Monday 9th December
  • Friday 13th December
$780
$780
Dec
14
  • Saturday 14th December
  • Wednesday 18th December
$780
$780
Dec
16
  • Monday 16th December
  • Friday 20th December
$780
$780
Dec
21
  • Saturday 21st December
  • Wednesday 25th December
$780
$780
Dec
23
  • Monday 23rd December
  • Friday 27th December
$780
$780
Dec
28
  • Saturday 28th December
  • Wednesday 1st January
$780
$780
Dec
30
  • Monday 30th December
  • Friday 3rd January
$780
$780

January 2020

Jan
4
  • Saturday 4th January
  • Wednesday 8th January
$780
$780
Jan
6
  • Monday 6th January
  • Friday 10th January
$780
$780
Jan
11
  • Saturday 11th January
  • Wednesday 15th January
$780
$780
Jan
13
  • Monday 13th January
  • Friday 17th January
$780
$780
Jan
18
  • Saturday 18th January
  • Wednesday 22nd January
$780
$780
Jan
20
  • Monday 20th January
  • Friday 24th January
$780
$780
Jan
25
  • Saturday 25th January
  • Wednesday 29th January
$780
$780
Jan
27
  • Monday 27th January
  • Friday 31st January
$780
$780

February 2020

Feb
1
  • Saturday 1st February
  • Wednesday 5th February
$780
$780
Feb
3
  • Monday 3rd February
  • Friday 7th February
$780
$780
Feb
8
  • Saturday 8th February
  • Wednesday 12th February
$780
$780
Feb
10
  • Monday 10th February
  • Friday 14th February
$780
$780
Feb
15
  • Saturday 15th February
  • Wednesday 19th February
$780
$780
Feb
17
  • Monday 17th February
  • Friday 21st February
$780
$780
Feb
22
  • Saturday 22nd February
  • Wednesday 26th February
$780
$780
Feb
24
  • Monday 24th February
  • Friday 28th February
$780
$780
Feb
29
  • Saturday 29th February
  • Wednesday 4th March
$780
$780

March 2020

Mar
2
  • Monday 2nd March
  • Friday 6th March
$780
$780
Mar
7
  • Saturday 7th March
  • Wednesday 11th March
$780
$780
Mar
9
  • Monday 9th March
  • Friday 13th March
$780
$780
Mar
21
  • Saturday 21st March
  • Wednesday 25th March
$780
$780
Mar
23
  • Monday 23rd March
  • Friday 27th March
$780
$780

April 2020

Apr
4
  • Saturday 4th April
  • Wednesday 8th April
$780
$780
Apr
6
  • Monday 6th April
  • Friday 10th April
$780
$780

Your Options

Starts on

Pick your start location

Ends on

Pick your end location

Trip Options

step 2

Your trip summary

LEARN TO DIVE

Only $200 deposit to book.

Select a date from the calendar

Start

Trip Options

End

FREEDOM GUARANTEE
Change travel dates of trip for FREE.
More
FLEX DEPOSIT
Can't travel? Save your deposit for later.
More

From $780

Based on

Get a quote Book trip
This departure can only be booked by speaking with our reservation team.

Price breakdown:

(Adult Port Tax)

All prices in

itinerary
Map
Itinerary

ITINERARY

Nights spent per location
2
2 nights
Cairns
2
2 nights
Great Barrier Reef
Cairns
see detailed itinerary
back to map
Map
Itinerary
  • Start location
  • End location
  • Trip day
  • Via location
  • Bus route
  • River route
  • Plane route
  • Traveller Photos
DAY 1 - Cairns
Cairns
Are you ready to take on a fun filled few days learning to dive? Can we get a heck yeah? The first 2 days of the course are spent at Pro Dive Cairns training centre learning the theory & practical skills of scuba diving from our pro's. After that, you're nearly ready to go.
Stay
Gilligan’s Hostel (or similar)
DAY 2 - Cairns
Cairns
We know, we know…you want to get out there, but good things take time. It's back to the books today as we continue learning the A to Z of diving, with your day spent at Pro Dive Cairns training centre learning the theory & practical skills you'll need on the reef. Excitement will be at an all time high as we get ready for the next few days and what's in store for you on this mind-blowing reef.
Stay
Gilligan’s Hostel (or similar)
DAY 3 - Cairns to Dive Boat
Cairns
It's GO TIME! You’ll have the opportunity to participate in up to 9 dives at a variety of our 16 exclusive dive sites on the outer Great Barrier Reef. Your first 4 dives will complete your open water certification & then as a certified diver you are able to take up to 5 more recreational dives, one of which is a guided night dive. Boom.  So, what can we tell you about this spectacular reef? Here goes - more than 1,500 species of fish, 411 types of hard coral, one-third of the world's soft corals and 134 species of sharks and rays call this clear blue water home. Add over 30 species of marine mammals to the mix, and that's your mind blown.
Great Barrier Reef
Stay
Dive boat
DAY 4 - Dive Boat
Great Barrier Reef
With another day on our boat, why not take this incredible opportunity to continue diving for your chance to spot yet more colourful marine life. We're talking giant turtles, stingrays, huge clams and some of the best coral in the world. And with the deck of the boat providing you with the perfect spot for some sunbaking, book reading and bliss, you might just call this total paradise.
Stay
Dive boat
DAY 5 - Dive Boat to Cairns
Great Barrier Reef
We'll return to Cairns late this afternoon where there’s the option to join your new mates & crew for a farewell dinner. There's nothing like a spot of bonding over a #NOREGRETS experience to make for strong friendships. So where's next on the agenda?
Cairns
back to overview
00:00 / 00:00
sailing-and-cruising
Travel style:
Sailing & Cruise
Feel the sea breeze within your hair out in the ocean
Hottest destinations
Large cabins
Average rating for

Learn to Dive

4.2
13 independent reviews
Powered by
Showing MOST RECENT
from WORLDWIDE
RESET
criteria
MOST RECENT
FIVE STARS
FOUR STARS
THREE STARS
TWO STARS
ONE STAR
location
WORLDWIDE
NEAR ME
4 total reviews
Filter by traveller’s rating
5
8
4
2
3
1
2
1
1
1
CHANGE REGION OR TRIP
Anonymous
Traveled Dec 2018
It was an amazing experience - we had the best tour manager and I met the most amazing people
Traveled Dec 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Daniel Meldrum
Traveled Dec 2018
This group was small and allowed me to get to know everyone on the tour and the included options were different to other yours I've been in which allowed for me to try new things that I wouldn't have been able to do on my own.
Traveled Dec 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Clint Moll
Traveled Dec 2018
great value for what we recieved
Traveled Dec 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anonymous
Traveled Oct 2018
The value was negated by the fact that we were pressured into spending extra money at every turn. The pressure to up size at the eateries was bad enough but the pressure to spend $300, $400 or even $500 extra on dive equipment and the pressure to spend more money to upgrade our trip once we were captive on the boat was appalling. I assume they were trying so hard to make us spend money because they would earn extra commission and not because it was genuinely going to enhance our trip.
Traveled Oct 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anonymous
Traveled Oct 2018
London to Berlin was my first trip with Contiki. The group as whole was really great and everyone was really friendly. There was also a really good age range; anywhere from 20 to 34. The tour itinerary had a decent mix of free time and add ons. The best ad ons by far were the Eat Withs that we did in Amsterdam and Berlin. If your looking for a true local experience I highly recommend doing these! Finally, our trip manager Faith was awesome! She definitely made us all feel like part of the Contiki family. You could tell that she truly loves what she does and wants her travelers to have the best experience possible. I will definitely travel with Contiki again!
Traveled Oct 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anonymous
Traveled Oct 2018
paid more than what i expected
Traveled Oct 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anonymous
Traveled Aug 2018
Very average and overpriced
Traveled Aug 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anonymous
Traveled Aug 2018
I feel like for what I paid, more opportunities, meals, and transportation should have been included. This was my first time traveling abroad so I am glad I went with a tour groups, especially Contiki because compared to other companies, this was the best price. But I know if I would have done it alone, it would have been a lot cheaper for what I received from the package. Overall, I had a blast and met some of the best people.
Traveled Aug 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anthony Lovechio
Traveled Jul 2018
As for the price of the trip itself, it was good but I always feel like there should be more included activities, rather than free time add-ons we have to pay for ourselves.
Traveled Jul 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Hayley
Traveled Jun 2018
This trip was unforgettable! This style of tour is great because you get to spend more time exploring each city, with less time on the bus. Additionally, accommodation in each city is in hotels, making your stay extra comfortable.The me-time optional activities were great, and really allowed you to tailor your trip (albiet, not included = extra money). I would recommend this trip to anyone, and am already looking forward to planning my next contiki!
Booked from Toronto, Ontario Traveled Jun 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Domingo Valdez Iii
Traveled May 2018
I can’t believe all the stuff we crammed into these two weeks. Between the included tours, add-one which I did plenty of. And the additional free time on our own events I did with other tour members I feel this trip was truly perfect
Booked from Mission Viejo, Ca Traveled May 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Anonymous
Traveled Apr 2018
Well priced for what was included, the free time adds seemed to be rather costly though.
Traveled Apr 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Hattie Algar
Traveled Apr 2018
The trip was amazing. The other people were great fun, amazing instructors and amazing wildlife diving on the great barrier reef.
Traveled Apr 2018

READ MORE CLOSE

Sorry! The reviews aren't available for the chosen filter.

REVIEWS

for Learn to Dive
Showing MOST RECENT
from WORLDWIDE
RESET
criteria
MOST RECENT
FIVE STARS
FOUR STARS
THREE STARS
TWO STARS
ONE STAR
location
WORLDWIDE
NEAR ME
4 total reviews
4.2
13 independent reviews
Powered by
READ ALL REVIEWS

BUY WITH CONFIDENCE

contiki-homepage-bwc-deposit-dollar
DEPOSIT
Only $200 deposit to secure your spot today
contiki-homepage-bwc-flexible-payment
FLEXIBLE PAYMENT
Full payment not required until 45 days before travel.
contiki-homepage-bwc-no-change-fees
NO CHANGE FEE
Change your travel dates or even your trips for free
contiki-homepage-bwc-flex-deposit
FLEX DEPOSIT
Can't travel? Save your deposit for a new trip or gift it to a mate
contiki-homepage-bwc-pay-securely
PAY SECURELY
We accept Mastercard, Visa, PayPal

Created with Sketch.

HAVE A QUESTION?
Call Us at +1-866-266-8454

TRAVEL INSPIRATION FROM SIX-TWO

OTHER TRIPS YOU MIGHT LIKE